1:22-cv-01850•Beard v. Brinks Inc.
Full text
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO Civil Action No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP ASHLEY BEARD, Plaintiff, v. BRINK’S INC., Defendant. RECOMMENDATION ON MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT Susan Prose, United States Magistrate Judge Plaintiff Ashley Beard, who appears before the court pro se, alleges claims of employment discrimination on the basis of disability under the Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”), as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 12101, et seq., as well as discrimination on the basis of color under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (“Title VII”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e, et seq. See ECF No. 1 (“Complaint”) at 3. This matter comes before the court on Motions for Summary Judgment filed by both Defendant Brink’s, ECF No. 76 (“Brink’s Motion”), and Ms. Beard, ECF No. 78 (“Ms. Beard’s Motion”). The parties each filed responses to the respective Motions but only Brink’s filed a reply. ECF No. 85 (Brink’s response); ECF No. 86 (Ms. Beard’s response); ECF No. 92 (Brink’s Reply). The Motions have been referred to the undersigned for a recommendation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b). See ECF No. 77; see also ECF Nos. 4, 35. Having carefully reviewed the parties’ briefing and the applicable law, this court Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 1 of 29
2 respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment be granted in part and denied in part and that Ms. Beard’s Motion for Summary Judgment be denied. BACKGROUND I. Undisputed Facts This court draws the following material facts from the record and considers them undisputed unless otherwise noted. This case flows from two work-related back injuries Ms. Beard sustained in 2019.1 In April 2017, Ms. Beard began working for Dunbar Armored, Inc., and later became a Brink’s employee in July 2019 after Brink’s acquired Dunbar. Beard Dep. 51:6, 53:21-54:4. During this time, Ms. Beard primarily served as a Vault Clerk and Driver, which required her to be able to lift, carry, and push at least 50 pounds while transporting currency and other valuable cargo. ECF No. 76-2 at 1-4. Ms. Beard says that, prior to her injuries, she “had no difficulties carrying out [these] duties.” Ms. Beard’s Response at 6. A. March and November 2019 Injuries Ms. Beard first injured her back in March 2019 while trying to open a truck door. Beard Dep. 61:1-8. She saw a workers’ compensation physician who issued her temporary work restrictions preventing her from lifting more than 10 pounds or pushing or pulling more than 20 1 While the court acknowledges that Ms. Beard’s Motion does not comply with Judge Martinez’s Practice Standards—as Brink’s points out, see Brink’s Response at 2—because she proceeds pro se, this court affords her papers and filings a liberal construction. Haines v. Kerner, 404 U.S. 519, 520-21 (1972). But the court cannot and does not act as her advocate, Hall v. Bellmon, 935 F.2d 1106, 1110 (10th Cir. 1991), and applies the same procedural rules and substantive law to Ms. Beard as to a represented party, see Murray v. City of Tahlequah, 312 F.3d 1196, 1199 n.2 (10th Cir. 2008). Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 2 of 29
3 pounds for more than three hours per day. Id. 62:3-21; ECF No. 76-2 at 9. Ms. Beard was temporarily reassigned to a position as a turret guard, which allowed her to work within these restrictions. Beard Dep. 62:15-64:10; see ECF No. 76-2 at 10. Ms. Beard worked in this arrangement until April 12, 2019, when her physician cleared her for regular activity, and she returned to her position as a Vault Clerk and Driver. Beard Dep. 62:15-64:10; ECF No. 76-2 at 11. Ms. Beard reinjured her back on November 1, 2019, while lifting a bag of coins. Beard Dep. 64:15-65:23, 68:5-13. On November 4, 2019, Ms. Beard’s physician again issued restrictions that she not lift more than 10 pounds and limited her to working no more than six hours per day. Id. 69:18-24; ECF No. 76-2 at 12. Ms. Beard’s supervisor, Kristine O’Neill, assigned her to a temporary position as a building turret guard that would accommodate these restrictions, and Ms. Beard accepted this position on November 5, 2019. ECF No. 76-2 at 13-16. On November 13, 2019, Ms. Beard’s physician issued more stringent lifting restrictions. Beard Dep. 74:20-75:8; ECF No. 76-2 at 17. On January 14, 2020, her physician shortened the amount of time she could work to four hours per day. ECF No. 76-2 at 18. Then, on April 8, 2020, her physician issued a total restriction preventing her from working at all. Id. at 19. Following this, Ms. Beard went on disability leave. Beard Dep. 84:2-86:20. O’Neill told Ms. Beard to provide updates on her status, which Ms. Beard did periodically for the next year or so. Id. 85:5-9, 88:1-21. B. April 2021 “Termination” Then, on March 19, 2021, Absence Manager Crystal Rice-Minor, a Brink’s human resources official, sent Ms. Beard a letter asking about her potential timeline for returning to Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 3 of 29
4 work. ECF No. 76-2 at 21 (“March 2021 Letter”). In that letter, Rice-Minor explained that Brink’s was “unable to provide [Ms. Beard] with an indefinite leave of absence, Brink’s policies typically limit leaves to a maximum of 6 months, absent the approval of a reasonable accommodation to the contrary.” Id. The letter then encouraged Ms. Beard to apply for other positions on Brink’s website. Id. Additionally, the letter advised Ms. Beard that “if we do not hear from you prior to April 19, 2021, regarding discussing potential opportunities for your return to active employment or other potential accommodations of your circumstances, Brink’s will be moving forward with the administrative termination of your employment on April 19, 2021.” Id. In response to this letter, Ms. Beard called Rice-Minor and informed her that she could not provide a definite answer as to when she could return to work. Beard Dep. 94:8-23. According to Ms. Beard, Rice-Minor replied that she would speak with the insurance company and get back to her. Id. 95:14-20. Around this time, Ms. Beard also reached out to O’Neill and told her: “Everything looks well on my MRI. I’m still working through PT. I should be able to return to work soon with restrictions. I’m not sure of the date. I also received [March 2021 Letter] from HR.” ECF No. 1-3 at 1. O’Neill responded: “I don’t think they’ll let you return with restrictions.” Id. Then, on April 19, 2021, Rice-Minor sent Ms. Beard a letter stating that her employment would be terminated effective April 26, 2021. ECF No. 76-2 at 23 (“April 2021 Letter”). The letter stated: “As we advised you in our [the March 2021 Letter] pursuant to Brink’s Policy your employment with Brink’s is hereby terminated effective April 26, 2021. Please contact your Branch to return all Brink’s issued equipment and property that you may have in your possession Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 4 of 29
