2:26-cv-00081•Timber Creek Casualty Insurance, A Risk Retention Group v. Miriam J Castillo Transport, LLC et al
Timber Creek Casualty Insurance, A Risk Retention Group v. Miriam J Castillo Transport, LLC et al
2:26-cv-00081TxsdJul 27, 2026
Full text
1 / 15 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS CORPUS CHRISTI DIVISION TIMBER CREEK CASUALTY INSURANCE, A RISK RETENTION GROUP, § § § § § § § § § § § Plaintiff, v. Case No. 2:26-CV-00081 MIRIAM J. CASTILLO TRANSPORT, LLC, et al., Defendants. MEMORANDUM AND RECOMMENDATION OF UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE A complaint was filed by plaintiff Timber Creek Casualty Insurance, a Risk Retention Group (“Timber Creek”), seeking a declaration that Timber Creek has no duty to defend or indemnify defendant Miriam J. Castillo Transport, LLC (“Transport”) in connection with a pending lawsuit in Texas state court filed by Minnie M. Barrios (“Barrios”), Elda Ramos Garcia (“Garcia”), and San Juanita Cardenas (“Cardenas”). (Doc. No. 1.)1 The Court granted Timber Creek’s request to the Clerk for an entry of default pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 55(a) because of the defendants’ failure to plead or otherwise defend against Timber Creek’s complaint. (Doc. No. 18.) Timber Creek now moves for entry of default judgment. (Doc. No. 21.) For the reasons discussed below, the district court should GRANT IN PART Timber Creek’s motion. 1 Transport, Barrios, Garcia, and Cardenas are the defendants in this declaratory judgment action. Barrios, Garcia, and Cardenas are named as nominal defendants. United States District Court Southern District of Texas ENTERED July 28, 2026 Nathan Ochsner, Clerk Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 1 of 15
2 / 15 A. Jurisdiction. Timber Creek, seeking a declaratory judgment, asserts that the Court has diversity jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1332. Timber Creek further contends that an actual controversy exists as contemplated by 28 U.S.C. § 2201(a). This case has been referred to the undersigned magistrate judge for case management and recommendations on dispositive matters pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636. B. Background. According to Timber Creek’s complaint, a lawsuit is pending in the 343rd Judicial District Court of San Patricio County, Texas, in which Barrios, Garcia, and Cardenas sued Transport, David Gonzalez, Anyer Gamez Guedes, and L&L Ag Works, LLC. (Doc. No. 1, pp. 1-2 ¶ 1.) This lawsuit bears case number S-25-5774CV-C and is referred to in this memorandum as the “Underlying Suit.” Timber Creek has not supplied a copy of the plaintiffs’ petition in the Underlying Suit, but claims that the Underlying Suit alleges that Barrios, Garcia, and Cardenas suffered injuries when a tractor-trailer driven by Gonzalez collided with their vehicle. Id. at 3-4 ¶¶ 13-17. The incident in question occurred on October 11, 2025. Id. at 3 ¶ 14. Guedes was allegedly the owner of the tractor, while L&L Ag Works owned the trailer. Id. at 4 ¶ 19. Although it is not entirely clear from Timber Creek’s complaint, it appears that Transport is alleged to have been Gonzalez’s employer. See id. ¶ 20. The Underlying Suit, Timber Creek says, alleges negligence on the part of all of the defendants, including negligent entrustment, negligent hiring and retention, negligent training, negligent supervision, negligent maintenance of the vehicle, and violations of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. Id. ¶ 21. Timber Creek alleges that it had issued a business auto insurance policy to Transport, numbered TCC-TX00098157, which was set to go into effect on July 29, 2025. (Doc. No. 1, p. 5 Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 2 of 15
