5:25-cv-00108•Case Name in Social Security Case - Unavailable
Texto completo
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA STATESVILLE DIVISION CASE NO. 5:25-CV-108-KDB-DCK THIS MATTER IS BEFORE THE COURT on “Plaintiff’s Social Security Brief” (Document No. 6) and “Defendant’s Brief” (Document No. 7). This case has been referred to the undersigned Magistrate Judge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §636(b). After careful consideration of the written arguments, the administrative record, and applicable authority, the undersigned will respectfully recommend that the Commissioner’s decision be affirmed. BACKGROUND Plaintiff Stephanie McInnes (“Plaintiff”), through counsel, seeks judicial review of an unfavorable administrative decision on an application for disability benefits. (Document No. 1). Plaintiff filed applications for a period of disability and disability insurance benefits (“DIB”) on or about May 26, 2022, under Title II of the Social Security Act, and for supplemental security income (“SSI”) under Title XVI of the Social Security Act, both alleging an inability to work due to a disabling condition beginning on or about December 23, 2018. (Transcript of the Record of Proceedings (“Tr.”) 17). Plaintiff later amended the disability onset date to “July 16, 2020, consistent with the car accident that worsened Claimant’s migraines.” (Tr. 40, 300); see also (Document No. 6, p. 1). STEPHANIE MCINNES, ) ) Plaintiff, ) ) MEMORANDUM AND RECOMMENDATION v. ) ) COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, ) ) Defendant. ) ) Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 1 of 12
2 The Commissioner of Social Security (the “Commissioner” or “Defendant”) denied Plaintiff’s applications initially on February 15, 2023, and again after reconsideration on December 21, 2023. (Tr. 17, 107, 115, 119). In its “Notice of Reconsideration,” the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) included the following explanation of its decision: You said you were unable to work as of 12/23/2018 because of migraines, neck pain, carpal tunnel, insomnia, migraines, difficulty sleeping, and depression. Your condition results in some limitations in your ability to perform work related activities. We have determined that your condition is not severe enough to keep you from working. We considered the medical and other information, your age, education, and work experience in determining how your condition affects your ability to work. We do not have sufficient vocational information to determine whether you can perform any of your past relevant work. However, based on the evidence in file, we have determined that you can adjust to other work. (Tr. 121). Plaintiff filed a timely written request for a hearing on January 29, 2024. (Tr. 17, 122- 123). On June 13, 2024, Plaintiff appeared and testified at a hearing before Administrative Law Judge Valorie Stefanelli (the “ALJ”). (Tr. 17, 33-54). In addition, Amy Vuyovich, a vocational expert (“VE”), and Aaron Dalton, Plaintiff’s attorney, appeared at the hearing. Id. The ALJ issued an unfavorable decision on July 19, 2024, denying Plaintiff’s claim. (Tr. 17-27). On September 11, 2024, Plaintiff filed a request for review of the ALJ’s decision, which was denied by the Appeals Council on May 16, 2025. (Tr. 1, 172). The ALJ’s decision became the final decision of the Commissioner when the Appeals Council denied Plaintiff’s review request. (Tr. 1). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 2 of 12
3 Plaintiff’s “Complaint” seeking a reversal of the ALJ’s determination was filed in this Court on July 11, 2025. (Document No. 1). On August 5, 2025, the undersigned was assigned to this case as the referral Magistrate Judge. “Plaintiff’s Social Security Brief” (Document No. 6) was filed September 29, 2025; and “Defendant’s Brief” (Document No. 7) was filed October 29, 2025. “Plaintiff’s Social Security Reply Brief” (Document No. 8) was filed October 30, 2025. This matter is ripe for disposition, and therefore, a memorandum and recommendation to the Honorable Kenneth D. Bell is now appropriate. STANDARD OF REVIEW The Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) and § 1383(c)(3), limits this Court’s review of a final decision of the Commissioner to: (1) whether substantial evidence supports the Commissioner’s decision; and (2) whether the Commissioner applied the correct legal standards. Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 390 (1971); Hays v. Sullivan, 907 F.2d 1453, 1456 (4th Cir. 1990). The Fourth Circuit has made clear that it is not for a reviewing court to re-weigh the evidence or to substitute its judgment for that of the Commissioner – so long as that decision is supported by substantial evidence. Hays, 907 F.2d at 1456 (4th Cir. 1990); see also, Smith v. Schweiker, 795 F.2d 343, 345 (4th Cir. 1986); Hancock v. Astrue, 667 F.3d 470, 472 (4th Cir. 2012). “Substantial evidence has been defined as ‘more than a scintilla and [it] must do more than create a suspicion of the existence of a fact to be established. It means such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Smith v. Heckler, 782 F.2d 1176, 1179 (4th Cir. 1986) (quoting Perales, 402 U.S. at 401). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 3 of 12
