1:25-cv-10267•Gretzky v. AMGuard Insurance Company
Full text
United States District Court
District of Massachusetts
Victoria Gretzky,
Plaintiff,
V . Civil Action No.
25-10267-NMG
AmGUARD Insurance Company,
Defendant .
MEMORANDUM & ORDER
GORTON, J.
This case arises fro m allegations of u nfair and deceptive
business pract ic es brought by plaintiff , Victoria Gretzky
(" Gretzky " or " plaintiff " ) , against defendant , AmGUARD Insuran ce
Company ( " AmGUARD " or " defendant " ) . Defendant moves to limit
damages . For the reasons that follow , that motion will be
allowed .
I . Background
a . Facts
In September , 2021 , Gretzky was injured when she fell on a
staircase at an apartment building owned by Manual and Madalena
Arruda (" the Arrudas " ) . Gretzky sustained multiple fractures to
her legs that resulted in surgery and she was hospitalized for
several months . The Arrudas had purchased a liability insurance
- 1 -
Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 1 of 9policy through AmGUARD which provided coverage for Gretzky ' s fall . In September , 2022 , Gretzky filed an action against the Arrudas in Massachusetts state court to recover her medical expenses and pain and suffering damages . AmGUARD made settlement offers many times before the case went to trial . Gretzky declined all of t h ose settle ment offers and demanded $1 , 000 , 000 in damages , which was AmGUARD ' s policy limit , plus interest . On the second day of trial , the parties settled and a consent ju dgement was entered . It declared that Gretzky was entitled to $2 , 250 , 000 exclusive of interest and costs , and reserved her right to bring first a n d t hi rd - party bad faith claims against AmGUARD . AmGUARD acknowledged responsibility for paying Gretzky $1 , 000 , 000 but the parties dispute whether the settlement required it to pay pre - judgement interest as well . On July 8 , 2024 , Gretzky requested immediate payment of $1 , 000 , 000 plus pre - judgement interest . One week later , AmGUARD submitted a check for $1 , 000 , 000 with a written note that it was in " full and final settlement ". Gretzky rejected that check because the settlement agree ment per mitted h er to pursue bad faith claims and the check did not include pre - judgement interest . On July 31 , 2024 , AmGUARD sent an identical check to plainti f f who again rejected it . On August 8 , 2024 , AmGUARD - 2 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 2 of 9
sent a new $1 , 000 , 000 check without the written notation that
Gretzky accepted .
b. Procedural History
Later in August , 2024 , plaintiff sent a demand letter to
AmGUARO for relief under M. G. L . c . 93 , §9 (" Chapter 93A " ) and
also alleged a violation of M. G. L c . 1760 , §3 (9) (a) - (d) , (f)
(" Chapter 1760 " ) . In September , 2024 , AmGUARO responded
offering plaintiff $232 , 769 , which represented pre - judgment
interest at 12% accrued from September 1 , 2022 , through August
8 , 2024. Plaintiff rejected that proffer .
In November , 2024 , plaintiff filed a complaint against
AmGUARO in Massachusetts state court , allegi n g t h at AmGUARO
intentionally , knowingly , willfully and repeatedly
[violated Chapter 93A and Chapter 1760 , via] unfair and
deceptive practices in the business of insurance .
In February , 2025 , the action was removed to this Court .
In defendant ' s answer it denies liability . In May , 2025 ,
defendant filed a motion to limit damages under Chapter 93A ,
asserting that the offer of settlement made in response to the
demand letter was reasonable and entitles it to the safe harbor
provision of Chapter 93A .
Plaintiff opposes the motion , asserting that AmGUARO ' s
settlement offer was unreasonable relative to the actual injury
suffered . Plaintiff claims prejudgment interest is the wrong
- 3 -
Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 3 of 9measure of economic damages and t hat damages fo r men tal anguish and unnecessary prolongment of the litigation should have b een included in the offer . II . Legal Standard Chapter 176D , Section 3 , of the Massachusetts General Laws provides that insurance companies have an obligation to " effectuate prompt , fair and equitable settlements of claims in which liability has become reasonab ly clear . " M. G. L . c . 176D , §3 ( 9) ( f) . Chapter 93A of the Massachusetts General La ws provides the statutory basis for damages when an in su rer has violated Chapter 1 76 D. In cases in which insurers have failed to effectuate prompt and fair settlements , recovery shall be in the amount of actual damages ; or up to three , but not less than two , times such amount as punitive damages if the violative conduct is willful or knowing . The punitive damages provisi on was amended in 1989 to define the " actual damages " to be multiplied as "t he amount of the ju dgment on al l claims arising out of the same and underlying transaction or occurrence ." R. W. Granger & Sons , Inc . v . J & S Insulation , Inc ., 754 N. E . 2d 668 , 680 (2001) As relevant to the present motion , Chapter 93A also includes a " safe harbor " provision . Section 9(3) provides that if a recipient of a demand letter timely tenders a written - 4 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 4 of 9