5 as soon as possible. Thank you for your service to our company and please don’t hesitate to contact me with questions or concerns . . . .” Id. Shortly thereafter, Ms. Beard called Rice-Minor. Beard Dep. 100:10-15. Rice-Minor asked Ms. Beard if she knew when she would return to work, and when Ms. Beard replied that she did not, Rice-Minor said that there was nothing that she could do because of Brink’s leave policy. Id. 100:19-101:3. Soon after, Ms. Beard went into Brink’s to return her equipment. See id. 101:9-11. It was around this time that O’Neill and Patrick Marquez—a district manager— offered to serve as a reference or to write letters of recommendation for Ms. Beard. Id. 101:14- 17; ECF No. 1-3 at 4. C. May 2021 Release and June Scheduling In mid-May 2021, Ms. Beard had a follow-up with her workers’ compensation physician. At this appointment, the physician released her from all restrictions. See ECF No. 76-2 at 25-26 (“May 2021 Release”). Ms. Beard explained that this was at her request because, as she puts it, “I was already terminated from that position that I needed those restrictions for. So I asked personally not to have those permanent restrictions because I wasn’t going back to work.” Beard Dep. 106:15-18. Like previous visits, Brink’s received a notice following Ms. Beard’s appointment. This time, though, the notice showed that Ms. Beard had been cleared for work. On or around May 19, O’Neill reached out to Ms. Beard to ask if she was interested in returning to Brink’s, and, if so, to reach out to Rice-Minor. Id. 106:1-4. Ms. Beard told O’Neill that she was interested in returning to work but that she would have restrictions. Id. 106:4-6. Afterward, Rice-Minor reached out to Ms. Beard and asked if she was ready to return to Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 5 of 29
6 work. See id. 105:9-20. Then on May 21, Rice-Minor sent an email stating: “[April 2021 Letter] was sent in error. Your employment is still active with Brink’s Incorporated. We have a full duty release as of May 14, 2021. Are you returning to work?” ECF No. 76-2 at 27. Ms. Beard responded: “I was ready and willing to return back to work within my restrictions. But Brink’s decided to terminate me effective April 26, 2021. At that date, I was no longer a Brink’s employee. And any attempt to overturn that decision is unlawful.” Id. at 28. Minutes later, Rice-Minor asked Ms. Beard to give her a call, but it is unclear whether Ms. Beard did so. Id. It appears, however, that Ms. Beard and Rice-Minor did have a conversation at one point, during which Ms. Beard “talked to [Rice-Minor] about returning to work after [June] 15th, after I had my restrictions exactly. Because she asked what are my exact restrictions, and can she have those on paper. I’m like sure. I have an appointment with Sacha [a workers’ compensation physician] on the 15th.” Beard Dep. 115:9-14. Ms. Beard claims that Rice-Minor verbally agreed to Ms. Beard returning to work after she had seen Dr. Sacha on June 15. Id. 110:12-21. On June 3, 2021, O’Neill left Ms. Beard a voicemail and text message informing her that she would be on the work schedule beginning on Monday, June 7, 2021, and asked her to call or text her back to confirm. See ECF No. 1-3 at 2-3. According to Ms. Beard’s testimony, O’Neill told her that Human Resources “was making her put [Ms. Beard] on the schedule” for June 7 even though Brink’s knew that Ms. Beard “was going to get those restrictions put back in place” on June 15 when she was set to see Dr. Sacha for a follow-up appointment. Beard Dep. 109:16- 25, 110:12-21. Ms. Beard did not report to work on June 7. On June 15, 2021, Dr. Sacha evaluated Ms. Beard and placed her on the following Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 6 of 29
7 restrictions: No lifting over 10 pounds, bending and twisting on an occasional basis, and no crouching or crawling. ECF No. 1-2 at 2. Brink’s did not receive notice of these restrictions because Ms. Beard’s workers’ compensation case had been closed as a result of the May 2021 Release. Brink’s Motion at 10; ECF No. 76-2 at 33. In his report, Dr. Sacha said that Ms. Beard “does want permanent restrictions. She is going to look for a new sedentary type job. She does not feel that she can do her prior job.” ECF No. 76-2 at 33. Next, on June 30, 2021, Rice-Minor sent Ms. Beard a letter: On May 18, 2021, you were released by Dr. Cava to return to active employment. As of date of this letter, you have not reported to work. We do not show you as currently being on an approved leave of absence and we have not heard from you regarding your intention to return to your former position, potential accommoda- tions of your circumstances or to otherwise address your employment status with Brink’s. We have attempted to reach you via email and phone: However, you have been unresponsive to our calls and emails. As you are not under a current approved Leave of Absence un [sic] Brink’s policy, your absences following the expiration of your approved leave of absence are con- sidered as unexcused and, if we do not hear from you by Wednesday, July 7, 2021, the company reserves the right to move forward with disciplinary action, to include the potential termination of your employment. ECF No. 1-5 at 3. On July 6, 2021, Ms. Beard emailed Rice-Minor, stating that Brink’s terminated her “on no fault of [her] own” and that she would like to “speak with a District Manager via email.” ECF No. 85-2 at 14. Rice-Minor responded later that day, asking Ms. Beard to call her. Id. at 15–16. She sent a similar email on July 22, 2021. Id. Ms. Beard and Brink’s agree that Ms. Beard did not call Rice-Minor on July 6 and that Ms. Beard ceased all communications with Brink’s thereafter. Brink’s Motion at 11; ECF No. 78-2 at 50. Ms. Beard Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 7 of 29
8 says that she was waiting on Rice-Minor to send contact information for someone else she could speak with. Beard Dep. 118:24-119:2. Even though Ms. Beard’s last day working at Brink’s was in April 2020, she continued to be listed as an employee in Brink’s systems until December 11, 2023, when she asked Brink’s to terminate her employment so that she could access her 401(k) funds. Brink’s Motion at 6, 12. Ms. Beard reports that she did not work until March 2022 and, since then, has worked as a security guard for several different employers. ECF No. 48 at 4-5; see Beard Dep. 24:22-25:5. D. EEOC Charge On July 22, 2021, Ms. Beard filed a charge of discrimination with the Colorado Civil Rights Commission (CCRC) and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), alleging discrimination on the basis of disability. See ECF No. 1-1. On February 22, 2022, CCRC issued its determination of no probable cause. Id. at 9. Ms. Beard appealed, and on March 25, 2022, CCRC affirmed its decision. Id. at 7-8. On May 10, 2022, EEOC sent Ms. Beard its determination that the dismissal of her charge by CCRC was appropriate and consistent with EEOC’s guidance and issued her a Notice of Right to Sue. Id. at 1-2. II. Procedural History Ms. Beard timely filed this lawsuit on July 26, 2022. Originally, in addition to Brink’s, Ms. Beard sued O’Neill and Rice-Minor but later voluntarily dismissed both individuals. ECF Nos. 23, 28. Ms. Beard brings claims under both Title VII and the ADA. Specifically, she alleges claims of failure to accommodate, discrimination, hostile work environment, and retaliation under the ADA. Complaint at 9-14. She also brings a hostile work environment claim under Title VII, alleging racial discrimination. Id. at 10. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 8 of 29