4 Ultimately, it is the duty of the Commissioner, not the courts, to make findings of fact and to resolve conflicts in the evidence. Hays, 907 F.2d at 1456; King v. Califano, 599 F.2d 597, 599 (4th Cir. 1979) (“This court does not find facts or try the case de novo when reviewing disability determinations.”); Seacrist v. Weinberger, 538 F.2d 1054, 1056-57 (4th Cir. 1976) (“We note that it is the responsibility of the [Commissioner] and not the courts to reconcile inconsistences in the medical evidence, and that it is the claimant who bears the risk of nonpersuasion.”). “[A] reviewing court must uphold the determination when an ALJ has applied correct legal standards and the ALJ’s factual findings are supported by substantial evidence.” Peace v. Berryhill, 2019 WL 2406626, at *1 (4th Cir. June 7, 2019) (quoting Brown v. Comm’r Soc. Sec. Admin., 873 F.3d 251, 267 (4th Cir. 2017)). Indeed, so long as the Commissioner’s decision is supported by substantial evidence, it must be affirmed even if the reviewing court disagrees with the final outcome. Lester v. Schweiker, 683 F.2d 838, 841 (4th Cir. 1982). DISCUSSION The question before the ALJ was whether Plaintiff was under a “disability” as that term of art is defined for Social Security purposes, between July 16, 2020, and the date last insured, March 31, 2024.1 (Tr. 17-18, 27). To establish entitlement to benefits, Plaintiff has the burden of proving disability within the meaning of the Social Security Act. Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137, 146 n.5 (1987). The Social Security Administration has established a five-step sequential evaluation process for determining if a person is disabled. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a). The five steps are: 1 Under the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 301, the term “disability” is defined as an: inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. Pass v. Chater, 65 F.3d 1200, 1203 (4th Cir. 1995) (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A)). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 4 of 12
5 (1) whether claimant is engaged in substantial gainful activity - if yes, not disabled; (2) whether claimant has a severe medically determinable physical or mental impairment, or combination of impairments that meet the duration requirement in § 404.1509 - if no, not disabled; (3) whether claimant has an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals one of the listings in appendix 1, and meets the duration requirement - if yes, disabled; (4) whether claimant has the residual functional capacity (“RFC”) to perform her/his past relevant work - if yes, not disabled; and (5) whether considering claimant’s RFC, age, education, and work experience he/she can make an adjustment to other work - if yes, not disabled. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(i-v). The burden of production and proof rests with the claimant during the first four steps; if claimant is able to carry this burden, then the burden shifts to the Commissioner at the fifth step to show that work the claimant could perform is available in the national economy. Pass, 65 F.3d at 1203. In this case, the ALJ determined at the fifth step that Plaintiff was not disabled. (Tr. 24). First, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff had not engaged in any substantial gainful activity since July 16, 2020, the alleged disability onset date. (Tr. 19). At the second step, the ALJ found that Plaintiff’s “migraines/headache disorder” was a severe impairment.2 (Tr. 20). At the third step, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that met or medically equaled one of the impairments listed in 20 C.F.R. 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. (Tr. 21). 2 The determination at the second step as to whether an impairment is “severe” under the regulations is a de minimis test, intended to weed out clearly unmeritorious claims at an early stage. See Bowen v. Yuckert, 482 U.S. 137 (1987). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 5 of 12
