2:25-cv-00166•Case Name in Social Security Case - Unavailable
Full text
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA S.A. CIVIL ACTION VERSUS NO. 25-166 FRANK BISIGNANO, COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY SECTION: “A” (3) REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION Claimant timely filed this action for judicial review1 after the Social Security Administration (the “Administration”) issued a final denial of her claim for disability insurance benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act (the “SSA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 416(i) and 423, et seq.2 Claimant asks the Court to reverse the Administrative Law Judge’s (“ALJ”) holding that Claimant is not entitled to the benefits she seeks and remand this matter for further administrative proceedings.3 The Administration, via Commissioner Frank Bisignano,4 urges the Court to affirm the denial of benefits and dismiss this case.5 Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b) and Local Rule 73.2(B), this matter was referred to the undersigned United States Magistrate Judge. Having carefully 1 See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). 2 R. Doc. 1. 3 Id. at 2. 4 Frank Bisignano became the Commissioner of Social Security on May 6, 2025. Pursuant to Rule 25(d) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Mr. Bisignano should be substituted as the defendant in this suit. No further action need be taken to continue this suit by reason of the last sentence of Section 205(g) of the Social Security Act. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). 5 R. Doc. 11. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 1 of 13
2 considered the parties’ briefing6 and the administrative record7 in the light of the applicable law, it is recommended that Claimant’s appeal be granted and this matter remanded for further analysis. I. Background Claimant is a 60 year old female.8 She has a college degree and work experience as a systems programmer.9 Claimant applied for supplemental security income and disability insurance benefits on March 21, 2022, and June 4, 2022, respectively.10 In her March 3, 2022, Function Report, Claimant asserts that she suffered from daily migraines associated with retrolisthesis and central fissures, lumbar spondylosis, scoliosis and degenerative disc disease.11 Claimant asserted that she was rendered disabled by these conditions on January 28, 2022.12 After the Administration denied her application and request for reconsideration,13 a hearing to review the claim was held at Claimant’s request.14 The ALJ issued a decision on August 26, 2024, holding that Claimant was not disabled within the definition of the SSA15 between January 28, 2022 through the date of the decision.16 6 The Court ordered the parties to submit supplemental briefing relative to Claimant’s assertion of error at step three. R. Docs. 18, 19, 20. 7 R. Doc. 7. 8 Id. at 71. 9 Id. at 62, 301. 10 Id. at 220–235. 11 Id. at 290. 12 Id. at 229. 13 Id. at 95–99. 14 Id. at 120–121. 15 See 42 U.S.C. §§ 416(i), 423(d). 16 R. Doc. 7 at 23–24. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 2 of 13
3 The ALJ conducted the five-step sequential analysis required by 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520 to consider a claimant’s assertion of disability. As the Fifth Circuit has explained: The five steps consider: (1) Is the claimant “doing substantial gainful activity”? (2) If not, does the claimant “have a severe medically determinable physical or mental impairment” of sufficient duration? (3) If so, does her impairment(s) meet or equal a listing in Appendix 1 of the applicable regulations? (4) If not, considering the claimant’s “residual functional capacity,” can the claimant still do her “past relevant work”? (5) If not, can the claimant adjust to other work given her residual functional capacity, age, education, and work experience? Vasquez v. O’Malley, 2024 WL 4381269, at *1 (5th Cir. Oct. 3, 2024) (quoting 20 C.F.R. § 416.920). At steps one through four, the burden of proof is on the claimant to show she is disabled. Shave v. Apfel, 238 F.3d 592, 594 (5th Cir. 2001). If the claimant can carry this burden through step three or four, she has established disability and the inquiry is over. Id. Otherwise, the burden shifts to the Commissioner at step five to prove the claimant nonetheless retains sufficient functional capacity to adjust to other employment. Id. The ALJ found that Claimant satisfied steps one and two. First, Claimant had not engaged in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset date of her disability.17 Second, the ALJ found that Claimant suffered from severe impairments including “disorders of the spine, [] overweight, migraine headaches, other and unspecified arthropathies, and vertigo.”18 The ALJ also noted that Claimant suffered 17 Id. at 25. 18 Id. at 26. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 3 of 13
