6:24-cv-01226•Ross v. Commissioner of Social Security
Texto completo
1 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK ____________________________________ THOMAS R., Plaintiff, v. 6:24-CV-01226 (LEK/DJS) FRANK BISIGNANO, Acting Commissioner of Social Security, Defendant. ____________________________________ APPEARANCES: OF COUNSEL: HILLER COMERFORD INJURY & JUSTIN M. GOLDSTEIN, DISABILITY LAW ESQ. Attorney for Plaintiff 6000 North Bailey Avenue - Suite 1a Amherst, New York 14226 U.S. SOCIAL SECURITY ADMIN. CANDACE BROWN CASEY, OFFICE OF REG’L GEN. COUNSEL ESQ. Attorney for Defendant 6401 Security Boulevard Baltimore, Maryland 21235 DANIEL J. STEWART United States Magistrate Judge REPORT-RECOMMENDATION AND ORDER1 Plaintiff brought this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) seeking review of a decision by the Commissioner of Social Security that Plaintiff was not disabled. Dkt. 1 This matter was referred to the undersigned for a report-recommendation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b) and N.D.N.Y.L.R. 72.3(e). Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 1 of 12
2 No. 1. Currently before the Court are Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings and Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings. Dkt. Nos. 11, 15, & 16. For the reasons set forth below, it is recommended that Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings be granted, and Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings be denied. The Court, therefore, recommends that the matter be remanded for further proceedings. I. RELEVANT BACKGROUND A. Factual Background Plaintiff was born in 1969. Dkt. No. 8, Admin. Tr. (“Tr.”) at p. 206. He has a tenth-grade education. Tr. at pp. 35-36. He has past work experience as a delivery driver, handyman, concrete truck driver, and order filler. Tr. at pp. 36, 38, 40, & 211. Plaintiff alleges disability based upon degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine with radiculopathy, deep venous thrombosis, and saddle pulmonary embolism. Tr. at pp. 58 & 210. B. Procedural History Plaintiff applied for disability and disability insurance benefits on May 10, 2022. Tr. at p. 56. He alleged a disability onset date of March 17, 2022. Tr. at p. 56. Plaintiff’s application was initially denied on January 4, 2023. Tr. at p. 84. Reconsideration was denied on April 27, 2023, Tr. at pp. 97-104, after which Plaintiff requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”), Tr. at pp. 105-106. Plaintiff appeared at a hearing before ALJ Kenneth Theurer on March 7, 2024, at which Plaintiff and a Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 2 of 12
3 vocational expert testified. Tr. at pp. 30-55. On March 19, 2024, the ALJ issued a written decision finding Plaintiff was not disabled. Tr. at pp. 16-25. On August 9, 2024, the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s request for review, thereby making the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the Commissioner. Tr. at pp. 1-7. C. The ALJ’s Decision In his decision, the ALJ made the following findings of fact and conclusions of law. First, the ALJ found that Plaintiff met the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act on September 30, 2023. Tr. at p. 18. Second, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not engage in substantial gainful activity during the period from his alleged onset date of March 17, 2022, through his date last insured of September 30, 2023. Id. Third, the ALJ found that, through the date last insured, Plaintiff had the following severe impairments: deep venous thrombosis, saddle pulmonary embolism, hernia, and degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine. Id. Fourth, the ALJ found that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that met or medically equaled the severity of one of the listed impairments in 20 C.F.R. § 404, Subpart P, App. 1 (the “Listings”). Tr. at p. 19. The ALJ then found that Plaintiff had the residual functional capacity to perform less than the full range of light work, and more specifically: he could occasionally lift and carry twenty pounds, frequently lift and carry ten pounds, sit for up to six hours, and stand or walk for approximately six hours in an eight-hour day with normal breaks. He could occasionally climb ramps or stairs; never climb ladders, Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 3 of 12