3 / 15 ¶ 25.) This document is referred to in this memorandum as the “Policy.” The Policy would have provided coverage for a Freightliner tractor (presumably the vehicle involved in the collision). Id. Timber Creek alleges, however, that Transport failed to pay the Policy premium, and that Timber Creek therefore cancelled the Policy effective September 19, 2025, nearly a month before the collision. Id. at 6 ¶ 27. Timber Creek alleges that when presented with a claim for coverage stemming from the collision, it issued a denial letter stating that no policy had been in effect. Id. ¶ 28. Timber Creek’s complaint seeks a declaration that it has no duty to defend or indemnify the defendants in the Underlying Suit because no policy was in effect at the time of the October 11, 2025 collision. (Doc. No. 1, p. 6 ¶¶ 29-31.) Timber Creek also seeks a declaration that the Policy’s so-called “MCS-90” endorsement did not operate to mandate coverage because Gonzalez “was using the vehicle exclusively in intrastate commerce.” Id. at 6-7 ¶¶ 33-35. Other than this lone sentence, Timber Creek does not specify where Gonzalez was going with the vehicle, where he was coming from, or what (if anything) he was hauling. C. Timber Creek’s motion for default judgment. Timber Creek has submitted a motion for default judgment and a supporting memorandum. (Doc. Nos. 21, 21-1.) As well, Timber Creek has supplied several supporting exhibits: the Policy it issued to Transport (Doc. No. 22); the notice of cancellation of the Policy for nonpayment of premium (Doc. No. 22-1); and an October 31, 2025 letter to Barrios’ counsel stating that no policy was in effect at the time of the collision (Doc. No. 22-2). In its motion for default judgment, Timber Creek states that it served the defendants, but that they failed to respond within the allotted time. (Doc. No. 21-1, p. 3.) Timber Creek asserts that it sought and obtained an entry of default against the defendants. Id. And Timber Creek Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 3 of 15
4 / 15 contends that a default judgment is procedurally proper and that the evidence supports a default judgment. Id. at 5-8. D. Legal standard. Where a defendant has been properly served, courts considering whether to enter a default judgment analyze first whether a default judgment is appropriate under the circumstances. If so, then the court assesses the merits of the plaintiff’s claims and whether there is a sufficient basis for default judgment. See Cellular South, Inc. v. C-Spire Consulting Servs. Priv. Ltd., No. 3:25-CV-01756, 2026 WL 453189, at *1 & nn. 3, 5 (N.D. Tex. Feb. 18, 2026) (citing Lindsey v. Prive Corp., 161 F.3d 886, 893 (5th Cir. 1998) and Nishimatsu Constr. Co., Ltd. v. Houston Nat’l Bank, 515 F.2d 1200, 1206 (5th Cir. 1975)). Regarding the appropriateness question, Lindsey prescribes consideration of factors including (1) whether disputes of material fact exist, (2) whether there has been substantial prejudice, (3) whether grounds for default are clearly established, (4) whether the default was caused by a good faith mistake or excusable neglect, (5) the harshness of a default judgment, and (6) whether the court would be obliged to grant a motion from the defendant to set the default judgment aside. See id. at *2 & n.4 (citing Lindsey, 161 F.3d at 893). If default judgment is procedurally proper and there is a sufficient basis in the pleadings, the court must finally determine “what relief, if any, the plaintiff should receive.” Hernandez v. Roche, No. EP-20-CV-00263, 2022 WL 4072963, at *2 (W.D. Tex. Sept. 2, 2022), aff’d, No. 22- 50927, 2023 WL 2645548 (5th Cir. Mar. 27, 2023) (summary calendar) (quoting Wieck v. Synrg. Royce LLC, No. A-17-CV-599, 2019 WL 697291, at *2 (W.D. Tex. Feb. 20, 2019)). A default judgment “must not differ in kind from, or exceed in amount, what is demanded in the pleadings.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(c). “‘When a plaintiff seeks a default judgment on a claim for Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 4 of 15
