ECLI:EU:C:1981:25•Opinion of Mr Advocate General Reischl delivered on 29 January 1981. # Alain de Briey v Commission of the European Communities. # Dismissal of temporary staff. # Case 25/80.
Opinion of Mr Advocate General Reischl delivered on 29 January 1981. # Alain de Briey v Commission of the European Communities. # Dismissal of temporary staff. # Case 25/80.
ECLI:EU:C:1981:25Eu CjeuJan 29, 1981
Full text
OPINION OF MR ADVOCATE GENERAL REISCHL
DELIVERED ON 29 JANUARY 1981 ( 1 )
Mr President,
Members of the Court,
The applicant in the case on which I shall give my views today entered the service of the Commission as a temporary servant in Grade A 3 on a two-year contract which was concluded on 14 July 1975 and took effect on 15 August 1975. Initially he was employed as Head of the Administration and Personnel Division at the Joint Nuclear Research Centre in Ispra. From 16 March 1977 he worked at the Joint Nuclear Research Centre in Petten as Head of the Administration and Infrastructure Division. His original contract of employment was replaced on 26 May 1977 by a contract for an indefinite period concluded pursuant to the combined provisions of Articles 2 (d) and 8 of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants. Clause 5 of that contract, which took effect on 1 November 1976, allowed employment to be terminated in accordance with Articles 47 to 50 of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants; under those provisions the period of notice required depended on the length of service (one month for each year of service subject to a minimum of three months and a maximum of ten months). As the applicant's 12-year-old son, who was seriously ill with heart disease, needed to undergo an operation in the USA which in fact led to his death a few months later, the applicant was assigned to the Commission's delegation in Washington with effect from 15 February 1978 in order to enable him to stay near his son. During that period (in April 1978) he was the victim of a street assault and received severe gunshot wounds. This resulted in a partial permanent invalidity for which compensation calculated initially at 20% and later at 27% was paid to him in pursuance of Article 73 of the Staff Regulations.
At the beginning of September 1978 the applicant resumed work in Petten. Several memoranda were sent to him during the course of that year criticizing the manner in which he was performing his duties, and he was subsequently notified by a letter dated 1 February 1979 from the Director-General of the Joint Research Centre that his employment was to be terminated with effect from 15 May 1979. His dismissal did not in fact take effect until 15 August 1979 because the applicant was sick and therefore his period of notice commenced running later in accordance with Article 47 (2) (a) of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants.
The applicant submitted a complaint against his dismissal on 27 April 1979. This was rejected by a decision of 17 October 1979 notified to the applicant on 25 October 1979.
Thereupon the applicant appealed to the Court of Justice on 16 January 1980. His conclusions, as amended by his reply, request the Court to :
|
1. |
Annul the decision dismissing him notified by the letter of 1 February 1979 from the Director-General of the Joint Research Centre; |
|
2. |
In the alternative, Order that the dismissal decision shall not take effect until the Council of Ministers has taken a decision on a proposal from the Commission to amend the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants (as regards the protection of dismissed temporary staff against the risks of unemployment, sickness and invalidity), or at least until the defendant has arranged for the applicant to be covered against such risks, and order that his contract shall meanwhile continue in force with retroactive effect from 15 August 1979; |
|
3. |
In the further alternative, Order the defendant to adopt such measures as are necessary to enable the applicant to enjoy from the date on which his contract expires social protection in accordance with that laid down for temporary servants in the defendant's proposal for a regulation amending the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants or, at least, order the defendant to adopt the measures necessary to enable the applicant to enjoy from the above-mentioned date social protection in the form in which it will be provided by a Council regulation to be adopted as a result of the defendant's proposal; |
|
4. |
In the still further alternative, Declare that the applicant should have been granted a period of notice of 10 months; Consequently, order the defendant to pay the applicant by way of compensation a sum equal to six and a half months' remuneration with interest thereon at the rate of 8% per annum from 15 August 1979; |
|
5. |
In any event, Annul the decision rejecting the complaint submitted by the applicant on 27 April 1979. |
The Commission contends that the Court should dismiss the application.