4 from the non-severe impairments of vertigo19 and medication side effects.20 However, the ALJ determined that Claimant did not satisfy step three because none of these impairments or any combination thereof met or equaled an impairment listed in Appendix One.21 At step four, the ALJ found that Claimant had the residual functional capacity to perform sedentary work with limitations22 and was therefore capable of performing past relevant work as a systems programmer.23 Therefore, the ALJ found that Claimant was not disabled from January 28, 2022, through the date of its decision.24 Claimant argues that the ALJ failed to offer any explanation why the Claimant’s impairments did not medically equal Listing 11.02 at step three.25 Claimant also asserts that the ALJ failed to properly evaluate the persistence, intensity and limiting effects of Claimant’s symptoms relative to migraine headaches at step four.26 II. Standard of Review This Court’s review of a denial of social security benefits “is exceedingly deferential and limited to two inquiries: whether substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s decision, and whether the ALJ applied the proper legal standards when 19 Id. at 26, 35–36. 20 Id. at 28, 31. 21 Id. at 26–27. 22 Id. at 27. 23 Id. at 37. 24 Id. at 39. 25 Id. at 8–11. 26 R. Doc. 9 at 4–8. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 4 of 13
5 evaluating the evidence.” Taylor v. Astrue, 706 F.3d 600, 602 (5th Cir. 2012). “Substantial evidence is ‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Greenspan v. Shalala, 38 F.3d 232, 236 (5th Cir. 1994) (quoting Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971)). This must constitute “more than a mere scintilla” of evidence but may be “less than a preponderance.” Spellman v. Shalala, 1 F.3d 357, 360 (5th Cir. 1993). The Court “may not reweigh the evidence in the record, nor try the issues de novo, nor substitute [its] judgment . . . even if [the Court concludes that] the evidence preponderates against” the ALJ’s findings. Johnson v. Bowen, 864 F.2d 340, 343 (5th Cir. 1988). “A finding of no substantial evidence is appropriate only if no credible evidentiary choices or medical findings to support” the denial of benefits. Harris v. Apfel, 209 F.3d 413, 417 (5th Cir. 2000) (citing Johnson, 864 F.2d at 343–44). If supported by substantial evidence, the ALJ’s determination is conclusive and must be affirmed. Richardson, 402 U.S. at 390 (citing 42 U.S.C. § 405(g)). III. Analysis Claimant argues that the ALJ failed to offer any explanation as to why the Claimant did not medically equal Listing 11.02 at step three.27 Claimant asserts that the ALJ conducted no analysis of medical equivalence and relied solely on the fact that no medical expert had offered an opinion on the issue.28 27 Id. at 8. 28 Id. at 8–9. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 5 of 13
6 A. The ALJ did not adequately explain the basis for the conclusion that Claimant’s symptoms do not medically equal Listing 11.02 at step three. Under 20 C.F.R. §404.1526, if a claimant cannot show they “meet” all the criteria in the listing, they may nonetheless seek to prove they “medically equal” a listing, which would thereby render them disabled. Bliss v. Colvin, No. 6:14-CV-016- C, 2015 WL 3507892, at *3 (N.D. Tex. June 2, 2015) (citing Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521, 531 (1990)). “An impairment is medically equivalent to a listed impairment if it is at least equal in severity and duration to the criteria of any listed impairment.” Jones v. O'Malley, 107 F.4th 489, 497 (5th Cir. 2024); see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1526(a) (defining medical equivalence). “For a claimant to qualify for benefits by showing that his unlisted impairment, or combination of impairments, is ‘equivalent’ to a listed impairment, he must present medical findings equal in severity to all the criteria for the one most similar listed impairment.” Sullivan, 493 U.S. at 531; see 20 C.F.R. § 404.1526(b) (“We will find that your impairment is medically equivalent to that listing if you have other findings related to your impairment that are at least of equal medical significance to the required criteria.”). By the explicit terms of 42 U.S.C. §405(b)(1), the ALJ is required to discuss the evidence in support of Claimant’s claim for disability and to explain why they found that Claimant was not disabled at that step. Audler, 501 F.3d at 448. Yet the ALJ need not provide an exhaustive point-by-point discussion. Id. Additionally, “[p]rocedural perfection in administrative proceedings is not required as long as the substantial rights of a party have been affected.” Id. (citing Morris v. Bowen, 837 F.2d Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 6 of 13
