5:24-cv-01173•Allen v. Bisignano
Full text
- 1 - UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK BRENT A., Plaintiff, v. 5:24-CV-1173 (BKS/DJS) COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, Defendant. _____________________________________________ APPEARANCES: OF COUNSEL: HILLER COMERFORD JUSTIN GOLDSTEIN, ESQ. INJURY & DISABILITY LAW Attorney for Plaintiff 6000 N. Bailey Ave., Suite 1A Amherst, New York 14226 SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION MOLLY CARTER, ESQ. OFFICE OF GENERAL COUNSEL Attorney for Defendant 6401 Security Blvd. Baltimore, Maryland 21235 DANIEL J. STEWART United States Magistrate Judge REPORT-RECOMMENDATION AND ORDER1 Plaintiff Brent A. brought this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) seeking review of a decision by the Commissioner of Social Security that Plaintiff was not disabled. Currently before the Court are Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings and Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings. Dkt. Nos. 9 & 12. Plaintiff filed a reply. Dkt. No. 13. For the reasons set forth below, it is recommended that Plaintiff’s 1 This matter was referred to the undersigned for a Report-Recommendation pursuant to L.R. 72.3(e). Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 1 of 12
- 2 - Motion for Judgment on the Pleading be granted and the matter remanded for further proceedings. I. BACKGROUND A. Factual Background Plaintiff was born in 1971. Dkt. No. 6, Admin. Tr. (“Tr.”), p. 79. Plaintiff alleges disability due to Lyme Disease, bell palsy, nerve damage, neck issues from prior car accident, shoulder issues from prior car accident, weakness, shortness of breath, heart issues, failed nerve conduction test, calcified arteries, heart monitoring, inability to lift heavy object, and arthritis. Tr. at p. 80. On February 2, 2022, Plaintiff applied for disability insurance benefits (“DIB”) and supplemental security income (“SSI”) under Titles II and XVI of the Social Security Act. Tr. at pp. 89-90. Plaintiff was approved for SSI and found disabled with an onset date of February 9, 2022. Tr. at p. 89. Plaintiff’s application for DIB was denied, Tr. at pp. 87 & 102, after which he timely requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”). Tr. at p. 161. Plaintiff subsequently appeared and testified at a hearing before ALJ Jeremy Eldred on December 15, 2023, along with vocational expert Christine Ditrinco. Tr. at pp. 25-37. On January 2, 2024, ALJ Eldred issued a written decision finding Plaintiff was not under a disability at any time from January 1, 2020, the alleged onset date, through June 30, 2020, the date last insured. Tr. at p. 15. On July 29, 2024, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review. Tr. at pp. 1-6. Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 2 of 12
- 3 - B. The ALJ’s Decision In his decision the ALJ made the following findings of fact and conclusions of law. First, the ALJ found Plaintiff last met the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act on June 30, 2020. Tr. at p. 12. Second, the ALJ found Plaintiff did not engage in substantial gainful activity during the period from his alleged onset date of January 1, 2020, through his date last insured of June 30, 2020. Id. Next, the ALJ found Plaintiff had the following medically determinable impairments: impingement and AC joint arthritis of the left shoulder, and status post fusion at C5-C6 of the cervical spine. Id. Fourth, the ALJ found that through the date last insured Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that significantly limited the ability to perform basic work-related activities for twelve consecutive months; therefore, the claimant did not have a “severe” impairment. Tr. at pp. 12-13. The ALJ, therefore, concluded Plaintiff was not under a disability at any time from January 1, 2020, through June 30, 2020. Tr. at p. 15. II. RELEVANT LEGAL STANDARDS A. Standard of Review A court reviewing a denial of disability benefits may not determine de novo whether an individual is disabled. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Wagner v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 906 F. 2d 856, 860 (2d Cir. 1990). Rather, the Commissioner’s determination will be reversed only if the correct legal standards were not applied, or it was not supported by substantial evidence. See Johnson v. Bowen, 817 F. 2d 983, 986 (2d Cir. 1987) (“Where there is a reasonable basis for doubt whether the ALJ applied Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 3 of 12