9 In its motion for summary judgment, Brink’s argues that it is entitled to summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s Title VII claim, as well as any claim under the ADA based on events prior to March 2021, because she failed to exhaust her administrative remedies. And for the claims that were properly exhausted, it argues Ms. Beard cannot show that in May/June 2021, she was qualified for the positions available to her or that she requested reasonable accommodations. Additionally, it argues that Ms. Beard’s failure to return to work despite the May 2021 Release, her failure to provide any written restrictions from any doctor in May/June 2021 for it to consider, and her “dogged” refusal to engage in the interactive process with Rice- Minor are all legitimate non-discriminatory grounds for its actions. Brink’s Motion at 20. In her motion for summary judgment, Ms. Beard generally recounts her claims and provides her view of the facts. Furthermore, she alleges that Rice-Minor’s “refusal to answer questions . . . during her deposition . . . is a deliberate attempt to control the flow of information and hinder Plaintiff’s ability to obtain relevant evidence . . . undermin[ing] the principles of transparency and fairness essential to the discovery process[.]” Ms. Beard’s Motion at 1. LEGAL STANDARDS Summary judgment may be granted only “if the movant shows that there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a); Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Henderson v. Inter-Chem Coal Co., Inc., 41 F.3d 567, 569 (10th Cir. 1994). At the summary judgment stage, a judge does not “weigh the evidence and determine the truth of the matter,” but rather “determine[s] whether there is a genuine issue for trial.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 249 (1986). If the evidence presents a disagreement that a jury must decide because the law itself does not resolve Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 9 of 29
10 it, then there is a “genuine issue for trial.” Id. at 248-49. A fact is “material” if it “might affect the outcome of the suit under the governing law;” a factual dispute is “genuine” if “a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.” Id. at 248; see also First Church of Nazarene of Colorado Springs, Colorado v. Guideone Mut. Ins. Co., No. 19-cv-02748-NYW, 2021 WL 3549426 at *3 (D. Colo. Aug. 10, 2021). If no “rational trier of fact” could return a verdict for the nonmoving party, there is no “genuine issue for trial,” and the court must enter summary judgment for the movant. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986) (citation omitted). At the summary judgment stage, this court views all evidence in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. EEOC v. C.R. Eng., Inc., 644 F.3d 1028, 1037 (10th Cir. 2011). But the nonmovant “must set forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 256. “Mere allegation or denials of [the] pleading” are insufficient to defeat a motion for summary judgment. Id.; see also Bones v. Honeywell Int’l, Inc., 366 F.3d 869, 875 (10th Cir. 2004) (“To defeat a motion for summary judgment, evidence, including testimony, must be based on more than mere speculation, conjecture, or surmise.”); 10B Charles Alan Wright, et al., Federal Practice and Procedure § 2738 (4th ed. 2024) (“[T]he mere reargument of a party’s case or the denial of an opponent’s allegations will be disregarded.”). This court may enter summary judgment only if the movant carries its burden of production under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. See Tesone v. Empire Mktg. Strategies, 942 F.3d 979, 994 (10th Cir. 2019) (citing Celotex, 477 U.S. at 330). If the burden of persuasion at trial would be on the nonmoving party, the movant may carry its burden of production by providing “affirmative evidence that negates an essential element of the Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 10 of 29
11 nonmoving party’s claim” or by “demonstrat[ing] . . . that the nonmoving party’s evidence is insufficient to establish an essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim.” Tesone, 942 F.3d at 994 (quoting Celotex, 477 U.S. at 331). If the movant carries its burden, the burden then shifts to the nonmovant to “set forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248. If the nonmovant fails to do so, this court must enter summary judgment for the moving party. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322. ANALYSIS I. Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment The court first addresses whether the administrative prerequisites to suit have been satisfied for each claim. It then turns to the parties’ arguments regarding the merits of Ms. Beard’s claims. A. Unexhausted and Untimely Claims: Hostile Work Environment Ms. Beard raises hostile work environment claims under both Title VII and the ADA. “An employee wishing to challenge an employment practice under Title VII must first ‘file’ a ‘charge’ of discrimination with the EEOC.” Montes v. Vail Clinic, Inc., 497 F.3d 1160, 1163 (10th Cir. 2007) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(1)). The same is true for claims under the ADA. Lincoln v. BNSF Ry. Co., 900 F.3d 1166, 1183 n.7 (10th Cir. 2018) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 12117(a)). A plaintiff is limited to bringing suit on those discriminatory practices raised in her EEOC charge. Smith v. Cheyenne Ret. Invs. L.P., 904 F.3d 1159, 1164 (10th Cir. 2018) (emphasizing that although a court “liberally construes” the allegations in a charge, “the charge must contain facts concerning the discriminatory and retaliatory actions underlying each claim”) (quoting Jones v. U.P.S., Inc., 502 F.3d 1176, 1186 (10th Cir. 2007) (emphasis in original)). Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 11 of 29