7 1362, 1364 (5th Cir. 1988) (internal quotations omitted). If, as Claimant suggests, the ALJ erred in failing to explicitly analyze medical equivalence, the Court must determine whether that error was harmless. Id. “The party seeking to overturn the Commissioner's decision has the burden to show that prejudice resulted from an error.” Jones v. Astrue, 691 F.3d 730, 734–35 (5th Cir. 2012). “Migraine headache disorder” is not a listing under Appendix 1, but Social Security Ruling 19-4p points to Listing 11.02 (epilepsy) as “the most closely analogous listed impairment” for migraine headaches. Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019) (“SSR 19-4p”). SSR 19-4p was promulgated to assist adjudicators in evaluating headache disorders and provides guidance in considering the effects of headaches when determining residual functional capacity. Id. The ruling instructs adjudicators to determine whether a headache disorder constitutes a medically determinable impairment by considering objective medical evidence and subjective allegations, including whether the record contains a primary headache disorder diagnosis from an acceptable medical source. Id. Migraines are considered primary headache disorders and may equal the symptoms detailed in Listing 11.02B (dyscognitive seizures occurring at least once a week for at least 3 consecutive months despite adherence to prescribed treatment) or 11.02D (dyscognitive seizures occurring at least once every 2 weeks for at least 3 consecutive months despite adherence to prescribed treatment, and marked limitation in one area of functioning). Id. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 7 of 13
8 To evaluate whether a primary headache disorder is equal in severity and duration to the criteria in 11.02B, the ALJ must consider: [A] detailed description from an [acceptable medical source] a typical headache event, including all associated phenomena (for example, premonitory symptoms, aura, duration, intensity, and accompanying symptoms); the frequency of headache events; adherence to prescribed treatment; side effects of treatment (for example, many medications used for treating a primary headache disorder can produce drowsiness, confusion, or inattention); and limitations in functioning that may be associated with the primary headache disorder or effects of its treatment, such as interference with activity during the day (for example, the need for a darkened and quiet room, having to lie down without moving, a sleep disturbance that affects daytime activities, or other related needs and limitations). Id. To evaluate whether a primary headache disorder is equal to 11.02D, the ALJ must consider other factors in addition to the 11.02B criteria. Id. Here, the ALJ considered listing 11.02 and concluded: SSR 19-4p further notes that listing 11.02 (pertaining to a seizure disorder) is the most closely analogous listing. The claimant’s impairment does not meet listing 11.02[,] as there is no evidence of any type of seizure activity. Further, there is no evidence from a medical consultant or medical expert that would allow the undersigned to conclude that her headaches medically equal a listing. The undersigned fully considered the claimant’s migraine headache disorder, along with all other medically determinable impairments, when evaluating her residual functional capacity at Finding 5 of this decision.29 While the ALJ properly identified 11.02 as the most closely analogous listing and referenced SSR 19-4p, the ALJ failed to follow the directives offered in SSR 19-4p. The ALJ’s analysis relative to the absence of seizure activity sufficiently explained why Claimant’s impairment did not meet the criteria for listing 11.02. The ALJ did not, however, adequately explain the reasoning behind the ultimate 29 R. Doc. 7 at 27. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 8 of 13
9 conclusion that Claimant’s impairment did not equal that listing. See Lopez v. Kijakazi, No. 3:22-CV-596-CWR-FKB, 2024 WL 667235, at *3 (S.D. Miss. Feb. 1, 2024) (“Given the volume of documentation concerning Lopez's medical treatment for seizures and migraine headaches, and the fact that the ALJ found enough evidence in the record to conclude that Lopez has the severe impairments of seizures and headaches, the ALJ's failure to better explain his conclusions on the medical equivalence of Lopez's impairments to the Listings is an error that affects Lopez's substantial rights.”), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Lopez v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:22-CV-596-CWR-FKB, 2024 WL 665342 (S.D. Miss. Feb. 16, 2024). Further, the ALJ’s limited analysis explains only that “there is no evidence from a medical consultant or medical expert that would allow the undersigned to conclude that her headaches medically equal a listing.”30 While evidence from a consultant or expert is one way that a claimant may satisfy Step 3, it is not the only way. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1526. As the ALJ erred in failing to analyze medical equivalence, the Court must determine whether this error was harmless. See Audler, 501 F.3d at 448. B. The lack of analysis at Step 3 affected Claimant’s substantial rights. The Administration maintains that Claimant’s impairments did not medically equal listing 11.02 because there was no supporting evidence from a medical consultant or medical expert.31 30 Id. 31 R. Doc. 11 at 6. Note that SSR 19-4p requires that medically determinable impairments be established by objective medical evidence from an acceptable medical source. A licensed physician is an acceptable medical source. 20 C.F.R. §404.1502. Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 9 of 13