5 / 15 declaratory relief, after determining whether the procedural requirements have been satisfied and whether default judgment is warranted, the court is required to evaluate a plaintiff’s complaint to determine whether “declaratory relief is appropriate in this case.”’” Deutsche Bank Nat’l Trust Co. v. Kachlamat, No. 1:24-CV-495, 2025 WL 2267982, at *7 (E.D. Tex. July 15, 2025), adopted, 2025 WL 2267665 (E.D. Tex. Aug. 6, 2025) (quoting Accredited Sur. & Cas. Co., Inc. v. Landlord’s Daiquiri Den, LLC, No. 1:22-CV-591, 2023 WL 11761514, at *7 (E.D. Tex. July 26, 2023), in turn quoting RSDC Holdings, LLC v. Steinberg, Civ. No. 16-9381, 2017 WL 117314, at *2 (E.D. La. Jan. 12, 2017)). A court may hold a hearing to (among other things) determine the truth of any allegation, but a hearing is unnecessary if the court finds that it can rely on the pleadings and evidence to determine whether to grant a default judgment. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 55(b)(2); James v. Frame, 6 F.3d 307, 310 (5th Cir. 1993). E. Analysis. Timber Creek has submitted sufficient allegations in its pleadings, along with sufficient evidence, to allow the Court to determine whether to grant a default judgment. A hearing is unnecessary. As discussed below, the district court should grant default judgment against the defendants. 1. Service was properly effected, and the defendants failed to answer. The record indicates that Timber Creek properly served the defendants, and that the defendants failed to answer. Timber Creek served Cardenas and Garcia on April 2, 2026, Barrios on April 10, and Transport on April 16. (Doc. Nos. 6, 6-1, 7, 8.) Service appears to have been executed in accordance with the applicable rules. See id. The completed service established the Court’s jurisdiction over the defendants. See Nat’l Liability & Fire Ins. Co. v. Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 5 of 15
6 / 15 Mercado, No. 5:19-cv-131, 2021 WL 2322939, at *2 (S.D. Tex. Feb. 1, 2021) (Saldaña, J.). The defendants’ answers were therefore due on April 23, May 1, and May 7, respectively. The deadlines have passed, and none of the defendants have filed an answer or other responsive pleading. The Clerk’s entry of default was therefore appropriate under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 55(a). See Doc. Nos. 18, 19. 2. Default judgment is procedurally appropriate. The six Lindsey factors all favor granting default judgment. First, there are no material facts in dispute, because Timber Creek’s well-pleaded factual allegations are assumed to be true and because the defendants have failed to answer or file any other responsive pleading. See United States v. Shipco Gen., Inc., 814 F.2d 1011, 1014 (5th Cir. 1987). Timber Creek would suffer substantial prejudice from a failure to grant default judgment because the defendants’ failure to respond could bring adversarial proceedings to a halt – the defendants would suffer no such prejudice. See J&J Sports Productions, Inc. v. Morelia Mexican Rest., Inc., 126 F. Supp. 3d 809, 814 (N.D. Tex. 2015) (defendant’s failure to file a response or otherwise appear in this case “threatens to bring the adversary process to a halt, effectively prejudicing [plaintiff’s] interests.”). The defendants’ persistent failure to respond or participate in this litigation clearly establishes grounds for default. See Ruiz v. Bank of N.Y. Mellon, No. 1:22-CV-00483, 2024 WL 1049472, at *3 (W.D. Tex. Mar. 11, 2024) (grounds for default were “clearly established” because defendants “failed to appear and participate at all, much less timely file a responsive pleading”). There is no reason to believe that the defendants’ nonresponsiveness is caused by any good-faith mistake or excusable neglect. Moreover, a default judgment would not be unduly harsh in this case because the defendants were properly served, failed to appear, and are in default, warranting a judgment under Rule 55(b)(2). And regarding the sixth Lindsey factor, it Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 6 of 15