- 4 - correct legal principles, application of the substantial evidence standard to uphold a finding of no disability creates an unacceptable risk that a claimant will be deprived of the right to have her disability determination made according to the correct legal principles.”); accord Grey v. Heckler, 721 F. 2d 41, 46 (2d Cir. 1983), Marcus v. Califano, 615 F. 2d 23, 27 (2d Cir. 1979). “Substantial evidence” is evidence that amounts to “more than a mere scintilla,” and has been defined as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971). Where evidence is deemed susceptible to more than one rational interpretation, the Commissioner’s conclusion must be upheld. Rutherford v. Schweiker, 685 F. 2d 60, 62 (2d Cir. 1982). “To determine on appeal whether the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence, a reviewing court considers the whole record, examining evidence from both sides, because an analysis of the substantiality of the evidence must also include that which detracts from its weight.” Williams v. Bowen, 859 F. 2d 255, 258 (2d Cir. 1988). If supported by substantial evidence, the Commissioner’s finding must be sustained “even where substantial evidence may support the plaintiff’s position and despite that the court’s independent analysis of the evidence may differ from the [Commissioner’s].” Rosado v. Sullivan, 805 F. Supp. 147, 153 (S.D.N.Y. 1992). In other words, this Court must afford the Commissioner’s determination considerable deference and may not substitute “its own judgment for that of the [Commissioner], even if it might justifiably have reached a different result upon a de novo review.” Valente v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 733 F. 2d 1037, 1041 (2d Cir. 1984). Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 4 of 12
- 5 - B. Standard to Determine Disability The Commissioner has established a five-step determination whether an individual is disabled as defined by the Social Security Act. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920. The Supreme Court has recognized the validity of this sequential evaluation process. Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 141-42 (1987). The five-step process asks: (1) whether the claimant is currently engaged in substantial gainful activity; (2) whether the claimant has a severe impairment or combination of impairments; (3) whether the impairment meets or equals the severity of the specified impairments in the Listing of Impairments; (4) based on a “residual functional capacity” assessment, whether the claimant can perform any of his or her past relevant work despite the impairment; and (5) whether there are significant numbers of jobs in the national economy that the claimant can perform given the claimant's residual functional capacity, age, education, and work experience. McIntyre v. Colvin, 758 F. 3d 146, 150 (2d Cir. 2014). “If at any step a finding of disability or non-disability can be made, the SSA will not review the claim further.” Barnhart v. Thompson, 540 U.S. 20, 24 (2003). III. ANALYSIS This matter presents the “unusual case” where the ALJ stopped the sequential analysis at Step Two. Bobbie W. v. Dudek, 2025 WL 755639, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 10, 2025) (quoting Dawn Lyn C. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2021 WL 4398372, at *1 (D. Conn. Sept. 27, 2021)). Step Two’s “severity” requirement is de minimis and is meant to screen out only the weakest claims. Dixon v. Shalala, 54 F.3d 1019, 1030 (2d Cir. 1995); see also McIntyre v. Colvin, 758 F.3d 146, 151 (2d Cir. 2014). As a result, “because step two is to be rarely utilized as basis for the denial of benefits, . . . its invocation is certain to Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 5 of 12
- 6 - raise a judicial eyebrow.” McCrea v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 370 F.3d 357, 361 (3d Cir. 2004). Upon review of the record and the arguments of the parties, the Court recommends finding that the Step Two determination here was not supported by substantial evidence and that remand for further proceedings is the proper remedy. At Step Two, the ALJ “assesses whether the claimant suffers from a severe impairment that significantly limits his or her physical or mental ability to do basic work activities.” Armstrong v. Berryhill, 2018 WL 1357378, at *2 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 14, 2018) (citing 20 C.F.R. § § 404.1520(c)). An impairment will be considered severe if it causes “more than minimal limitations in [a claimant’s] ability to perform work-related functions.” Donahue v. Colvin, 2018 WL 2354986, at *5 (W.D.N.Y. May 24, 2018)) (alternation in original); Lugo Rodriguez v. Berryhill, 2018 WL 1135330, at *4 (D. Conn. Mar. 2, 2018) (“In other words, any claim in which the medical evidence establishes more than a ‘slight abnormality’ with ‘no more than a minimal effect on an individual’s ability to work’ should be determined ‘severe.’”) (quoting Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 154 n.12 (1987)). Further, a severe impairment must persist for at least twelve months. See 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A) (disability involves impairment “which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months”). While Plaintiff bears the burden of establishing severity, Jessica S. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2023 WL 5350988, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Aug. 21, 2023), “[t]he standard at step two is quite low.” O’Connor v. Saul, 2020 WL 1242408, at *3 (W.D.N.Y. Mar. 16, 2020); see also Dixon v. Shalala, 54 F.3d 1019, 1030 (2d Cir. 1995). Here, several factors Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 6 of 12