6 Next, the ALJ assessed Plaintiff’s RFC and found that Plaintiff retained the capacity “to perform a full range of work at all exertional levels, but with the following nonexertional limitations:” never climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; able to work in a moderate noise environment; no concentrated exposure to vibration, extreme temperatures, or humidity; no concentrated exposure to respiratory irritants such as gases, fumes, or chemicals; no concentrated exposure to workplace hazards such as heights, or high-speed mechanical equipment. (Tr. 22). In making this finding, the ALJ “considered all symptoms and the extent to which these symptoms can reasonably be accepted as consistent with the objective medical evidence and other evidence, based on the requirements of 20 CFR 404.1529 and 416.929 and SSR 16-3p.” Id. At the fourth step, the ALJ held that Plaintiff could not perform past relevant work as hairdresser. (Tr. 25). At the fifth and final step, the ALJ concluded based on the testimony of the VE and “[c]onsidering the claimant’s age, education, work experience, and residual functional capacity” that jobs existed in significant numbers in the national economy that Plaintiff could perform. (Tr. 26). Specifically, the VE testified that according to the factors given by the ALJ, occupations Plaintiff could perform included a marker, a router, and a mail clerk. Id. Therefore, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not under a “disability,” as defined by the Social Security Act, between December 23, 2018, and the date of the decision, July 19, 2024. (Tr. 27). On appeal to this Court, Plaintiff alleges that the ALJ “erred by failing to discuss Plaintiff’s migraine journal in the ALJ’s RFC analysis.” (Document No. 6, p. 5). The undersigned will address this issue below. In the only assignment of error, Plaintiff argues that “the ALJ failed to address Plaintiff’s migraine log that details Plaintiff’s migraine frequency, duration, and symptoms from 2015 to May 10, 2024.” (Document No. 6, p. 14) (citing Tr. 288-299). Plaintiff acknowledges that the ALJ Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 6 of 12
7 questioned “Plaintiff about the migraine log at the hearing,” but states that “the ALJ decision neither discusses nor references Plaintiff’s migraine log.” Id. (citing Tr. 45-46). Plaintiff further argues that: The ALJ’s failure to acknowledge the migraine log in the decision harms Plaintiff because the migraine log provides a contemporary account of Plaintiff’s migraine frequency and symptoms that supports Plaintiff’s testimony and function reports, both of which the ALJ discounted as insufficiently supported by the record. AR 23. Furthermore, because the ALJ did not acknowledge the migraine log in the decision, it is unclear how, or whether, the ALJ evaluated the migraine log in crafting Plaintiff’s RFC. AR 22– 23. Plaintiff’s migraine log supports Plaintiff’s position that she would be off-task and/or absent outside of employer tolerances, which as VE Vuyovich testified, are no more than 10% time off-task during the workday and no more than one absence per month. AR 52. (Document No. 6, pp. 14-15). Plaintiff contends that even if the ALJ did not believe Plaintiff’s testimony regarding the frequency of the migraines, less frequent migraines would still preclude work. (Document No. 6, p. 15 (citing Tr. 52). In support of remand, Plaintiff also asserts that “ALJs should address migraine journals as part of the ALJ’s RFC analysis.” (Document No. 6, p. 7) (citing Wallace v. Colvin, 2016 WL 749042 (S.D.W.Va. Feb. 1, 2016). Plaintiff suggests that the ALJ’s failure to discuss the migraine log undercuts the ALJ’s responsibility to “build an accurate and logical bridge from the evidence of record to the ALJ’s conclusions.” (Document No. 6, pp. 8-9) (citing Monroe v. Colvin, 826 F.3d 176, 189-90 (4th Cir. 2016)). However, Plaintiff also acknowledges that “there is no rigid requirement that the ALJ specifically refer to every piece of evidence in [her] decision.” (Document No. 6, p. 9) (quoting Thomas v. Berryhill, 916 F.3d 307, 312 (4th Cir. 2019) (quoting Reid v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 769 F.3d 861, 865 (4th Cir. 2014)). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 7 of 12
8 In response, Defendant notes that “as Plaintiff admits, the ALJ specifically questioned Plaintiff about her migraine log during the administrative hearing.” (Document No. 7, p. 1) (citing Tr. 45-47). Defendant further notes that the “ALJ then accurately summarized in the decision the same subjective statements of disabling migraine-related limitations that appeared in Plaintiff’s migraine log.” Id. (citing Tr. 23). Therefore, Defendant contends that “the record plainly establishes that the ALJ considered Plaintiff’s migraine log when evaluating her case.” Id. (citing Tr. 23, 45-47). Defendant also asserts that “the ALJ generously accounted for Plaintiff’s migraine-related limitations in the residual functional capacity finding by restricting her to no climbing, a moderate noise environment, and no concentrated exposure to