12 The charge must also have been timely filed. “[A]n employee must file a charge of discrimination with the EEOC within 180 days of the alleged unlawful employment practice giving rise to the charge unless the employee has initially instituted proceedings with a State or local agency, in which case the employee has 300 days to file her EEOC charge.” Salemi v. Colo. Pub. Emp. Ret. Ass’n, 747 F. App’x 675, 688 (10th Cir. 2018) (footnote omitted) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e)(1)). “Each discrete incident of discriminatory or retaliatory treatment constitutes its own ‘unlawful employment practice’ for which administrative remedies must be exhausted.” Id. (quoting Martinez v. Potter, 347 F.3d 1208, 1210 (10th Cir. 2003) (cleaned up)). The 300-day limitation period begins on “the date the employee is notified of an adverse employment decision by the employer.” Proctor v. United Parcel Serv., 502 F.3d 1200, 1206 (10th Cir. 2007) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). When a complaint alleges multiple discrete acts, the limitations period runs separately for each act. Davidson v. Am. Online, Inc., 337 F.3d 1179, 1185 (10th Cir. 2003). And so, with respect to claims based on discrete acts of discrimination or retaliation, the court may not consider incidents occurring more than 300 days prior to a plaintiff’s EEOC charge—in this case, September 25, 2020, which was 300 days before Ms. Beard filed her charge on July 22, 2021.2 Salemi, 747 F. App’x at 688; Nat’l R.R. Passenger Corp. v. Morgan, 536 U.S. 101, 114-15 (2002). Hostile work environment claims, however, are subject to the continuing violation doctrine, which allows a plaintiff to recover “for discriminatory acts that occurred prior to the statutory limitations period if they are part of a continuing policy or practice that includes the act 2 Accordingly, the court has only considered allegations mentioned in Ms. Beard’s Charge that occurred between September 25, 2020, and July 22, 2021. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 12 of 29
13 or acts within the statutory period.” Davidson, 337 F.3d at 1183 (citation and internal quotation marks omitted)). “A hostile work environment claim is ‘composed of a series of separate acts that collectively constitute one unlawful employment practice.’” Throupe v. Univ. of Denver, 988 F.3d 1243, 1251 (10th Cir. 2021) (quoting Morgan, 536 U.S. at 117). Hostile work environment claims “are based on the cumulative effect of individual acts” and, therefore, “cannot be said to occur on any particular day.” Morgan, 536 U.S. at 115. Accordingly, “the entire time period of the hostile environment may be considered by a court for the purposes of determining liability,” provided that at least one act “contributing to the [hostile work environment claim] occur[red] within the filing period.” Id. at 117. To begin with the Title VII claim alleging a hostile work environment based on race, Ms. Beard makes no mention of race discrimination in her EEOC Charge. ECF No. 1-1. Her complete silence on that score would have allowed no EEOC investigation of her race claim to “reasonably grow out of the charge[.]” See Smith, 904 F.3d at 1164. That omission alone entitles Brink’s to judgment as a matter of law on this claim.3 Brink’s is also entitled to summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s hostile work environment claim under the ADA. Ms. Beard had not been in a Brink’s work environment since April 2020; indeed, she acknowledges that the disability-based harassment she claims to have endured occurred before April 2020. Beard Dep. 143:6-25, 144:1-2. By definition, then, no hostile act in her work environment could have occurred within the 300-day EEOC charge window, which 3 Even if the charge had raised the issue of a racially hostile work environment, any claim based on those allegations would be time-barred. There is no dispute here that the conduct alleged to be racially discriminatory occurred no later than April 2020—well before the exhaustion window. Beard Dep. 143:19-144:2. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 13 of 29
14 commenced on September 25, 2020. Morgan, 536 U.S. at 117. Ms. Beard’s hostile work environment claim based on disability is time-barred. For these reasons, this court respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment be granted in part, insofar as it seeks summary judgment summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s hostile work environment claims under both Title VII and the ADA. B. Failure to Accommodate Ms. Beard’s Disability Ms. Beard alleges that Brink’s discriminated against her on the basis of disability by not making a reasonable accommodation for her known disability.4 The ADA prohibits a “covered entity” from discriminating “against a qualified individual on the basis of disability in regard to job application procedures, the hiring, advancement, or discharge of employees, employee compensation, job training, and other terms, conditions, and privileges of employment.” 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a). The ADA defines “discriminate against a qualified individual on the basis of disability” to include “not making reasonable accommodations to the known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise qualified individual with a disability . . . unless [the employer] can demonstrate that the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the operation of the business of [the employer].” Id. § 12112(b)(5)(A). To establish a prima facie failure-to-accommodate claim, Ms. Beard must show that: (1) she was disabled; (2) she was otherwise qualified; (3) she requested a plausibly reasonable accommodation; and (4) Brink’s refused to accommodate her disability. Aubrey v. Koppes, 4 As discussed further below, under the ADA, a plaintiff may bring both a failure to accommodate claim and a disability discrimination claim based on a failure to accommodate. See Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1204. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 14 of 29
15 975 F.3d 995, 1005 (10th Cir. 2020) (citing Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1204). If Ms. Beard can make this showing—which “is not onerous,” id. at 1014—the burden then shifts to Brink’s “to present evidence either (1) conclusively rebutting one or more elements of [her] prima facie case or (2) establishing an affirmative defense, such as undue hardship or one of the other affirmative defenses available to the employer.” Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1204 (internal quotation marks omitted). If Brink’s presents evidence satisfying either point, summary judgment in its favor will be appropriate unless Ms. Beard “‘presents evidence establishing a genuine dispute regarding the affirmative defenses and/or rehabilitates any challenged elements of . . . her prima face case sufficiently to establish at least a genuine dispute of material fact as to such challenged elements.’” Punt v. Kelly Servs., 862 F.3d 1040, 1050 (10th Cir. 2017) (quoting Smith v. Midland Brake, Inc., 180 F.3d 1154, 1179 (10th Cir. 1999)). To return to the elements of Ms. Beard’s prima facie case, she has succeeded in making her four-part showing. 1. Disabled individual This element is not at issue. Brink’s concedes, for purposes of summary judgment, that Ms. Beard is disabled for purposes of the ADA. Brink’s Motion at 15. 2. Otherwise qualified individual Regarding the second element of the prima facie failure-to-accommodate claim, the ADA prohibits a “covered entity” from “discriminat[ing] against a qualified individual on the basis of disability.” 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a). “The term ‘qualified individual’ means an individual who, with or without reasonable accommodation, can perform the essential functions of the employment position that such individual holds or desires.” 42 U.S.C. § 12111(8) (emphasis Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 15 of 29