10 There is, however, medical evidence in the record from licensed physicians that supports the conclusion that Claimant’s headaches equaled “dyscognitive seizures occurring at least once a week for at least 3 consecutive months despite adherence to treatment.” Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019). A treatment note from January 6, 2022, documents that Claimant experienced four-hour migraines that occur two to three times a week.32 On February 23, 2022, EMS was called to an auto dealership, where EMS reported that Claimant was found “laying face down in the bathroom in vomitus.”33 At the hospital, Claimant characterized her headache pain as a 10 out of 10.34 On May 20, 2022, Claimant reported to her doctor a migraine lasting two days.35 On September 21, 2023, Claimant reported that she had near daily headaches since May 2020.36 Claimant rated the pain of one headache to be level 9 out of 10.37 Claimant’s doctor relied on an MRI and Claimant’s diary of her headaches38 to diagnose and treat Claimant for chronic migraines.39 32 R. Doc. 9 at 6 (citing R. Doc. 7 at 527). 33 R. Doc. 7 at 823. 34 R. Doc. 9 at 6 (citing R. Doc. 7 at 577). 35 Id. (citing R. Doc. 7 at 514). 36 Id. at 7 (citing R. Doc. 7 at 702). 37 Id. at 5 (citing R. Doc. 7 at 669). 38 Id. (citing R. Doc. 7 at 326–327, 341–342, 355–387). 39 R. Doc. 7 at 514–15; see Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019) (providing that “headache journals” are helpful to physicians in making a primary headache disorder diagnosis and also that physicians may rely on laboratory tests and scans). Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 10 of 13
11 There is evidence of other SSR 19-4p criteria. Claimant’s headaches required her to lie down for hours.40 See Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019) (instructing consideration of whether the primary headache disorder causes the claimant to have to “lie down.”). Her headaches have awakened her from sleep.41 She reported that her eyes felt heavy the next day.42 See Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019) (instructing consideration of whether the primary headache disorder causes “a sleep disturbance that affects daytime activities”). There is also evidence that Claimant’s symptoms did not significantly improve with treatment.43 See Soc. Sec. Ruling 19-4p; Titles II & XVI: Evaluating Cases Involving Primary Headache Disorders (S.S.A. Aug. 26, 2019) (instructing consideration of whether claimant adhered to prescribed treatment). Given the volume of evidence relative to Claimant’s migraine headaches, the ALJ’s failure to explain the conclusions on medical equivalence is an error that affects Claimant’s substantial rights. See Lopez, No. 3:22-CV- 596-CWR-FKB, 2024 WL 667235, at *3 (holding that remand was appropriate given the ALJ’s failure to better explain their step three conclusions and the 40 R. Doc. 9 at 5 (citing R. Doc. 7 at 706). 41 Id. (citing R. Doc. 7 at 702). 42 Id. 43 Id. (citing R. Doc. 7 at 667). Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 11 of 13
12 amount of evidence concerning claimant’s primary headache disorder); Smith v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 6:22-CV-06220, 2024 WL 4052737, at *7 (W.D. La. Aug. 12, 2024) (“It is well established that an ALJ does not meet the statutory standard for step three analysis where no discussion of the claimant's symptoms in relation to the criteria of the listed impairment is included.”), report and recommendation adopted, No. 6:22-CV-06220, 2024 WL 4044348 (W.D. La. Sept. 4, 2024). Moreover, because the undersigned recommends remand for reconsideration of the Listings equivalence, Claimant’s appeal relative to the determination at step 4 is moot. IV. Recommendation For the foregoing reasons, IT IS RECOMMENDED that the decision of the Administrative Law Judge at step three regarding the equivalence analysis between Claimant’s symptoms and listing 11.02 be REMANDED for further analysis. On remand, the Administrative Law Judge may provide further analysis relative to the determination at step 4, if that step is reached. A party’s failure to file written objections to the proposed findings, conclusions, and recommendation in a magistrate judge’s report and recommendation within fourteen days after being served with a copy shall bar that party, except upon grounds of plain error, from attacking on appeal the unobjected-to proposed factual findings and legal conclusions accepted by the district court, provided that the party has been served with notice that such consequences will result from a failure to object. 28 Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 12 of 13
13 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1); Douglass v. United Services Auto. Ass’n, 79 F.3d 1415, 1430 (5th Cir. 1996) (en banc). New Orleans, Louisiana, this 22nd day of December, 2025. __________________________________________ EVA J. DOSSIER UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE Case 2:25-cv-00166-JCZ Document 21 Filed 12/22/25 Page 13 of 13
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.