4 ropes or scaffolds; and occasionally balance, stoop, kneel, crouch, and crawl. Id. The ALJ then found that Plaintiff was unable to perform his past relevant work. Tr. at p. 23. Next, the ALJ found that transferability of job skills was “not material to the determination of disability because using the Medical-Vocational Rules as a framework supports a finding that the [Plaintiff] is ‘not disabled,’ whether or not the [Plaintiff] has transferable job skills.” Tr. at p. 24. The ALJ then determined that, based on Plaintiff’s age, education, work experience, and residual functional capacity, there were jobs that existed in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff could have performed. Tr. at pp. 24-25. The ALJ, therefore, concluded that Plaintiff was not under a disability at any time from March 17, 2022, the alleged onset date, through September 30, 2023, the date last insured. Tr. at p. 25. II. RELEVANT LEGAL STANDARDS A. Standard of Review A court reviewing a denial of disability benefits may not determine de novo whether an individual is disabled. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g); Wagner v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 906 F.2d 856, 860 (2d Cir. 1990). Rather, the Commissioner’s determination will be reversed only if the correct legal standards were not applied, or it was not supported by substantial evidence. See Johnson v. Bowen, 817 F.2d 983, 986 (2d Cir. 1987) (“Where there is a reasonable basis for doubt whether the ALJ applied Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 4 of 12
5 correct legal principles, application of the substantial evidence standard to uphold a finding of no disability creates an unacceptable risk that a claimant will be deprived of the right to have her disability determination made according to the correct legal principles.”); accord Grey v. Heckler, 721 F.2d 41, 46 (2d Cir. 1983); Marcus v. Califano, 615 F.2d 23, 27 (2d Cir. 1979). “Substantial evidence” is evidence that amounts to “more than a mere scintilla,” and has been defined as “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971). Where evidence is deemed susceptible to more than one rational interpretation, the Commissioner’s conclusion must be upheld. Rutherford v. Schweiker, 685 F.2d 60, 62 (2d Cir. 1982). “To determine on appeal whether the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence, a reviewing court considers the whole record, examining evidence from both sides, because an analysis of the substantiality of the evidence must also include that which detracts from its weight.” Williams v. Bowen, 859 F.2d 255, 258 (2d Cir. 1988). If supported by substantial evidence, the Commissioner’s finding must be sustained “even where substantial evidence may support the plaintiff’s position and despite that the court’s independent analysis of the evidence may differ from the [Commissioner’s].” Rosado v. Sullivan, 805 F. Supp. 147, 153 (S.D.N.Y. 1992). In other words, this Court must afford the Commissioner’s determination considerable deference, and may not substitute “its own judgment for that of the [Commissioner], even if it might justifiably Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 5 of 12
6 have reached a different result upon a de novo review.” Valente v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 733 F.2d 1037, 1041 (2d Cir. 1984). B. Standard to Determine Disability The Commissioner has established a five-step evaluation process to determine whether an individual is disabled as defined by the Social Security Act. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520, 416.920. The Supreme Court has recognized the validity of this sequential evaluation process. Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 140-42 (1987). The five-step process is as follows: First, the [Commissioner] considers whether the claimant is currently engaged in substantial gainful activity. If he is not, the [Commissioner] next considers whether the claimant has a “severe impairment” which significantly limits his physical or mental ability to do basic work activities. If the claimant suffers such an impairment, the third inquiry is whether, based solely on medical evidence, the claimant has an impairment which is listed in Appendix 1 of the regulations. If the claimant has such an impairment, the [Commissioner] will consider him disabled without considering vocational factors such as age, education, and work experience; the [Commissioner] presumes that a claimant who is afflicted with a “listed” impairment is unable to perform substantial gainful activity. Assuming the claimant does not have a listed impairment, the fourth inquiry is whether, despite the claimant’s severe impairment, he has the residual functional capacity to perform his past work. Finally, if the claimant is unable to perform his past work, the [Commissioner] then determines whether there is other work which the claimant could perform. Under the cases previously discussed, the claimant bears the burden of the proof as to the first four steps, while the [Commissioner] must prove the final one. Berry v. Schweiker, 675 F.2d 464, 467 (2d Cir. 1982); accord McIntyre v. Colvin, 758 F.3d 146, 150 (2d Cir. 2014). “If at any step a finding of disability or non-disability can Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 6 of 12