7 / 15 would not be clearly appropriate to set aside the default judgment upon a motion by the defendants: the pleadings, the defendants’ lack of response, and the defendants’ consequent failure to plead a meritorious defense suggest a lack of good cause for the setting aside of a default judgment. Cf. Insurance Co. of the West v. H&G Contractors, Inc., No. C-10-390, 2011 WL 4738197, at *3 (S.D. Tex. Oct. 5, 2011) (Jack, J.) (concluding on the facts “known to the Court at this time” that no “good cause” exists for which to set aside the default if challenged by the defendant). The district court should conclude under the Lindsey factors that a default judgment is appropriate under these circumstances. Cf. Cellular South, 2026 WL 453189, at *2 (analyzing Lindsey factors). 3. Default judgment is substantively appropriate with regard to the policy period, but not with regard to the MCS-90 endorsement. The next step is to assess the merits of Timber Creek’s claim for declaratory judgment. Here, the well-pleaded allegations indicate that only one of its claims is meritorious. a. Default judgment is appropriate with regard to the policy period claim. Under Texas law, an insurer’s duty to defend and duty to indemnify are governed by the so-called “eight corners rule.” See Nat’l Liability, 2021 WL 2322939, at *4 (citing GuideOne Specialty Mut. Ins. Co. v. Missionary Church of Disciples of Jesus Christ, 687 F.3d 676, 682-83 (5th Cir. 2012)). Under that rule, the “scope of an insurer’s duty to defend is determined exclusively by the allegations in the pleadings and the language of the insurance policy.” Id. The two duties are distinct, and normally a duty to indemnify cannot be adjudicated until there has been a judgment in the underlying suit. But an exception exists in circumstances where “‘the same reasons that negate the duty to defend likewise negate any possibility the insurer will ever Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 7 of 15
8 / 15 have a duty to indemnify.’” Id. (quoting Hartford Cas. Ins. Co. v. DP Eng’g, L.L.C., 827 F.3d 423, 430 (5th Cir. 2016) (internal quotation omitted)). In that situation, an insurer can obtain a declaratory judgment on its duty to indemnify. Id. Timber Creek’s submitted documentation indicates that it issued the Policy to Transport, which took effect on July 29, 2025. (Doc. No. 22, p. 5.) The Policy states that it provides coverage “[i]n return for the payment of the premium,” and that Timber Creek “will have the right and duty to defend any ‘insured’ against a ‘suit’ asking for [damages caused by an accident],” but that Timber Creek had no duty to defend against a suit seeking damages for injury or damage to which the Policy did not apply. Id. at 10, 20-21. The Policy also provides that coverage exists during the policy period, and that the Policy could be cancelled for nonpayment of the premium. Id. at 30, 33. The Policy provided that Timber Creek could cancel the Policy with ten days’ notice for nonpayment of the premium. (Doc. No. 22, p. 33 ¶ A.2.a.) Timber Creek’s documentation indicates that it cancelled the Policy effective September 19, 2025 for nonpayment of the premium. (Doc. No. 22-1.) It is not clear from the face of the cancellation notice that Timber Creek issued it at least ten days prior to September 19. But that question is immaterial, because the collision giving rise to the Underlying Suit occurred on October 11, 2025, nearly a month after the September 19 cancellation notice. See Doc. No. 22-2. Under the language of the pleadings and the Policy, Timber Creek appears to have a meritorious claim that it is not required to defend or indemnify Transport because there was no Timber Creek policy in effect at the time of the October 11 collision. Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 8 of 15
9 / 15 b. Default judgment is inappropriate with regard to the MCS-90 endorsement claim. The same cannot be said, however, regarding Timber Creek’s second asserted ground for declaratory relief. Timber Creek alleges that coverage is excluded under the so-called MCS-90 endorsement. The Policy contains the following endorsement: MCS-90 NON-COMPLIANCE ENDORSEMENT THIS ENDORSEMENT CHANGES THE POLICY. PLEASE READ IT CAREFULLY. This endorsement modifies insurance provided under the following: Commercial Auto Liability Coverage General Liability Coverage Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage In consideration of the premium charged, it is agreed that as respects any Claim under this Policy for which coverage is also provided by one (1) or more other policies issued by the Insurer, an affiliate thereof, or by any other member of what is commonly referred to as “Timber Creek Insurance Company Inc., A Risk Retention Group (TCCI)” under the MCS-90 which