16 added). At the outset, the court notes that the summary judgment record is marked by a lack of clarity on several points: (1) what position Brink’s had offered Ms. Beard in May/June 2021, and (2) the extent to which her restrictions may have prevented her from carrying out the essential functions of that position. As for the latter point, though, it is undisputed that, after June 15, 2021, Ms. Beard was restricted by her physician to no lifting over 10 pounds, limited bending and twisting, and no crouching or crawling. ECF No. 1-2 at 2. And the record reflects no dispute that Ms. Beard had ably performed her work for Brink’s in the past. She had worked as a turret guard—under restrictions similar to those she received in June 2021—with nothing to indicate that she failed to carry out the essential functions of that position. Notably, too, Ms. Beard’s supervisors offered to be a reference for her when they thought that she had been let go. Still, Brink’s argues that Ms. Beard was not qualified. Its argument hinges on the fact that Dr. Sacha wrote in his notes from his June 15, 2021 appointment that Ms. Beard had said that “she does want permanent restrictions. She is going to look for a new sedentary type job. She does not feel that she can do her prior job.” ECF No. 76-2 at 33. Additionally, Brink’s points to Ms. Beard’s deposition testimony, where she is asked about Dr. Sacha’s notes and does not fully deny what Dr. Sacha recounted. See Brink’s Motion at 10 (citing Beard Dep. at 121:9-13, 121:23-122:19, 123:6-18). Whether or not Dr. Sacha’s notes and Ms. Beard’s statements are persuasive evidence for Brink’s to highlight at trial, they do entitle it to judgment as a matter of law. The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals recently addressed a very similar situation, in which the employer argued that the plaintiff’s claimed reasonable accommodations were undercut by her statements in Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 16 of 29
17 applications for long-term disability and social security disability benefits, “in which she swore under oath that was unable to perform her job.” Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1013. The Court emphasized that the plaintiff’s seemingly contradictory positions “present[ed] a question for a jury”: When faced with a plaintiff’s previous sworn statement asserting “total disability” or the like, the court should require an explanation of any apparent inconsistency with the necessary elements of an ADA claim. To defeat summary judgment, that explanation must be sufficient to warrant a reasonable juror’s concluding that, assuming the truth of, or the plaintiff’s good-faith belief in, the earlier statement, the plaintiff could nonetheless “perform the essential functions” of her job, with or without “reasonable accommodation.” Id. (quoting Cleveland v. Policy Mgmt. Sys. Corp., 526 U.S. 795, 807 (1999)). Here, Ms. Beard testified that she believed she could return to a position at Brink’s if given the necessary accommodations. See Beard Dep. 136:3-8; see also 42 U.S.C. § 12111(8) (an individual may be qualified for purposes of the ADA “with or without reasonable accommodation”) (emphasis added). A reasonable jury could accept that explanation, particularly where it is undisputed that Brink’s itself offered Ms. Beard a job and tried to schedule her for work on June 7, 2021—an undisputed fact notably at odds with its current argument that she was not qualified. Construing these facts in a light most favorable to Ms. Beard, a reasonable jury could conclude that she was otherwise qualified. 3. Reasonable accommodation Next, Ms. Beard must show that there is a triable issue regarding whether she requested a reasonable accommodation. Initially, the court must assess whether Ms. Beard requested an accommodation because “[a]n employer cannot be liable for failing to accommodate a disability if it is unaware of the need for an accommodation.” Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1006. “[T]he term ‘reasonable accommodation’ refers to those accommodations which presently, or in the near Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 17 of 29
18 future, enable the employee to perform the essential functions of his job.” Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1205 (internal quotation marks omitted). “The determination of whether a requested accommodation is reasonable must be made on the facts of each case taking into consideration the particular individual's disability and employment position.” Punt, 862 F.3d at 1050 (internal quotation marks omitted). Brink’s argues that Ms. Beard did not request any accommodations before June 7, 2021, the date she was ordered to return to work.5 The record evidence does show that, at that time, Ms. Beard did not provide Brink’s a list of specific restrictions that a doctor had prescribed as necessary to accommodate her disability, but the evidence also shows that it would have been impossible for her to do so until she met with her doctor for a scheduled appointment on June 15, 2021. Until that day, Ms. Beard did not know exactly what her then-physical limitations were or what accommodations she would need to perform a job at Brink’s. Recall, too, that until on or around May 14, 2021, she had been on a complete work restriction for more than a year; Ms. Brinks has presented evidence showing that that restriction was removed not because her doctor thought it medically prudent6 but at her request because she believed the restriction was no longer necessary in light of her apparent termination from Brink’s7 and her plan to transition into 5 Rather, as will be discussed below, Brink’s emphasizes the fact that Ms. Beard had been fully cleared for work on or about May 18, 2021. See May 2021 Release; see also Brink’s Motion at 9, 20. 6 Whether the physician’s actions in this regard were consistent with a professional standard of care is not an issue this court need address here. 7 Brink’s insists that Ms. Beard should have immediately recognized that she was still a Brink’s employee and had not been terminated once Rice-Minor notified her that the April 2021 Letter was sent in error. See Brink’s Motion at 17. But there is a clear fact dispute on that point, precipitated by Brink’s self-professed mistakes—see ECF No. 76-2 at 27—and representations Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 18 of 29