- 7 - counsel in favor of directing remand for further consideration and explanation by the ALJ as to the severity of Plaintiff’s impairments. The ALJ found Plaintiff suffered from several medically determinable impairments: “impingement and AC joint arthritis of the left shoulder, and status post fusion at C5-C6 of the cervical spine.” Tr. at p. 12. Those are clearly conditions that can be deemed severe at Step Two. See, e.g., Deborah K. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2025 WL 399448, at *2 (W.D.N.Y. Feb. 5, 2025); Dezarea W. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2023 WL 1960528, at *3 (N.D.N.Y. Feb. 13, 2023), report and recommendation adopted, 2023 WL 2552452 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 17, 2023). The ALJ’s finding of no disability turned, therefore, on concluding that Plaintiff had no severe impairment. Tr. at p. 13. “Severe impairments are those that significantly limit physical or mental abilities to do basic work activities.” Heather C. v. Berryhill, 2019 WL 1432593, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 29, 2019) (citing 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1521(a), 416.921(a)) (internal quotations omitted). At Step Two, the ALJ is tasked with determining whether the claimant has an impairment, or combination of impairments, that is “severe” within the meaning of the Act, in that it imposes significant restrictions on that claimant’s ability to perform basic work activities. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(c). “The following are examples of ‘basic work activities’: ‘walking, standing, sitting, lifting, pushing, pulling, reaching, carrying, or handling . . . seeing, hearing, and speaking . . . [u]nderstanding, carrying out, and remembering simple instructions . . . [u]se of judgment . . . [r]esponding appropriately to supervision, co-workers and usual work situations.’” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1522(b). Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 7 of 12
- 8 - Plaintiff testified to several limitations on his functional abilities during the hearing, including muscle spasms, breathing difficulties, and an inability to sit or stand for long periods. Tr. at pp. 32-34. The ALJ appears either to have not considered that testimony or not credited it. The Court finds this to be error. First, Plaintiff’s testimony appears not to have been given much weight because of a lack of objective medical evidence during the relevant period between onset date and date last insured. See Tr. at p. 14 (“the evidence does not support the claimant’s allegations as they relate to the period prior to the expiration of the date last insured”). The lack of objective proof is not fatal to a finding of severity, however. “While existence of an impairment cannot be based wholly on subjective statements, no legal bar prevents reliance on such evidence to find that an impairment has more than minimal effect on an individual’s ability to work.” Snedeker v. Colvin, 2015 WL 1126598, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 12, 2015). Here, the ALJ did not question the existence of medically determinable impairments, Tr. at p. 12, just their severity. The record contained evidence, both pre- dating and post-dating Plaintiff’s period of disability, that could support Plaintiff’s claimed disability. See generally Dkt. No. 9, Pl.’s Mem. of Law, pp. 4-7 (discussing medical evidence). In finding no severe impairment, the ALJ focused exclusively on the lack of records from Plaintiff’s onset date to the date last insured. Tr. at p. 14. However, “evidence from outside that . . . time frame may [not] automatically be discounted.” Christopher B. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2022 WL 3701548, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Aug. 26, 2022) (citing Arnone v. Bowen, 882 F.2d 34, 39 (2d Cir. 1989)). Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 8 of 12