states that it “covers all vehicles owned, operated, or maintained by the insured regardless of whether or not each motor vehicle is specifically described in the policy.” However, if a claim is paid by TCCI under the MCS-90 provision of this policy then, TCCI may recoup its losses by subrogating the claims paid against the motor carrier and/or a premium penalty of up to 200% of the original premium cost per auto not listed at the time of inception of the TCCI policy. It is so vitally important to have all equipment listed on the schedule of the TCCI policy. Notwithstanding the above, in the event such other TCCI Insurance Policy has a provision like this one, then the above paragraph will not apply but instead: Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 9 of 15
10 / 15 Nothing contained in this endorsement shall be construed to prevent compliance with the filing of the MCS-90 of this Policy. All other terms remained [sic] unchanged. (Doc. No. 22, p. 65.)2 The Policy contains a list of endorsements, and the “MCS-90 Non- Compliance Endorsement” is on that list. Id. at 6. Also on the list is an endorsement called “Endorsement for Motor Carrier Policies of Insurance for Public Liability under Sections 29 and 30 of the Motor Carrier Act of 1980.” Id. The Policy itself, however, does not contain any such endorsement. According to Timber Creek, MCS-90 endorsements are “designed to apply in the context of interstate motor carrier operations. At the time of the accident, [Gonzalez] was using the vehicle exclusively in intrastate commerce.” (Doc. No. 1, p. 7 ¶ 34.) Timber Creek does not elaborate on this position in the motion for default judgment or supporting memorandum except to state, conclusorily, that “there exists no provision or endorsement in the Policy, or in any applicable state or federal law, that would force application of the Policy outside of its own terms in this case.” (Doc. No. 21-1, p. 7.) The MCS-90 endorsement is “federally mandated.” Canal Ins. Co. v. Coleman, 625 F.3d 244, 246 (5th Cir. 2010); see also 49 C.F.R. § 387.7(a). The endorsement “creates a suretyship, which obligates an insurer to pay certain judgments against the insured arising from interstate commerce activities, even though the insurance contract would have otherwise excluded coverage.” Canal Ins. Co., 625 F.3d at 247 (citing Minter, 423 F.3d at 470). An MCS-90 endorsement is not insurance, and it does not expand coverage under a policy. Rather, it is “triggered when the policy to which it is attached does not provide coverage to the insured.” 2 Timber Creek offers no explanation of what the term “non-compliance” means in the endorsement’s title. Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 10 of 15
11 / 15 Minter v. Great Am. Ins. Co. of N.Y., 423 F.3d 460, 470-71 (5th Cir. 2005) (citing T.H.E. Ins. Co. v. Larsen Intermodal Servs., 242 F.3d 667, 670 (5th Cir. 2001)); see also Lancer Ins. Co. v. L&Y Trucking LLC, No. 1:23-CV-113, 2024 WL 2786049, at *6 (N.D. Tex. May 7, 2024) (“The MCS-90 endorsement might create liability, but it cannot create coverage out of nothing.”). In this case, default judgment for Timber Creek on this claim is inappropriate for two reasons. First, the Policy does not contain the MCS-90 endorsement that Timber Creek claims does not apply. The endorsement may be federally mandated, but it is not part of the Policy that Timber Creek has supplied for review. Timber Creek offers no explanation for the endorsement’s absence, nor does it advance any argument or authority that courts are to “read in” an MCS-90 endorsement where one is absent from the Policy or what specific terms such an endorsement would necessarily contain. Indeed, some case law suggests the contrary – that courts should not imply an MCS-90 endorsement, see Illinois Central R. Co. v. Dupont, 326 F.3d 665, 669 (5th Cir. 2003) and General Star Nat’l Ins. Co. v. Ginnetti Trucking LLC, No. 08 Cv. 2957, 2010 WL 11505094, at *3 (S.D.N.Y. Feb. 16, 2010), and the Court will not endeavor to read in such an endorsement sua sponte in this case. Because the Policy contains no MCS-90 endorsement, Timber Creek fails to show that it is