19 a less physically-demanding job. When Brink’s reached out on May 19, 2021, to ask about her interest in returning to work, Ms. Beard explained that she believed she could return, but with limitations, and that she would not know what those were until she had followed up with her doctor on June 15, 2021. Beard Dep. 109:16-25, 110:12-21, 115:9-14. Brink’s did not give her that opportunity. Put simply, the facts in the record here would allow a jury to conclude that Ms. Beard asked Brink’s for a reasonable accommodation in the form of delaying her return to work a mere eight days—from June 7 to June 15, 2021—until she could confer with her workers’ compensation physician about an accommodation that would allow her to resume work at Brink’s. Cf. Aubrey, 975 F.3d at (recognizing that “[i]t is well-settled that a request for leave may lead to a ‘reasonable’ accommodation,” and concluding that the plaintiff’s request for an additional six weeks to attend a scheduled appointment with a neurologist was not “opened- ended” so as to render it an unreasonable accommodation) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). By requesting a reasonable accommodation, Ms. Beard triggered the requirement that Brink’s engage in the interactive process contemplated by the ADA. “To facilitate the reasonable accommodation, ‘[t]he federal regulations implementing the ADA envision an interactive process that requires participation by both parties.’” Bartee v. Michelin N. Am., Inc., 374 F.3d 906, 916 (10th Cir. 2004) (quoting Templeton v. Neodata Servs., Inc., 162 F.3d 617, 619 (10th Cir. 1998)). And “[w]hile the exact shape of this interactive dialogue will necessarily vary from situation to situation and no rules of universal application can be articulated, the interactive process necessarily includes good-faith communications concerning Ms. Beard’s employment status—see April 2021 Letter. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 19 of 29
20 between the employer and employee.” Id. (cleaned up). Once the interactive process is triggered, an employer has “a duty to engage . . . in a good faith effort to identify the precise limitations resulting from the disability and potential reasonable accommodations that could overcome those limitations.” Id. (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). On this record, a jury could find that Brink’s failed to engage in an interactive process with Ms. Beard to determine if there was a reasonable accommodation that would have enabled her to perform the essential functions of a job at Brink’s. Construing the evidence in the light most favorable to Ms. Beard, as the court must, the interactive process broke down when Brink’s insisted that Ms. Beard return to work on June 7, 2021—disregarding her request to defer her return-to-work date for a few days until she could see her physician and present to Brink’s specific information concerning what tasks she could perform and what accommodations she would need to perform them. “Ultimately, the problem in this case was that [Brink’s] did not engage in this interactive process, or at least there is certainly evidence from which a reasonable jury could find that to be the case.” See Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1007-08; see also Bartee, 374 F.3d at 916 (“Michelin did not inquire about his restrictions or about the accommodations that he needed to perform the planning position.”). It may be that Ms. Beard shares some blame for the interactive process stalling out—she did refuse to speak with Rice-Minor after a certain point, see Beard Dep. 118:24-119:2—but that only highlights the existence of a fact dispute that renders summary judgment inappropriate. The evidence presented on the summary judgment record here could allow a reasonable jury to find that Ms. Beard requested a plausibly reasonable accommodation. That accommodation might have quickly resulted in her ability to identify further accommodations Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 20 of 29
21 that would have permitted her to return, in the near future, to performing the essential functions of a job at Brink’s—even if in a different position than the one she previously had. See 42 U.S.C. § 12111(9)(B); see also Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1012 (“If the employee is unable to return to her previous job, reassignment to a vacant position can be a reasonable accommodation and is particularly amenable to consideration during a genuine interactive process between the employee and employer.”). Ms. Beard has met her burden on the third element of her prima facie claim. 4. No accommodation There is no dispute that Ms. Beard established the fourth element of her prima facie claim: that Brinks did not provide any accommodation. See Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1013. * * * In sum, Ms. Beard presented sufficient evidence to establish a prima facie failure-to- accommodate claim. With that, the burden shifts to Brink’s “to present evidence either (1) conclusively rebutting one or more elements of the plaintiff’s prima facie case or (2) establishing an affirmative defense, such as undue hardship or one of the other affirmative defenses available to the employer.” Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1204 (internal quotation marks omitted). Brink’s has not adduced sufficient evidence to conclusively rebut any elements of this claim. Neither has it presented evidence to establish an affirmative defense, including undue hardship—which, the court notes, would create a patent facial conflict with the undisputed evidence showing that Brink’s had allowed Ms. Beard to be on leave for more than a year with no apparent compromise to its interests. Indeed, Brink’s Motion does not mention an affirmative defense to either Ms. Beard’s failure-to-accommodate or disability discrimination claims. See Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 21 of 29
22 Brink’s Motion at 18-20.8 The court finds the evidence here sufficient for Ms. Beard’s failure-to- accommodate claim to survive summary judgment and to put the question in the hands of a jury. This court, therefore, respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment be denied in part, insofar as it seeks summary judgment summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s failure-to-accommodate claim. C. Discrimination Because of Disability Ms. Beard has also alleged that Brink’s engaged in discrimination against her because of her disability. “Different than a failure-to-accommodate claim, to recover on a discrimination claim, a plaintiff must prove that the defendant acted with a discriminatory animus against her because she had a disability.” Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1014 (cleaned up). When there is no direct evidence of such animus—none is timely alleged here—courts must apply the McDonnell- Douglas burden-shifting framework. Id. (citing Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1192); see also McDonnell- Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802-03 (1973). At the first step of the McDonnell-Douglas analysis, Ms. Beard must demonstrate a prima facie case of disability discrimination. To do that, she must show “(1) that she is disabled within the meaning of the ADA; (2) that she is qualified for the job held or desired; and (3) that she was discriminated against because of her disability.” Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1192 (cleaned up). As discussed above in connection with the failure-to-accommodate claim, Ms. Beard has satisfied her burden on the first two elements. “As for the third element, the ADA defines ‘discrimination’ 8 Brink’s raises as affirmative defenses Ms. Beard’s failure to administratively exhaust—which has already been addressed—and the “Ellerth /Faragher” defense to Ms. Beard’s harassment/hostile work environment claims. Brink’s Motion at 22-23. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 22 of 29