My views on the submissions of the parties are as follows:
|
1. |
It is common ground that the applicant's contract of employment was terminated because his employer came to the conclusion that the applicant was not sufficiently competent to perform the duties entrusted to him. First and foremost, the applicant considers that assessment to be incorrect. He claims that since the Commission — which has the burden of proof in this matter — has produced insufficient evidence, his dismissal cannot be legally valid. The critical memorandum drafted by his superior in January 1978, to which particular importance appears to have been attached, can under no circumstances be sufficient. In the reply which he sent in February 1978 he refuted in detail the charges made against him and that reply has at no point been rejected. Furthermore, the memorandum was written a year before his dismissal, whereas under the terms of that memorandum the applicant was to be allowed a further chance to prove himself. This is clear from the final sentence of the memorandum which states: “Consequently, I urgently request you to take the division in hand and deal in an effective manner with the real problems”. The memorandum cannot therefore be relied upon in order to justify his dismissal; instead, it should have been made clear to the applicant that his performance was still unsatisfactory at subsequent dates. For that purpose the memorandum of 5 October 1978 did not suffice because it did not contain any further explanations; furthermore, at that time the applicant had been back from the USA for only one month, a period which could not be considered sufficient to enable him to prove himself. Finally, the applicant criticizes the memorandum of January 1978 on the ground of incongruity. If he is to be criticized for lack of authority, it must not be overlooked that his superior contributed considerably thereto himself by frequently by-passing the applicant and dealing directly with his staff. Also, when the memorandum refers to the applicant's lack of management skills, the question arises why the appointing authority did not — in accordance with its duty of assistance — arrange for the applicant to attend appropriate training courses.
|
|
2. |
The applicant's next claim — although not repeated in his reply — is to the effect that, because his employment was terminated for imcompetence, it was necessary to observe Article 51 of the Staff Regulations, which provides that the reasons on which the dismissal is based are to be communicated and an opportunity given to make any comments thereon. Furthermore, the decision to dismiss him should have been taken in accordance with the disciplinary procedure laid down by Annex IX to the Staff Regulations, involving in particular the intervention of the Disciplinary Board. That procedure should at least have been considered, according to the applicant, because the system established by Article 2 (d) of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants replaced the conditions laid down by the Staff Regulations and because to a large extent such staff — in any event this is so in the applicant's case — performed for an indefinite period the same duties as Community officials. However, I agree with the Commission that the applicant's view cannot be accepted on this point either and that the dismissal procedure cannot be declared defective in reliance upon the provisions cited above. It is quite clear that there can be no question of a direct application of the provisions referred to. As their wording indicates, they are quite plainly intended for officials. Article 11 of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants does indeed make some reference to the Staff Regulations of Officials. It does not, however, cite Article 51 of the Staff Regulations, just as in Article 49 of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants — in the case of dismissal on disciplinary grounds — no reference is made to the procedure laid down by Annex XI to the Staff Regulations. Nor can there be any question of an application by analogy in reliance upon the principle of equal treatment. It is not in fact relevant whether certain servants and officials carry out similar duties; the crucial point is rather that officials enjoy a degree of security of employment which is not to be found in the case of other servants and that that difference in their respective situations permits differential treatment as regards the termination of employment. However, in so far as the issue in this case is merely whether the rights of the defence were observed in the case of the applicant, that is to say whether account was taken of a principle which the Court has held to be of general application, at least where a serious violation of the rights of the individual is in issue, there are scarcely grounds for criticism. As early as the end of 1977 and the beginning of 1978 the applicant's attention was drawn to the unsatisfactory level of his performance (cf. in particular the memorandum of January 1978 which has already been considered in detail) and, in addition, he received critical memoranda on 5 October and 13 November 1978. The applicant was able to express his views thereon in several conversations with his superiors and also in a number of written statements already referred to. It is therefore clear that he was sufficiently informed of his alleged inadequacies, that he was able to defend himself and accordingly that the procedure preceding his dismissal took its proper course. |
|
3. |
In his third and final submission the applicant relies on a number of general principles such as the duty of assistance and the principles of equity and social security, and alleges a wrongful omission on the part of the Commission and a misuse of its power of dismissal. The applicant takes the view — this point has already arisen in another context — that the termination of his employment on the ground of his alleged lack of management skills should be regarded as unlawful because the Commission, in breach of its duty of assistance, failed to enrol the applicant on a special management course. In any event, the period of notice given was too short because it was equal only to the minimum period provided for by Article 47 of the Conditions of Employment of Other Servants. Finally, he argues that his dismissal could not be ordered, or at least could not take effect, until rules had also been adopted for the Community ensuring cover on termination of employment against the risk of unemployment, sickness and invalidity. At the very least, the Commission is obliged in his particular case to take steps to cover him against such risks.