7 be made, the SSA will not review the claim further.” Barnhart v. Thompson, 540 U.S. 20, 24 (2003). III. ANALYSIS Plaintiff raises two claims of error for review in this proceeding. First, Plaintiff claims that the ALJ erred in his evaluation of the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo by failing to articulate the evidence in relation to the supportability and consistency factors and by failing to accurately describe Plaintiff’s work requirements following his injury. Dkt. No. 11, Pl.’s Mem. of Law at pp. 10-21. Second, Plaintiff claims that the ALJ erred by failing to evaluate the medical opinions and prior administrative medical findings pursuant to revised regulations. Id. at pp. 21-24. Defendant responds that the ALJ properly analyzed Plaintiff’s disability claim and that the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence. Dkt. No. 15, Def.’s Mem. of Law at pp. 5-16. With regard to the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo, the ALJ found these opinions less persuasive because they were issued in 2020 or 2021 and thus were rendered prior to the alleged onset date of May 17, 2022, and were not supported by examination findings since the alleged onset date. Tr. at pp. 22-23. Additionally, the ALJ found these opinions inconsistent with other evidence in the record since the alleged onset date, including the objective medical evidence, as well as Plaintiff’s negative clinical findings and limited treatment history. Id. Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 7 of 12
8 Initially, the Court recognizes that, in determining whether the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo are persuasive, it would be acceptable for the ALJ to consider whether or not these opinions were rendered before the alleged onset date, as “[m]edical evidence that predates the alleged disability onset date is ordinarily not relevant to evaluating a claimant’s disability.” Melissa R. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2021 WL 4844153, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Oct. 18, 2021). Additionally, it would be reasonable for the ALJ to consider whether these opinions are supported by examination findings since the alleged onset date and consistent with other evidence in the record since the alleged onset date. See, e.g., Adams v. Saul, 2020 WL 1526918, at *7 (W.D.N.Y. Mar. 31, 2020) (“[T]he subsequent medical evidence in the record . . . does not support the finding of a marked limitation in any . . . exertional requirements.”). Significantly, however, the ALJ noted that, after Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo rendered their opinions in 2020 and 2021, Plaintiff “was able to perform heavy work” and, in doing so, the ALJ misstated the record. Tr. at p. 23. More specifically, the ALJ stated that Plaintiff “worked for Tractor Supply” “[f]rom April 2021 to March 2022” and “testified that his work for Tractor Supply required lifting 75 to 100 pounds.” Id. Instead, the record reflects that Plaintiff began working for Tractor Supply in 2018 and that, while Plaintiff’s job duties originally required working on his feet and lifting between 75 to 100 pounds, following Plaintiff’s alleged injury in 2020, Plaintiff was put on “light duty.” Tr. at pp. 39-45 & 196-99. Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 8 of 12
9 Further, Plaintiff testified that “light duty” consisted of him “watching people work” and “making sure the lines didn’t get clogged” while “sit[ting] in the chair,” and Plaintiff confirmed that he did not do any lifting in this role. Tr. at pp. 44-45. Where an ALJ mischaracterizes testimony, such mischaracterizations may “render[] the ALJ’s conclusions . . . unsupported by substantial evidence,” thereby warranting remand. Joyner v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2009 WL 5214949, at *6 (N.D.N.Y. Dec. 28, 2009); see also Lloyd v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 335 F. Supp. 3d 472, 479 (W.D.N.Y. 2018) (holding that an ALJ’s mischaracterization of testimony in the record is “improper and cannot constitute a good reason for rejecting the opinion of a . . . physician”). For example, in Joyner v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., the court held that it was reversible error for the ALJ to state in his decision “that [p]laintiff could lift 20 pounds with his left arm and up to 20 pounds with his right arm before his shoulder hurts” where the plaintiff “actually testified that he d[id] not lift heavy things.” 2009 WL 5214949, at *4 (emphasis added). Similarly, in Lugo v. Chater, the court reversed, remanded, and held that “[t]he ALJ erred . . . by mischaracterizing [plaintiff’s] own testimony” where the ALJ stated that the plaintiff “does housework and uses public transportation” as a basis to bolster the ALJ’s skepticism about plaintiff’s reports of pain and this statement was “simply wrong” because plaintiff “testified that he did not do housework and was unable to take public transportation by himself because of his vision.” 932 F.Supp. 497, 503 (S.D.N.Y.1996) (emphasis in original). Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 9 of 12
