2:24-cv-02131•Guinn v. Social Security Administration Commissioner
Full text
1 IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN DISTRICT OF ARKANSAS FORT SMITH DIVISION TRACY LANAL GUINN PLAINTIFF v. CIVIL NO. 24-2131 LELAND DUDEK,1 Acting Commissioner Social Security Administration DEFENDANT MAGISTRATE JUDGE’S REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION Plaintiff, Tracy Lanal Guinn, brings this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), seeking judicial review of a decision of the Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (Commissioner) denying her claims for a period of disability and disability insurance benefits (DIB) under the provisions of Title II of the Social Security Act (Act). In this judicial review, the Court must determine whether there is substantial evidence in the administrative record to support the Commissioner's decision. See 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). I. Procedural Background: Plaintiff protectively filed her current application for DIB on August 24, 2021, alleging an inability to work since October 1, 2020, due to Bell’s Palsy, nausea, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), general anxiety disorder and depression. (Tr. 71, 190). An administrative telephonic hearing was held on July 12, 2023, at which Plaintiff appeared with counsel and testified. (Tr. 38- 69). 1 Leland Dudek, has been appointed to serve as Acting Commissioner of the Social Security Administration, and is substituted as Defendant pursuant to Rule 25(d)(1) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 1 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
2 By written decision dated October 13, 2023, the ALJ found that during the relevant time period, Plaintiff had an impairment or combination of impairments that were severe. (Tr. 19). Specifically, the ALJ found Plaintiff had the following severe impairments: obesity, mild degenerative changes of the cervical spine, major depressive disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, and PTSD. However, after reviewing all of the evidence presented, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s impairments did not meet or equal the level of severity of any impairment listed in the Listing of Impairments found in Appendix I, Subpart P, Regulation No. 4. (Tr. 21). The ALJ found Plaintiff retained the residual functional capacity (RFC) to: [P]erform medium work as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(c) except able to perform work where interpersonal contact is incidental to work performed, e.g., assembly work, complexity of tasks is learned and performed by rote, few variables, little judgment, and supervision required is simple, direct, and concrete. (Tr. 23). With the help of a vocational expert, the ALJ determined Plaintiff could perform other work as a hand packager, an industrial cleaner, and a store laborer. (Tr. 30). Plaintiff then requested a review of the hearing decision by the Appeals Council, who denied that request on August 22, 2024. (Tr. 1-6). Subsequently, Plaintiff filed this action. (ECF No. 2). Both parties have filed appeal briefs, and the case is before the undersigned for report and recommendation. (ECF Nos. 9, 11). The Court has reviewed the entire transcript. The complete set of facts and arguments are presented in the parties’ briefs and are repeated here only to the extent necessary. II. Applicable Law: The court reviews “the ALJ’s decision to deny disability insurance benefits de novo to ensure that there was no legal error that the findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence on the record as a whole.” Brown v. Colvin, 825 F. 3d 936, 939 (8th Cir. 2016). Substantial evidence is less than a preponderance, but it is enough that a reasonable mind would find it Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 2 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
3 adequate to support the Commissioner’s decision. Biestek v. Berryhill, 139 S.Ct. 1148, 1154 (2019). We must affirm the ALJ’s decision if the record contains substantial evidence to support it. Lawson v. Colvin, 807 F.3d 962, 964 (8th Cir. 2015). As long as there is substantial evidence in the record that supports the Commissioner’s decision, the court may not reverse it simply because substantial evidence exists in the record that would have supported a contrary outcome, or because the court would have decided the case differently. Miller v. Colvin, 784 F.3d 472, 477 (8th Cir. 2015). In other words, if after reviewing the record it is possible to draw two inconsistent positions from the evidence and one of those positions represents the findings of the ALJ, the court must affirm the ALJ’s decision. Id. It is well established that a claimant for Social Security disability benefits has the burden of proving her disability by establishing a physical or mental disability that has lasted at least one year and that prevents her from engaging in any substantial gainful activity. Pearsall v. Massanari, 274 F.3d 1211, 1217 (8th Cir. 2001); see also 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). The Act defines “physical or mental impairment” as “an impairment that results from anatomical, physiological, or psychological abnormalities which are demonstrable by medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques.” 