“Article 28a A former member of the temporary staff who after the expiry of his contract is eligible for unemployment benefit or who would be eligible if he were not suffering from incapacity for work shall be covered against sickness and maternity risks under the compulsory social security scheme of the country in which he establishes his residence as regards :
Where the former member of the temporary staff is entitled to the benefits referred to in the second indent of the foregoing paragraph, his dependants shall be entitled to the same benefits. The control, payment and reimbursement procedures shall be similar to those described in the second sentence of Article 28b. Article 28b A former member of the temporary staff shall be entitled to unemployment benefit under the compulsory unemployment insurance scheme in the Community country in which he establishes his residence. He shall be subject to the control and payment procedures laid down by the scheme; the institution shall reimburse the scheme for the sum paid in benefits.” In this regard it must first be observed that the applicant's arguments concerning the compensation paid under Article 73 of the Staff Regulations and the nature of the severance grant are valid. Moreover, the following observations must be made:
In this regard it must be borne in mind that in principle such an order might be possible even though it was not expressly applied for. For one thing, it is possible to take the view that such claim is implied by the wording of the applicant's pleadings. Furthermore, it should be remembered that the Court of Justice has repeatedly proceeded on the basis of the principle that in disputes involving pecuniary claims, in which the Court has unlimited jurisdiction, it may award compensation of its own motion. In that connexion I refer to the judgment of 9 July 1980 in Case 23/69 {Fiehn v Commission [1970] ECR 547, at p. 559) or to the judgment of 5 June 1980 in Case 24/79 (Oberthiir v Commission [1980] ECR 1743). So far as concerns the main problem at issue here — that is to say, whether social protection of the kind envisaged by the applicant must be regarded as an essential requirement on the termination of insecure employment —, the line of argument put forward by the applicant does not appear to be particularly helpful or convincing. That is true of his reference to the very general principle of equity which was not shown to be relevant to the precise area with which the Court is concerned in this case. It is also true of the duty of assistance which, even going beyond the wording of Article 24 of the Staff Regulations, has never been regarded under Community law as having such far-reaching consequences in the field of social security and concerning which — in so far as national law is concerned — an interpretation to that effect was not proven. It is also true of the principle of social security, on which point the applicant confined himself to the claim that social security existed in all the Member States and that it was the aim of the Community to ensure social progress and social protection, in which case it might have been expected that — with the aid of a detailed study of comparative law — it would be shown that a certain level of social protection on the termination of insecure employment could be established as a common principle of the laws of the Member States or at least of the most progressive. However, if we ignore that fact and endeavour to clarify the position ourselves, it must first be observed that under the labour law of the Member States no principle may be discerned which requires the employer to arrange cover against the risk of sickness or invalidity even beyond the period of employment. This seems in general to be a matter for the employee himself, except in cases where unemployment insurance or social assistance intervenes. However, as regards insurance against the risk of unemployment the position seems to be rather different. Admittedly there is no general principle in the laws of the Member States which requires that all persons seeking employment should be insured in that way and receive assistance if they are unsuccessful in their efforts. None the less, the laws of all the Member States — pursuant to the European Code of Social Security of 16 April 1964 — provide that employed persons are to be insured in that way and are to enjoy on certain conditions protection guaranteeing a reasonable income for a certain period on termination of their employment. Moreover, that also applies to persons employed in the public service in so far as they do not enjoy security of employment. In the Member States of the Community, they are covered either by the general scheme of unemployment insurance (or a branch of it) or by a similarly organized scheme. Consequently, it would have been natural to lay down equivalent rules for Community servants in so far as their employment was not permanent, particularly since the national schemes do not as a rule — with the exception of pure social assistance, which is not equivalent and so does not concern us here — extend to unemployed former Community servants, owing to the particular conditions which they lay down (completion of a certain period of employment within the country