10 Here, like in Joyner and Lugo, in stating that Plaintiff “was able to perform heavy work” “after the . . . 2020 and 2021 opinions were rendered,” Tr. at p. 23, the ALJ misstated the record because Plaintiff testified that, while his job duties at Tractor Supply originally required working on his feet and lifting between 75 to 100 pounds, following his alleged injury in 2020, he was put on “light duty” and did not do any lifting. Tr. at pp. 23 & 39-45. Furthermore, the ALJ appears to have improperly relied on his misunderstanding of the record to discredit the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo. Tr. at pp. 22-23 (“I also note that after the above 2020 and 2021 opinions were rendered, the claimant was able to perform heavy work.”). Defendant asserts that “the ALJ’s misstatement about the exertional level of Plaintiff’s work activity prior to the alleged onset date is not a reason for remand” because the medical opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo “had little probative value” and “the ALJ otherwise provided sufficient reasons for finding these medical opinions unpersuasive or less persuasive.” Def.’s Mem. of Law at p. 15. However, because “[t]he ALJ did not provide a logical bridge between the evidence and [his] conclusions,” the Court is “unable to fathom the ALJ’s rationale in relation to the evidence in the record.” Dezarea W. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2023 WL 2552452, at *1 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 17, 2023) (citations and quotations omitted) (cleaned up). Instead, the ALJ’s opinion “requires the [C]ourt to guess,” Rebecca S. v. O’Malley, 2024 WL 3298956, at *5 (N.D.N.Y. Apr. 15, 2024), report and Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 10 of 12
11 recommendation adopted sub nom. Rebecca S. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2024 WL 2889127 (N.D.N.Y. June 10, 2024), how heavily the ALJ relied on his mischaracterization of Plaintiff’s work requirements to discredit the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo. “This Court cannot determine whether a proper analysis would have altered [the] ALJ[’s] conclusion.” Id. (citations omitted). As such, the ALJ’s error is not harmless, and remand is warranted so that the ALJ can provide “further findings or a clearer explanation for the decision” that “articulate[s] how [the ALJ] relied on or rejected [the] evidence, and how [he] reached [the] determination.” Dezarea W. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 2023 WL 2552452, at *1 (citations and quotations omitted). Accordingly, the Court recommends that the matter be remanded for reconsideration and further explanation of the ALJ’s evaluation of the opinions of Doctors Distefano, Kircher, and Qandah and Physician Assistant Carangelo in light of the record evidence. IV. CONCLUSION ACCORDINGLY, it is RECOMMENDED, that Plaintiff’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings be GRANTED; and it is further RECOMMENDED, that Defendant’s Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings be DENIED; and it is further Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 11 of 12
12 RECOMMENDED, that Defendant’s decision denying Plaintiff disability benefits be REMANDED pursuant to sentence four; and it is further ORDERED, that the Clerk of the Court shall serve copies of this Report- Recommendation and Order on the parties. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1), the parties have fourteen (14) days within which to file written objections to the foregoing report. Such objections shall be filed with the Clerk of the Court . FAILURE TO OBJECT TO THIS REPORT WITHIN FOURTEEN (14) DAYS WILL PRECLUDE APPELLATE REVIEW. Roldan v. Racette, 984 F.2d 85, 89 (2d Cir. 1993) (citing Small v. Sec’y of Health and Human Servs., 892 F.2d 15 (2d Cir. 1989)); see also 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1); FED . R. CIV . P. 72 & 6(a). Dated: October 29, 2025 Albany, New York Case 6:24-cv-01226-LEK-DJS Document 17 Filed 10/29/25 Page 12 of 12
Continue sua pesquisa no ChatGPT ou Claude
Conecte o Omnilex para pesquisar o corpus jurídico pelo seu assistente de IA.