substantively entitled to relief. Additionally, Timber Creek alleges in its complaint that the MCS-90 endorsement does not apply because Gonzalez was using the vehicle only in intrastate commerce. (Doc. No. 1, p. 7 ¶ 34.) Timber Creek reasons that it therefore has no obligation to defend or indemnify Transport in the Underlying Suit. See id. ¶ 35. While courts do seem to agree that intrastate trips do not trigger MCS-90 endorsements,3 Timber Creek has not pleaded any nonconclusory facts (or any 3 See Canal Ins. Co., 625 F.3d at 249 (“we conclude that the endorsement covers vehicles only when they are presently engaged in the transportation of property in interstate commerce”); see also Progressive Gulf Ins. Co. v. Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 11 of 15
12 / 15 facts at all, really) indicating the vehicle’s origin or destination points or what the vehicle was transporting. Timber Creek has therefore failed to demonstrate that it is entitled to judgment on the merits of this claim. 4. Partial declaratory relief is appropriate. The Declaratory Judgment Act provides: “In a case of actual controversy within its jurisdiction . . . any court of the United States . . . may declare the rights and other legal relations of any interested party seeking such declaration, whether or not further relief is or could be sought.” 28 U.S.C. § 2201(a); Fed. R. Civ. P. 57 (“The existence of another adequate remedy does not preclude a declaratory judgment that is otherwise appropriate.”). But a declaratory judgment is ripe for adjudication only where an “actual controversy” exists and where the court has authority to grant declaratory relief. See Frye v. Anadarko Petrol. Corp., 953 F.3d 285, 294 (5th Cir. 2019). Timber Creek, as the plaintiff in this federal declaratory judgment action, bears the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the evidence, that an actual controversy exists. See Cardinal Chem. Co. v. Morton Int’l, Inc., 508 U.S. 83, 95 (1993). An actual controversy exists where a “substantial controversy of sufficient immediacy and reality exists between parties having adverse legal interests.” Venator Gp. Specialty, Inc. v. Matthew/Muniot Family, L.L.C., 322 F.3d 835, 838 (5th Cir. 2003). In Maryland Casualty Company v. Pacific Coal & Oil Company, the Supreme Court held that an “actual controversy” exists where an insurer brings a declaratory judgment action against its insured and an injured party seeking liability determination against the insured in a state court action. 312 U.S. 270, 273 (1941). Estate of Jones, 958 F. Supp. 2d 706, 714 (S.D. Miss. 2013) (applying trip-specific analysis to determine whether transport was interstate or intrastate). Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 12 of 15
13 / 15 Here, in seeking a declaration of non-coverage based on the prior cancellation of the policy for nonpayment of the premium, Timber Creek has adequately alleged an actual controversy. Timber Creek has sued both its insured and the injured parties from the Underlying Suit. Cf. Maryland Casualty Co., 312 U.S. at 273. Timber Creek fails, however, to allege the existence of an actual controversy with regard to the MCS-90 endorsement. As discussed above, Timber Creek failed to plead or show that the policy contained an MCS-90 endorsement. A grant of declaratory relief that such an endorsement would not require Timber Creek to defend or indemnify Transport would therefore amount to an advisory opinion. The district court should therefore dismiss Timber Creek’s motion for default judgment on the MCS-90 claim, without prejudice, for lack of jurisdiction. Cf. Allstate Fire & Cas. Ins. Co. v. Vernon, No. SA-24-CV-00460, 2025 WL 1669411, at *5 (W.D. Tex. June 12, 2025) (declining to grant default judgment because declaratory judgment plaintiff failed to demonstrate existence of actual controversy). The next step is to determine whether the district court should grant declaratory relief. The Court does possess the authority to grant declaratory relief in this situation. There is no indication that any state court action exists with regard to the issues presented by Timber Creek in