concerned, payment of insurance contributions for social security or unemployment benefit). The fact that there is no protection of that kind for Community servants can in my view be regarded as nothing less than an intolerable lacuna. There would have been cause to close that lacuna, at least from 1976, when there was a considereable extension of employment on a contractual basis to areas such as administration where such a need is not immediately apparent. If this had been undertaken in good time, a satisfactory solution could no doubt have been found despite all the technical difficulties outlined in the oral procedure. The fact that no action was taken can, having regard to the standard which social security law has now attained in all the Member States, only be described as a serious deficiency and, consequently, as a wrongful omission on the part of the responsible Community institutions. In dealing with the specific cases which arise, the necessary consequences must now be attached to that omission by awarding appropriate compensation. As far as the assessment of compensation in the present case is concerned, we have heard that the applicant is apparently still unemployed and that under Belgian law he has not been able to take out voluntary insurance against the risk of unemployment. In this regard the Court has a certain degree of discretion in the exercise of which it may assume that Community rules would be modelled on the common principles of national law and may thus rely on certain criteria to be derived from those principles. One important criterion under national law is that the conferment of benefits is subject to completion of a certain period of employment or of affiliation to the unemployment insurance scheme. The periods in question — the minimum period of employment varies between 75 and 600 days and the period of affiliation to the social security scheme between 26 weeks and two years — warrant the immediate conclusion that the applicant, who was in the service of the Community for approximately three and a half years, cannot be allowed to remain without compensation even though he was previously self-employed. It is also significant that the laws of most Member States provide that the insured person is himself to make contributions and hence make payments in order to protect himself against the risk of unemployment. Any future Community scheme may also be expected to involve such payments; consequently, this must likewise be taken into account in assessing the amount of compensation. Finally, it is also important to mention that unemployment benefit is paid only for a limited period — varying between six and 18 months but generally about one year — and that it usually represents a certain percentage of the individual's previous salary — in the Federal Republic of Germany, for example, 68% of the previous remuneration, in Luxembourg 80% of the final gross salary subject to certain upper limits, in Denmark 90% of final income. Clearly, account must also be taken of such considerations. In view of the foregoing the view might be taken in the present case, which concerns a former servant in Grade A 3 commanding a relatively high salary, that compensation amounting to roughly 80% of his final annual basic salary is appropriate. However, I hesitate to propose at this point that judgment should be given to that effect. An essential requirement for such a judgment is that the applicant should actually have been unemployed following his dismissal from the service of the Community. A further requirement is that he should have endeavoured to find other employment without success, in which regard it must also be considered that before entering the service of the Community he was a self-employed business consultant. The present proceedings have not yet sufficiently clarified those points. Further clarification should be sought and then, following a declaration of principle that a wrongful omission on the part of the institutions has occurred, a settlement by mutual agreement may be achieved. Consequently, I propose that the Court should merely give a partial and interlocutory judgment. |
|
4. |
I therefore conclude by proposing that the Court should decide that none of the claims pleaded by the applicant is well founded; however, it should also declare as a matter of principle that there has been a wrongful omission on the part of the institutions because a scheme for protection against the risk of unemployment on termination of employment on a contractual basis was not introduced into Community law in good time. However, liability to pay compensation amounting to 80% of the applicant's final annual basic salary can only arise if it is proved beyond doubt that following the termination of his employment the applicant was unemployed for at least one year and endeavoured without success to find appropriate employment. A period should be specified within which the applicant is to furnish such proof. The parties would then have to inform the Court of the state of their dispute and of any settlement which may be reached on the question of compensation. Accordingly, costs may be reserved for the time being. |
( 1 ) Translated from the German.
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.