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(3). A Plaintiff must show that her disability, not simply her impairment, has lasted for at least twelve consecutive months. The Commissioner’s regulations require him to apply a five-step sequential evaluation process to each claim for disability benefits: (1) whether the claimant has engaged in substantial gainful activity since filing her claim; (2) whether the claimant has a severe physical and/or mental impairment or combination of impairments; (3) whether the impairment(s) meet or equal an impairment in the listings; (4) whether the impairment(s) prevent the claimant from doing past relevant work; and, (5) whether the claimant is able to perform other work in the national economy Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 3 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
4 given her age, education, and experience. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. Only if the final stage is reached does the fact finder consider the Plaintiff’s age, education, and work experience in light of her residual functional capacity. See McCoy v. Schweiker, 683 F.2d 1138, 1141-42 (8th Cir. 1982), abrogated on other grounds by Higgins v. Apfel, 222 F.3d 504, 505 (8th Cir. 2000); 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. III. Discussion: In her appeal brief, Plaintiff claims the ALJ’s disability determination is not supported by substantial evidence in the record. (ECF No. 9). Plaintiff raises the following issues on appeal: A) The ALJ erred in failing to fully and fairly develop the record; B) The ALJ erred at Step Two of the sequential analysis; and C) The ALJ erred in determining Plaintiff’s RFC. Defendant argues the ALJ properly considered all the evidence, and that the decision is supported by substantial evidence. (ECF No. 11). The Court will consider each of Plaintiff’s arguments. A. Duty to Develop the Record: The ALJ has the duty to fully and fairly develop the record, even where the Plaintiff is represented by counsel. If a physician's report of a claimant's limitations is stated only generally, the ALJ should ask the physician to clarify and explain the stated limitations. See Vaughn v. Heckler, 741 F. 2d 177, 179 (8th Cir. 1984). Furthermore, the ALJ is required to order medical examinations and tests if the medical records presented do not provide sufficient medical evidence to determine the nature and extent of a claimant's limitations and impairments. See Barrett v. Shalala, 38 F. 3d 1019, 1023 (8th Cir. 1994). The ALJ must develop the record until the evidence is sufficiently clear to make a fair determination as to whether the claimant is disabled. See Landess v. Weinberger, 490 F. 2d 1187, 1189 (8th Cir. 1974). In addition, a claimant must show not only that the ALJ failed to fully and fairly develop the record, but she must also show that she was Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 4 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
5 prejudiced or treated unfairly by the ALJ's failure. See Onstad v. Shalala, 999 F.2d 1232, 1234 (8th Cir. 1993). Plaintiff claims that the ALJ erred by failing to fully and fairly develop the medical record regarding Plaintiff’s alleged impairments and the ALJ should have obtained an additional neurological consultative examination. (ECF No. 9). Initially, the Court notes Plaintiff has failed to establish that the medical records presented did not provide sufficient medical evidence to determine the nature and extent of her limitations and impairments. See Barrett v. Shalala, 38 F.3d 1019 at 1023. While the ALJ has an independent duty to develop the record in a social security disability hearing, the ALJ is not required “to seek additional clarifying statements from a treating physician unless a crucial issue is undeveloped.” Stormo v. Barnhart, 377 F.3d 801, 806 (8th Cir. 2004). Likewise, the ALJ is not required to order a consultative evaluation of every alleged impairment; he simply has the authority to do so if the existing medical sources do not contain sufficient evidence to make an informed decision. See Matthews v. Bowen, 879 F.2d 422, 424 (8th Cir. 1989). Thus, the proper inquiry for this Court is not whether a consultative examination should have been ordered; rather, it is whether the record contained sufficient evidence for the ALJ to make an informed decision. See Id. After reviewing the entire 892-page administrative record, the Court finds nothing which establishes the record was inadequate for the ALJ to make his decision. The medical record includes treating physician records; four non-examining medical consultant opinions; two consultative mental evaluations; an assessment from Plaintiff’s therapist; physical exam reports; and objective testing to include x-rays, MRIs, and case analysis. A review of the medical record also shows Plaintiff’s Bell’s Palsy was noted as stable with medication. (Tr. 419- 420, 422, 694). Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 5 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