this federal declaratory judgment action such that abstention would be required. See Deutsche Bank, 2025 WL 2267982, at *9. Federal courts have substantial discretion to entertain, stay, or dismiss declaratory judgment actions. See Deutsche Bank, 2025 WL 2267982, at *9 (citing Wilton v. Seven Falls Co., 515 U.S. 277, 282-83 (1995)). Several factors inform the Court’s decisionmaking process: whether a state action is pending in which all of the matters in controversy may be fully litigated; whether Timber Creek filed this declaratory judgment suit in anticipation of a suit by any of the Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 13 of 15
14 / 15 defendants; whether Timber Creek has engaged in forum shopping in bringing the suit; whether possible inequities exist by allowing Timber Creek to gain precedents in time or to change fora; whether this federal court is convenient for the parties and witnesses; whether retaining the case in federal court will serve judicial economy; and whether this federal court is being called upon to construe a state judicial decree involving the same parties and entered by the court before whom the parallel state suit between the same parties is pending. See id. (citing Nat’l Liab. & Fire Ins. Co., 2021 WL 2322939, at *5). Here, there is no pending state action or state judicial decree involving the issues presented in this federal case. There is no reason to believe that Timber Creek filed this action in anticipation of any suit against it, or that Timber Creek has engaged in forum shopping. The events giving rise to this case occurred in this district and division, so there do not appear to be any concerns regarding convenience or inequity in selection of forum. And retaining this suit rather than dismissing it would serve the interests of judicial economy because Timber Creek has already expended time and resources in this case. The district court should exercise its discretion to grant declaratory relief on Timber Creek’s claim that it is not required to defend or indemnify Transport because there was no policy in effect at the time of the October 11, 2025 collision forming the basis for the Underlying Suit. F. Conclusion and recommendation. The district court should take the following actions: • GRANT IN PART Timber Creek’s motion for default judgment (Doc. No. 21) to the extent it seeks default judgment on the failure to answer or otherwise respond by the defendants in this declaratory judgment action. Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 14 of 15
15 / 15 • DISMISS IN PART Timber Creek’s motion for default judgment (Doc. No. 21) to the extent it seeks default judgment on the MCS-90 endorsement claim. This dismissal should be without prejudice, for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. • DECLARE that Timber Creek is not required to defend or indemnify Transport in the Underlying Suit based on the terms of policy number TCC-TX00098157. G. Notice. The Clerk will file this Memorandum and Recommendation and transmit a copy to each party or counsel. Within 14 days after being served with a copy of this Memorandum and Recommendation, any party may file with the Clerk and serve on the United States Magistrate Judge and all parties, written objections, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(b), 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1), and General Order No. 2002-13, United States District Court for the Southern District of Texas. A failure to file written objections to the proposed findings, conclusions, and recommendation in a magistrate judge’s report and recommendation within 14 days after being served with a copy shall bar that party, except upon grounds of plain error, from attacking on appeal the unobjected-to proposed factual findings and legal conclusions that are accepted by the district court. See Douglass v. United Servs. Auto Ass’n, 79 F.3d 1415, 1428-29 (5th Cir. 1996) (en banc). SIGNED on July 28, 2026. _____________________________ MITCHEL NEUROCK United States Magistrate Judge Case 2:26-cv-00081 Document 23 Filed 07/27/26 in TXSD Page 15 of 15
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.