settlement offer and that offer i s rejected , the recipient may limit dama ges when the court finds that the relief tendered was reasonable in relation to the injury actually suffered by the petitioner . M. G. L . c . 93A § 9 ( 3) . The reasonableness of an offer is a question for the factfinder , taking into account al l of the attendant facts and circumstances . Applied Image Reprographics , Inc . v . Citizens Bank of Mass ., 2012 WL 2913528 , at *12 (Mass . Super . Ct . June 5 , 2012) . When plaintiff has no reasonable expectation of proving an elem ent of her case , however , the question of reasonab leness may be res o lved as a matter of law . Wahlstrom v . Zu rich Am . Ins . Co ., 2022 WL 20416910 , at *4 (D . Mass . Nov . 22 , 2022) . III. Analysis The parties dispute the meaning of " injury actual ly suffered ,n in the safe harbor provision . Defendant contends that the injury in such cases is the loss of use of the money wrongfully withheld by the insurer and , therefore , the reasonableness of the offer should be based on the interest lo s t on the money th at should ha ve been proffered once liability was r easonab ly established . With that understanding , defendant offere d $ 232 , 769 , which represents interest at the rate of 12 % on the $1 million policy limit , assuming that the $1 million was - 5 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 5 of 9
payable on September 1 , 2022 (the date the underlying tort claim was filed) . Plaintiff resp onds that loss of use is not applicable when there is a judgment in the underlying tort ca se and the insurer committed a willful violation of Chapter 176D . She asserts that , in such cases , the judgment should be multiplied pursuant to the punitive damages amendment to the statutory scheme . She also argues that the injury actually suffered includes damages for emotional distress and the stress of going to trial but she does not submit what a reasonable offer would have been other than to suggest it should have been closer to the judgment of $2 , 250 , 000 . a. Loss of Interest Plaintiff is mistaken about the applicability of loss - of - use damages . Massachusetts case law indicates that loss of use is the proper measure of damages , see , ~ , Wahlstrom , 2022 WL 20416910 , at *4 (collecting cases) , and plaintiff cites no authority to the contrary . The single case she relies on , Rhodes v . AIG Domestic Claims , Inc ., is factually distinguishable . First , the $7 million offer in that case was to settle both the judgment of the underlying tort suit (approx ima tely $11 million , which had not yet to be paid) and the Chapter 93A claim . Second , although perhaps the $7 million offer could have satisfied the safe harbor provision , none o f - 6 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 6 of 9
• I the courts in the litigation analyzed the offer in that regard. Third , at the time the $7 million was offered , a judge had already found the de fendant l iable for willful and knowing violations of Chapter 93A , enabling an award of punitive damages . Rhodes is inapposite to this case because (1) AmGUARD ' s offer was to settle the Chapter 93A claim o n ly because the underlying tort action had already been settled ; (2) Rhodes did not involve the safe harbor provision of the statute on which this case indispu tably turns ; and (3) there has been no judicial finding of a willful and knowing violation of Chapter 93A . The loss of use of wrongfully withheld settlement funds is the proper standard that this Court will use to determine whether AmGUARD ' s offer was reasonable. Having determined that loss of use is the proper measure of damages under Section 1760 , the ultimate question is what was that loss here? i. Prejudgment Violations Beginning with the prejudgment violation , plaintiff does not and cannot argue that AmGUARD was obligated to settle for more than the $1 million policy limit . That is the maximum amount plaintiff could have expected to receive . Thus , with respect to prejudgment violations , plaintiff was deprived of use of $1 million , and her damages are the interest accrued on that - 7 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 7 of 9
' I amount. Defendant ' s settlement offer was precisely that amount and was therefore reasonable relative to the prejudgment injuries . ii. Post-Judgment Violations As for post - judgment violations , plaintiff argues that after the parties entered their consent judgment , defendant became obligated , pursuant to the terms of the settlement , to pay prejudgment interest on the $1 million , i . e . $232 , 769 . Thus , defendant is alleged to have wrongfully withheld the payment of interest and therefore owes interest on the interest which defendant did not include in its offer . Whether defendant was required to pay prejudgment interest as part of the consent judgment is a question of fact that the Court will not determine at this stage . Assuming , arguendo , that the consent judgment did in fact mandate payment of the prejudgment interest , the settlement offer was reasonable relative to the injury suffered . The two - month withholding o f the prejudgment interest resulted in less than $5 , 000 in loss- of - use damages , a de minimis amount compared to the amount offered to plaintiffs , and therefore the September 12 settlement offer was reasonable as a matter of law . b. Other Injury Finally , plaintiff contends that the Chapter 93A settlement offer was unreasonable because it did not include any damages - 8 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 8 of 9
for emotional distress . Plaintiff is correct that a Chapter 93A settlement may include more than just loss of use of wrongfully withheld funds . Other damages include emotional distress for t he fear of financial ruin and the hassle of litigation . Urban v . Zurich Am . Ins . Co. , 737 F . Su pp. 3d 39 , 46 (D . Mass . 2024) . Yet , in this case , plaintiff did not include a request for such damages in her demand letter . Not having been apprised of plaintiff ' s alleged injuries outside of loss of use , defendan t cannot be expected to have included compensation for such damages in its offer . See Wahlstrom , 2022 WL 20416910 , at *8 . ORDER For the foregoing reasons , the Motion to Limit Damages (Docket No . 19) is ALLOWED. So ordered. Nathaniel M. Gorton Senior United States District Judge Dated : November /O , 2025 - 9 - Case 1:25-cv-10267-NMG Document 32 Filed 11/10/25 Page 9 of 9
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.