vibration, extreme temperatures, humidity, respiratory irritants, or workplace hazards.” Id. (citing Tr. 22). In addition, Defendant notes that the ALJ made at least two references to Plaintiff’s testimony, as well as multiple other references to the record, addressing her migraines. (Document No. 7, p. 4) (citing Tr. 23) (citing Tr. 238, 300-301 and Testimony). Defendant also agrees with Plaintiff that “the ALJ was not required to refer to every piece of evidence contained in the record.” Id. (citing Thomas v. Berryhill, 916 F.3d at 312). Defendant summarizes Plaintiff’s treatment history, as discussed by the ALJ, as follows. Plaintiff “went to went to see her medical providers when it was time to renew the prescriptions for her medication” (Tr. 23). In particular, the ALJ noted that Plaintiff requested migraine medication when she established care with a primary care provider in December 2019 (Tr. 23, citing Ex. 1F; Tr. 309). At that time, Plaintiff said medication worked well without side effects and she did not recount significant migraine complaints or symptoms. Id. Plaintiff returned to the provider in March 2021, at which time she “did not report to them the alleged severity of her migraine symptoms” (Tr. 23, citing 1F/2,5; Tr. 312). Rather, Plaintiff said she was “[o]verall feeling well” and she “requested a refill of her migraine medication and an additional prescription for ibuprofen” Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 8 of 12
9 (Tr. 23, citing 1F/5; Tr. 312-13). In July 2022, Plaintiff “reported that she did not take her migraine medication immediately upon onset of a migraine and was instructed not to delay taking her medication” (Tr. 23, citing 3F/1-2; Tr. 361-62). In March 2023, her last visit with a medical provider for migraines, Plaintiff “reported her migraines occurred intermittently, were aggravated by stress, that she had been taking medications and that the treatment provided significant relief” (Tr. 23, citing 4F/4; Tr. 368, 370). As the ALJ further observed, although Plaintiff “described her migraines as ‘debilitating’ to the consultative examiner, the claimant did not report this to her medical providers at any time” (Tr. 23, citing Ex. 8F; Tr. 400). (Document No. 7, p. 7) (citing Tr. 23). In forming the RFC, the ALJ actually “assessed greater restrictions” than the consultative examiner and state agency experts, “noting that the evidence of record, including claimant’s testimony, supports the addition of temperature limitations to the residual functional capacity”). (Document No. 7, pp. 7-8) (citing Tr. 24-25). Defendant further notes that Plaintiff has not offered any “contrary medical opinion suggesting that her migraines caused any work-related limitations (let alone work-preclusive ones).” (Document No. 7, p. 8). Defendant also observes that the ALJ discussed Plaintiff’s activities as follows: she reported that she was “able to complete most tasks associated with activities of daily living such as driving, preparing meals, watching TV, reading, and managing funds” (Tr. 21, citing Ex. 6E; Tr. 221-28, 239-53, 393, 401). She cared for her personal needs, her pets, and her elderly mother; shopped in stores; managed her finances; and enjoyed exercising, hiking, yoga, biking, and crafting. Id. Id. (citing Tr. 21). In conclusion, Defendant contends that the ALJ decision “built an accurate and logical bridge from the record to her fact-finding about Plaintiff’s migraine-related limitations” and that the evidence the ALJ relied on “easily surpassed the substantial evidence threshold.” (Document No. 7, pp. 8-9). Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 9 of 12
10 In reply, Plaintiff suggests that discussing the migraine log during the hearing and referencing Plaintiff’s testimony related to her migraines in the ALJ decision is insufficient. (Document No. 8, p. 2). Plaintiff contends that “[h]ad the ALJ evaluated Plaintiff’s migraine log in the written decision, it is reasonable to expect the outcome of the decision would be different because the migraine journal supports Plaintiff’s testimony and the decision as written provides no insight into how, or whether, the ALJ evaluated the journal.” Id. (Emphasis added). Plaintiff concludes that remand is required because there is an “entire class of evidence that the ALJ failed to discuss, namely, Plaintiff’s migraine journal that dates back to 2015.” (Document No. 8, p. 4); see also (Tr. 288-299). The undersigned finds Defendant’s arguments most persuasive. The ALJ decision here was entirely focused on Plaintiff’s only severe impairment, migraines/headache disorder. (Tr. 17-27). The ALJ opined that Plaintiff’s “medically determinable impairments could reasonably be expected to cause the alleged symptoms; however, the claimant’s statements concerning the intensity, persistence