23 to include ‘not making reasonable accommodations to the known physical . . . limitations of an otherwise qualified individual.’” Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1014 (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(5)(A); citing Smith, 180 F.3d at 1161). Having already concluded that a jury could find that Brink’s failed to accommodate Ms. Beard, Ms. Beard met her burden on the third element. With Ms. Beard having established a prima facie case, the burden shifts to Brink’s to articulate a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for its actions. See E.E.O.C. v. C.R. England, Inc., 644 F.3d 1028, 1038 (10th Cir. 2011). To meet its burden on this prong of McDonnell- Douglas, Brink’s makes three points: (1) Ms. Beard failed to return to work despite the May 2021 Release; (2) she did not provide any written restrictions from any doctor in the May/June 2021 timeframe for Brink’s to consider; and (3) she “dogged[ly]” refused to engage in the interactive process with Rice-Minor. Brink’s Motion at 20. It is Ms. Beard’s burden to show that Brink’s justifications were a pretext for disability discrimination: A plaintiff may show pretext by demonstrating the proffered reason is factually false, or that discrimination was a primary factor in the employer’s decision. This is often accomplished by revealing weakness, implausibilities, inconsistencies, incoherencies, or contradictions in the employer’s proffered reason, such that a reasonable fact finder could deem the employer’s reason unworthy of credence. Lincoln, 900 F.3d at 1193 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted). The court finds that Ms. Beard has adduced sufficient evidence to create a triable issue regarding pretext, and that a reasonable jury could find that Brink’s reasons for addressing Ms. Beard’s disability in the manner which it did were “unworthy of credence” because they were inaccurate, implausible, inconsistent, contradictory, or motivated by discriminatory animus. Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 23 of 29
24 First, Brink’s reliance on the May 2021 Release is tenuous and subject to dispute. Ms. Beard presented evidence showing that the Release was issued by her workers’ compensation physician during a time when Ms. Beard believed that she had been terminated from Brink’s and anticipated pursuing other, more sedentary forms of employment. Per her testimony contained in the record here, her doctor issued the May 2021 Release because she asked him to, not because he had concluded that she could be cleared without restrictions for the type of work she previously had performed at Brink’s. Brink’s, however, instantly seized upon the Release, telling Ms. Beard that, really, she was not actually terminated and would be placed on the work schedule. Ms. Beard immediately responded and explained how the Release had come about; confirmed that, in order to work at a job like her former position at Brink’s, she would need accommodations, and asked Rice-Minor for a minimal amount of time to obtain new information from her physician. Beard Dep. 110:12-21, 115:9-14. From this timeline, which includes conflicting messages and actions on Brink’s part, a reasonable fact-finder could conclude that Brink’s supposed reliance on the May 2021 Release was not a legitimate basis for refusing to accommodate Ms. Beard. Brink’s second reason—that Ms. Beard did not provide any written restrictions from any doctor in the May/June 2021 timeframe for Brink’s to evaluate—is accurate. Nevertheless, a jury might reasonably conclude that this was the result of a situation of Brink’s own contrivance that evinces a discriminatory animus toward Ms. Beard, given that Brinks’s denied her request for just a few more days’ time that would have enabled her to provide the restrictions it now faults her for omitting. See Aubrey, 975 F.3d at 1915 (finding the potential for a conclusion of discriminatory animus where the employer “did not contact Aubrey for months, waiting until less Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 24 of 29
25 than twenty-four hours before the hearing to notify Aubrey of the hearing and the need for her to present updated medical information, waiting until the hearing to ask if she had a return-to-work certification, and then not allowing her the usual two weeks given other employees to obtain medical documentation to support her requested accommodations”). Third, Ms. Beard has presented evidence to dispute the contention that she “dogged[ly]” refused to engage in the interactive process with Rice-Minor. In the deposition of Rice-Minor (which Ms. Beard herself conducted), Rice-Minor testified that she had no recollection of ever having spoken with Ms. Beard, despite Ms. Beard’s presentation of her cell phone records reflecting calls to Rice-Minor’s number. ECF No. 78-2 at 11:7-17, 19:16-20; 21:1-6, 46:13- 47:17. Here, again, is evidence to reasonably support a jury’s conclusion that Brink’s actions— through its designated human resources representative Rice-Minor—were calculated to thwart Ms. Beard’s efforts to obtain an accommodation and were thus a pretext for discrimination. To sum up, the evidence, when viewed in Ms. Beard’s favor, is sufficient to create a question of fact as to whether Brink’s proffered reasons for failing to accommodate Ms. Beard’s disability were pretextual. See Clayton v. Vanguard Car Rental U.S.A., Inc., 761 F. Supp. 2d 1210, 1261 (D.N.M. 2010) (“Because the Court believes that a reasonable factfinder could find Vanguard’s proffered reason for its action rationally unworthy of credence, because of the inconsistencies and contradictions in Vanguard’s proffered legitimate reasons for Clayton’s termination, . . . the Court finds that there is a genuine issue of material fact whether Vanguard’s proffered legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for terminating Clayton is pretextual.”). To find otherwise would be to countenance one side’s telling of events over the other’s, thus requiring the court to weigh the credibility of witnesses, resolve uncertain timelines, and ultimately Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 25 of 29