6 Further, Plaintiff must not only show the ALJ failed to fully and fairly develop the record, but that she was prejudiced or treated unfairly by the ALJ’s alleged failure to develop the record. Plaintiff has made no demonstration that any further record development would have changed the outcome of the ALJ’s determination. Accordingly, Plaintiff has failed to demonstrate that the record was not fully developed and that she was prejudiced by any perceived failure to develop the record. B. Step Two Analysis: A claimant suffers from a severe impairment if that impairment is more than slight and if that impairment affects the claimant’s ability to do his or her basic work activities. See Householder v. Bowen, 861 F.2d 191, 192 n.1 (8th Cir. 1988). The Supreme Court has also held that a claimant does not suffer from a severe impairment where the claimant only suffers from “slight abnormalities that do not significantly limit any ‘basic work activity.’” See Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 155 (1987) (O’Connor, S., concurring); see also Brown v. Bowen, 827 F.2d 311, 311-12 (8th Cir. 1987) (adopting Justice O’Connor’s language from Bowen v. Yuckert); see also Kirby v. Astrue, 500 F.3d 705, 707-09 (8th Cir. 2007). Plaintiff argues the ALJ erred in failing to find Plaintiff’s Bell’s Palsy, trigeminal neuralgia, right arm sensory neuropathy, left shoulder joint arthrosis and headaches to be severe impairments. (ECF No. 9, p. 6). In determining Plaintiff’s severe impairments, the ALJ addressed several alleged impairments (gastroesophageal reflux disease, chest pain with negative cardiac workup, Bell’s Palsy, low back pain, benign hypertension, headaches, mild sensory neuropathy of the right upper extremity, and mild left shoulder AC arthrosis), but found the evidence supported a conclusion that these impairments would impose no more than a minimal effect on her ability to perform basic work activities. The ALJ further found Plaintiff’s alleged trigeminal neuralgia was not a medically Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 6 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
7 determinable impairment. In doing so, the ALJ acknowledged that trigeminal neuralgia was a diagnosis when Plaintiff established care with Dr. Christopher Orendorff in January of 2019;2 however, he also noted that subsequent diagnosis, symptoms and treatment for trigeminal neuralgia were not found in the medical evidence of record for the time period in question. (Tr. 21, 441). In making these severity findings, the ALJ noted that medical records revealed these alleged impairments were stabilized with medication and treatment and did not significantly limit Plaintiff’s ability to perform basic work activity. Johnston v. Apfel, 210 F.3d 870, 875 (8th Cir. 2000) (alleged impairments may not be considered severe when they are stabilized by treatment and otherwise are generally unsupported by the medical record). While the ALJ did not find every medical diagnosis to be a severe impairment, the ALJ specifically and thoroughly discussed the alleged impairments in the decision, and clearly stated that he considered all of Plaintiff’s impairments, including the impairments that were found to be non-severe. Parker v. Kijakazi, No. 4:21-CV-00547-NCC, 2022 WL 3585610, at *4 (E.D. Mo. Aug. 22, 2022) (even if the ALJ erred in failing to find an alleged impairment severe, the error was harmless in light of the ALJ’s consideration of the impairment in the RFC analysis). After reviewing the record as a whole, the Court finds the ALJ did not commit reversible error in setting forth Plaintiff’s severe impairments during the relevant time period. C. RFC Determination: Plaintiff argues the ALJ erred in determining Plaintiff retained the RFC to perform medium work with limitations. (ECF No.9, p. 8). However, after review, the Court finds substantial evidence supporting the ALJ's RFC determination. 2 The Court notes trigeminal neuralgia is also a diagnosis in Dr. Orendorff’s treatment notes dated August 28, 2019, and December 16, 2019. (Tr. 433, 437). After December of 2019, this is no longer a diagnosis of trigeminal neuralgia. Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 7 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