and limiting effects of these symptoms are not entirely consistent with the medical evidence and other evidence in the record for the reasons explained in this decision.” (Tr. 23). In the process of finding that Plaintiff was not under a disability during the relevant time period, the ALJ’s decision was supported by substantial evidence from the record, and the ALJ applied that evidence in determining Plaintiff’s RFC. The undersigned notes the following pertinent section of the decision. The evidence of record establishes that the claimant went to see her medical providers when it was time to renew the prescriptions for her medication. In one visit, the claimant reported that she did not take her migraine medication immediately upon onset of a migraine and was instructed not to delay taking her medication (3F/1-2). The last visit with a medical provider was in March 2023 Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 10 of 12
11 where the claimant reported her migraines occurred intermittently, were aggravated by stress, that she had been taking medications and that the treatment provided significant relief (4F/4). The record reflects that while the claimant described her migraines as “debilitating” to the consultative examiner, the claimant did not report this to her medical providers at any time (8F). In formulating the residual functional capacity above the undersigned has considered the medical evidence of record as well as the claimant’s subjective complaints. By limiting the claimant’s exposure to noise and respiratory irritants, as well as extreme temperatures and humidity, the undersigned has accounted for conditions that may trigger a migraine. By placing a prohibition on the claimant climbing ladders, ropes, and scaffolds, as well as workplace hazards the undersigned has accounted for the claimant’s safety in the onset of a migraine as well as medication that may reduce reaction time or cause drowsiness. (Tr. 23-24)(emphasis added). The parties agree that the ALJ discussed Plaintiff’s migraine log at the hearing. (Tr. 45- 46). In that discussion, Plaintiff acknowledged that she did not tell her doctor that she was keeping a log, and never showed the log to him. (Tr. 46). The parties also agree that that “there is no rigid requirement that the ALJ specifically refer to every piece of evidence in [her] decision.” See (Document No. 6, p. 9) and (Document No. 7, p. 4) (quoting Thomas v. Berryhill, 916 F.3d 307, 312 (4th Cir. 2019). The undersigned is very sympathetic to the pain and complications that might be caused by Plaintiff’s migraine headaches; however, the undersigned finds the ALJ has reached a decision supported by substantial evidence that is unlikely to have been changed by specifically citing to Plaintiff’s migraine log. CONCLUSION The undersigned finds that there is “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion,” and thus substantial evidence supports the Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 11 of 12
12 Commissioner’s decision. Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971); Johnson v. Barnhart, 434 F.3d 650, 653 (4th Cir. 2005). As such, the undersigned will recommend that the Commissioner’s decision be affirmed. RECOMMENDATION FOR THE FOREGOING REASONS, the undersigned respectfully recommends that: the Commissioner’s determination be AFFIRMED. TIME FOR OBJECTIONS The parties are hereby advised that pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(C), and Rule 72 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, written objections to the proposed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation contained herein may be filed within fourteen (14) days of service of same. Responses to objections may be filed within fourteen (14) days after service of the objections. Fed.R.Civ.P. 72(b)(2). Failure to file objections to this Memorandum and Recommendation with the District Court constitutes a waiver of the right to de novo review by the District Court. Diamond v. Colonial Life, 416 F.3d 310, 315-16 (4th Cir. 2005); United States v. Benton, 523 F.3d 424, 428 (4th Cir. 208). Moreover, failure to file timely objections will preclude the parties from raising such objections on appeal. Id. “In order ‘to preserve for appeal an issue in a magistrate judge’s report, a party must object to the finding or recommendation on that issue with sufficient specificity so as reasonably to alert the district court of the true ground for the objection.’” Martin v. Duffy, 858 F.3d 239, 245 (4th Cir. 2017) (quoting United States v. Midgette, 478 F.3d 616, 622 (4th Cir. 2007)). IT IS SO RECOMMENDED. Signed: April 20, 2026 Case 5:25-cv-00108-KDB-DCK Document 9 Filed 04/21/26 Page 12 of 12
Continue sua pesquisa no ChatGPT ou Claude
Conecte o Omnilex para pesquisar o corpus jurídico pelo seu assistente de IA.