26 determine what was reasonable under the circumstances. These are not proper endeavors on summary judgment. Therefore, the court respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment be denied in part, insofar as it seeks summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s disability discrimination claim. D. Retaliation for Requesting an Accommodation Ms. Beard additionally brings a claim of retaliation, ECF No. 1 at 14, which this court liberally construes as based on her request for a reasonable accommodation. To establish a prima facie case of ADA retaliation, a plaintiff must prove that (1) she engaged in a protected activity; (2) she was subjected to an adverse employment action subsequent to or contemporaneous with the protected activity; and (3) there was a causal connection between the protected activity and the adverse employment action. See Foster v. Mountain Coal Co., LLC, 830 F.3d 1178, 1186–87 (10th Cir. 2016) (citing Anderson v. Coors Brewing Co., 181 F.3d 1171, 1178 (10th Cir. 1999)). If the plaintiff can demonstrate a prima facie case for retaliation, the Court again analyzes her claim using the McDonnell Douglas burden-shifting framework: the burden shifts to the defendant to present a legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for its action, and if the defendant successfully does so, then the burden shifts back to the plaintiff to demonstrate that disability was a determinative factor in the defendant’s employment decision, or that the proffered explanation was merely pretext. See McDonnell Douglas Corp., 411 U.S. at 802–04. Unlike with the failure-to-accommodate and disability discrimination claims, the court finds that Ms. Beard has failed to meet her burden to establish a prima facie case of retaliation. While she can make out the first element because a request for accommodation is a protected Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 26 of 29
27 activity, Hurt, 664 F. Supp. 3d at 1242, there is no evidence in the record to support a jury finding that she suffered an adverse employment action, which requires “a significant change in employment status, such as hiring, firing, failing to promote, reassignment with significantly different responsibilities, or a decision causing a significant change in benefits.” Annett v. Univ. of Kansas, 371 F.3d 1233, 1237 (10th Cir. 2004) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). In May or June 2021, Ms. Beard was not terminated, reassigned, nor did she experience a significant change in benefits. Indeed, she was on a lengthy period of unpaid leave prior to that point, and she remained on unpaid leave for more than two years thereafter. During that time, she found employment elsewhere. The court has located no precedent supporting the concept that a failure to accommodate alone constitutes an adverse employment action; indeed, in the only Tenth Circuit case referencing the issue that this court has found, the Tenth Court declined to adopt such a rule. Exby-Stolley v. Bd. of Cnty. Comm’rs, Weld Cnty., Colo., 906 F.3d 900, 918 (10th Cir. 2018), opinion vacated on reh’g en banc sub nom. on other grounds Exby-Stolley v. Bd. of Cnty. Comm’rs, 979 F.3d 784 (10th Cir. 2020) (en banc). In rejecting the argument “that all failures to accommodate are adverse employment actions,” see id., the Court distinguished the cases cited by the plaintiff. Id. (discussing Colwell v. Rite Aid Corp., 602 F.3d 495 (3d Cir. 2010), and Williams v. Phila. Hous. Auth. Police Dep’t, 380 F.3d 751 (3d Cir. 2004)). As for Colwell, the Tenth Circuit expressed doubt whether [the Third Circuit was] asserting that all failures to make reasonable accommodations are necessarily adverse employment decisions. But if that is the thrust of the statement, the opinion contains no analysis of the statutory language or any other support for that proposition; and the point was irrelevant to the rest of the opinion. Id. (emphasis in original); see also id. (further noting that, “to the extent that dictum in [Colwell Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 27 of 29
28 and Williams] is contrary to our view, we are not persuaded”). The Court likewise observed that Williams failed to grapple with the specific language in the ADA requiring that the discrimination must be “in regard to job application procedures, the hiring, advancement, or discharge of employees, employee compensation, job training, [or] other terms, conditions and privileges of employment.” Id. (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a)). Failure to accommodate, obviously, is not included on this list. Existing precedent, then, provides no support for this court to find that a failure to accommodate, in and of itself—which is all Ms. Beard advances here—constitutes an adverse employment action. Because Ms. Beard has come forward with no evidence indicating the existence of an adverse action, there is no evidence from which a jury could find that she has established a prima facie retaliation claim. Accordingly, the court respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment be granted in part, insofar as it seeks summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s retaliation claim. II. Ms. Beard’s Motion for Summary Judgment The court has already determined—while construing the facts in Ms. Beard’s favor—that Brink’s is entitled to summary judgment on Ms. Beard’s Title VII and ADA hostile work environment claims as well as her ADA retaliation claim and that there are genuine issues of material fact on her failure to accommodate and disability discrimination claims. By concluding that genuine issues of material fact remain on Ms. Beard’s surviving claims, the court cannot grant judgment as a matter of law to either party. See Buell Cabinet Co. v. Sudduth, 608 F.2d 431, 433 (10th Cir. 1979) (“Cross-motions for summary judgment are to be treated separately; the denial of one does not require the grant of another. The existence of any genuine issue as to Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 28 of 29
29 any material fact precludes the grant of summary judgment.”) (cleaned up). Accordingly, the court respectfully RECOMMENDS that Ms. Beard’s Motion for Summary Judgment be denied. CONCLUSION Consistent with the above, this court respectfully RECOMMENDS that Brink’s Motion for Summary Judgment (ECF No. 76) be granted in part and denied in part and Ms. Beard’s Motion for Summary Judgment (ECF No. 78) be denied.9 DATED: September 13, 2024 BY THE COURT: Susan Prose United States Magistrate Judge 9 Rule 72 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides that within fourteen (14) days after service of a Magistrate Judge’s order or recommendation, any party may serve and file written objections with the Clerk of the United States District Court for the District of Colorado. 28 U.S.C. §§ 636(b)(1)(A), (B); Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(a), (b). Failure to make any such objection will result in a waiver of the right to appeal the Magistrate Judge’s order or recommendation. See Sinclair Wyo. Ref. Co. v. A & B Builders, Ltd., 989 F.3d 747, 782 (10th Cir. 2021) (firm waiver rule applies to non-dispositive orders); but see Morales-Fernandez v. INS, 418 F.3d 1116, 1119, 1122 (10th Cir. 2005) (firm waiver rule does not apply when the interests of justice require review, including when a “pro se litigant has not been informed of the time period for objecting and the consequences of failing to object”). Case No. 1:22-cv-01850-WJM-SBP Document 102 filed 09/13/24 USDC Colorado pg 29 of 29
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.