- 9 - Although not required to do so, “it is within an ALJ’s purview to consider pre-onset date evidence.” James N. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2020 WL 1140498, at *5 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 6, 2020). It is also true that evidence after the date last insured “may disclose the severity and continuity of impairments existing before the earning requirement date.” Pollard v. Halter, 377 F.3d 183, 194 (2d Cir. 2004). It is not clear that, in discrediting Plaintiff’s testimony based on a lack of objective evidence, the ALJ considered these legal principles. This suggests that the ALJ’s conclusion regarding the evidentiary record may not be supported by substantial evidence. Liner v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2019 WL 2723550, at *7 (S.D.N.Y. July 1, 2019) (directing remand when ALJ failed to provide explanation for rejecting Plaintiff’s subjective statements with respect to severity determination). It is also unclear to the Court whether the ALJ’s recitation of relevant testimony is consistent with the record. In recounting Plaintiff’s testimony, the ALJ noted: [w]hen asked at the hearing to state why he has been disabled since January 1, 2020, the claimant testified that he sustained injuries prior to that date. However, the focus of the claimant’s testimony was a description of the problems he experiences due to Lyme disease, such as muscle spasms and weakness. The claimant stated that he was diagnosed with Lyme disease in July 2021. Tr. at p. 13 (citing Tr. at p. 31). In the Court’s view that mischaracterizes Plaintiff’s testimony. The referenced testimony in full was: Q. Okay. Okay. So, Mr. A[], with that background questioning out of the way, can you go ahead and tell me why you’ve been disabled since January 1, 2020? A. Oh, it’s, I mean, going into with everything I’ve had, to previous injuries that I was pushing through from a bad car wreck and then with Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 9 of 12
- 10 - everything else, the house I had bought, I had got turned away that and I started feeling all nasty and everything. And, of course, you know, COVID was setting in and everything was going chaotic, so I didn’t have an actual primary at the time and so I just tried to push through and see what was happening and come to find out that it was Lyme. And then that triggered a whole bunch of other stuff that just went real crazy on me. Q. When did you get diagnosed with Lyme disease? A. I believe it was July of ’21. Tr. at p. 31. So while it is true that Plaintiff referenced his Lyme Disease diagnosis, the discussion of the related symptoms came only after the ALJ himself asked Plaintiff to discuss those symptoms, id. at pp. 31-32, so it seems that focus was driven by the ALJ’s questioning, not Plaintiff himself. Relatedly, while the ALJ’s decision notes that Plaintiff testified that he did not seek treatment for Lyme Disease-related testimony until July 2021, Tr. at p. 14, the Court does not see any such testimony in the hearing record. At most, Plaintiff’s testimony could be interpreted to reference the difficulties in seeking medical care in the first half of 2020, when COVID-19 first impacted the United States. Those difficulties, especially for those not seeking treatment for COVID itself, are well documented. See Wayne Kenneth R. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2022 WL 4537909, at *6 (S.D.N.Y. July 4, 2022), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Reed v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2022 WL 4538942 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 28, 2022) (noting limitations on “non-essential” medical visits during early days of Covid-19 pandemic); cf. United States v. Martinez Encinias, 682 F. Supp. 3d 993, 1003 (D.N.M. 2023) (noting limitations on nonessential medical care imposed in some prison systems at start of pandemic). The potential “misconstruction” of Plaintiff’s testimony warrants remand. Poles v. Colvin, 2015 WL 6024400, at *6 Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 10 of 12
- 11 - (W.D.N.Y. Oct. 15, 2015); see also Munoz v. Saul, 2022 WL 939712, at *5 (E.D.N.Y. Mar. 29, 2022). These factors raise questions about the ALJ’s evaluation of the record and its application to the proper legal standards which warrant a remand for further consideration. IV. CONCLUSION WHEREFORE, for the reasons stated herein, it is hereby RECOMMENDED, that the Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings (Dkt. No. 9) be GRANTED; and it is further RECOMMENDED, that Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings (Dkt. No. 12) be DENIED; and it is further RECOMMENDED, that Defendant’s decision denying Plaintiff disability benefits be REVERSED and the matter be REMANDED pursuant to section four for further proceedings; and it is ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall serve copies of this Report- Recommendation and Order on the parties. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1), the parties have fourteen days within which to file written objections to the foregoing report. Such objections shall be filed with the Clerk of the Court. FAILURE TO OBJECT TO THIS REPORT WITHIN FOURTEEN DAYS WILL PRECLUDE APPELLATE REVIEW. Roldan v. Racette, 984 F.2d 85 (2d Cir. 1993) (citing Small v. Sec’y of Health and Human Servs., 892 F.2d Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 11 of 12
- 12 - 15 (2d Cir. 1989)); 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1); Fed. R. Civ. P. 72. Dated: February 3, 2026 Albany, New York Case 5:24-cv-01173-BKS-DJS Document 14 Filed 02/03/26 Page 12 of 12
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.