8 Prior to Step Four of the sequential analysis in a disability determination, the ALJ is required to determine a claimant's RFC. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv). RFC is the most a person can do despite that person’s limitations. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1). It is assessed using all relevant evidence in the record. Id. This includes medical records, observations of treating physicians and others, and the claimant’s own descriptions of her limitations. Guilliams v. Barnhart, 393 F.3d 798, 801 (8th Cir. 2005); Eichelberger v. Barnhart, 390 F.3d 584, 591 (8th Cir. 2004). Limitations resulting from symptoms such as pain are also factored into the assessment. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(3). The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit has held that a “claimant’s residual functional capacity is a medical question.” Lauer v. Apfel, 245 F.3d 700, 704 (8th Cir. 2001). “Because a claimant’s RFC is a medical question, an ALJ’s assessment of it must be supported by some medical evidence of the claimant’s ability to function in the workplace.” Cox v. Astrue, 495 F.3d 614, 619 (8th Cir. 2007). However, there is no requirement that an RFC finding be supported by a specific medical opinion. See Myers v. Colvin, 721 F.3d 521, 526-27 (8th Cir. 2013) (affirming RFC without medical opinion evidence). Furthermore, this Court is required to affirm the ALJ's RFC determination if that determination is supported by substantial evidence on the record as a whole. See McKinney v. Apfel, 228 F.3d 860, 862 (8th Cir. 2000). Based upon this standard and a review of Plaintiff's records and allegations in this case, the Court cannot find Plaintiff has demonstrated having any greater limitations than those found by the ALJ. While Plaintiff disagrees with the ALJ’s reasoning when discussing the evidence, Plaintiff does not point to any evidence in the record that the ALJ should have considered, but failed to consider, in calculating Plaintiff’s RFC. The ALJ provided a thorough summary of Plaintiff's medical records and subjective complaints in this matter. (Tr. 17-31). The ALJ addressed Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 8 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
9 a form Plaintiff completed in October of 2021 indicating that she was able to prepare simple meals, do some cleaning and indoor chores, drive, shop by mail and in stores, spend time with family, and pay bills. The ALJ also noted that in this form Plaintiff did not report any exertional or postural restrictions or difficulty walking, but did report difficulty with memory, concentration and following instructions. While Plaintiff indicated that she was trying to get disability for her stress and anxiety in September of 2021, a review of the medical record reveled Plaintiff was found to interact appropriately, have normal muscle strength and tone, have normal gait and station, have normal speech, organized and coherent thoughts, intact associations, fair judgment, adequate insight, adequate recent and remote memory, adequate attention span and concentration, sad mood and flat affect on October 26, 2022, November 30, 2022, December 21, 2022, March 15, 2023, and April 19, 2023. (Tr. 419, 746-750 760-764, 776-780, 794-798, 834-838). The mere fact Plaintiff suffers from a number of impairments does not demonstrate she has more limitations than those found in the RFC assessment above. In his opinion, the ALJ considered Plaintiff's alleged impairments and discounted those he found were not credible. (Tr. 17-31). The ALJ considered the results of objective diagnostic tests and examination findings and discussed these in the decision. Id. The ALJ also considered the findings of medical consultants and treating medical providers and considered Plaintiff's testimony and function reports in assessing the RFC. Regarding the medical opinions, the ALJ articulated the supportability and consistency of each opinion with the record as a whole and determined the level of persuasiveness. The ALJ also took Plaintiff’s obesity into account when determining that Plaintiff could perform medium work. Heino v. Astrue, 578 F.3d 873, 881-882 (8th Cir. 2009) (when an ALJ references the claimant's obesity during the claim evaluation process, such review may be sufficient to avoid reversal). Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 9 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
10 Plaintiff has the burden of establishing her claimed RFC. See Perks v. Astrue, 687 F. 3d 1086, 1092 (8th Cir. 2012) (burden of persuasion to demonstrate RFC and prove disability remains on claimant). Because Plaintiff has not met this burden in this case and because the ALJ's RFC determination is supported by sufficient medical evidence, this Court finds the ALJ's RFC determination should be affirmed. IV. Conclusion: Based on the foregoing, the undersigned recommends affirming the ALJ's decision, and dismissing Plaintiff's case with prejudice. The parties have fourteen days from receipt of our report and recommendation in which to file written objections pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1). The failure to file timely objections may result in waiver of the right to appeal questions of fact. The parties are reminded that objections must be both timely and specific to trigger de novo review by the district court. DATED this 20th day of March 2025. /s/____________________________________ HON. CHRISTY COMSTOCK UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE Case 2:24-cv-02131-TLB Document 12 Filed 03/20/25 Page 10 of 10 PageID #: <pageID>
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.