8:24-cv-01084•Lancto v. Bisignano
Texte intégral
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK _____________________________________ JEFFREY A. L., Plaintiff, v. No. 8:24-CV-1084 COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, (AMN/PJE) Defendant. _____________________________________ APPEARANCES: OF COUNSEL: Hiller Comerford Injury & Disability Law JUSTIN M. GOLDSTEIN, ESQ. 6000 North Bailey Avenue- Suite 1A Amherst, New York 14226 Attorneys for plaintiff Social Security Administration FERGUS J. KAISER, ESQ. Office of the General Counsel 6401 Security Boulevard Baltimore, Maryland 21235 Attorneys for defendant PAUL J. EVANGELISTA U.S. MAGISTRATE JUDGE REPORT-RECOMMENDATION AND ORDER1 Jeffrey A. L.2 (“plaintiff”) brings this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g) seeking review of a decision of the Commissioner of the Social Security Administration (“the Commissioner”) denying his application for disability insurance benefits (“DIB”). See Dkt. 1 This matter was referred to the undersigned for Report-Recommendation and in accordance with General Order 18 and N.D.N.Y. L.R. 72.3(e). 2 In accordance with guidance from the Committee on Court Administration and Case Management of the Judicial Conference of the United States, which was adopted by the Northern District of New York in 2018 to better protect personal and medical information of non-governmental parties, this Report- Recommendation and Order will identify plaintiff’s last name by initial only. Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 1 of 19
2 No. 1. Plaintiff moves for the Commissioner’s decision to be reversed or remanded for further proceedings. See Dkt. No. 12. The Commissioner cross-moves for the decision to be affirmed. See Dkt. No. 14.3 Plaintiff filed a reply. See Dkt. No. 15. For the following reasons, it is recommended that plaintiff’s motion be granted, the Commissioner’s motion be denied, and the Commissioner’s decision be remanded for further proceedings. I. Background On June 13, 2022, plaintiff filed an application for DIB under Title II and Title XVIII of the Social Security Act, alleging a disability onset date of February 4, 2011. See T. at 163-694 (Dkt. No. 8-5).5 On September 1, 2022, the Social Security Administration (“SSA”) denied plaintiff’s claims. See id. at 69-82 (Dkt. No. 8-4). On September 12, 2022, plaintiff sought reconsideration, which the SSA denied on January 3, 2023. See id. at 83- 97 (Dkt. No. 8-4). Plaintiff appealed and requested a hearing. See id. at 98-99 (Dkt. No. 8-4). On January 16, 2024, a hearing was held before Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) Jeremy G. Eldred. See id. at 28-37 (Dkt. No. 8-2). During the hearing, plaintiff amended his date of onset to December 30, 2016. See id. at 35 (Dkt. No. 8-2). On January 30, 2024, the ALJ issued an unfavorable decision. See id. at 14-27 (Dkt. No. 8-2). On July 9, 2024, the Appeals Council denied plaintiff’s request for review, and the decision became final. See id. at 1-6 (Dkt. No. 8-2). Plaintiff timely commenced this action on September 6, 2024. See Dkt. No. 1. 3 This matter has been treated in accordance with General Order 18. Under that General Order, once issue has been joined, an action such as this is considered procedurally as if cross-motions for judgment on the pleadings have been filed pursuant to Rule 12(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. 4 “T.” followed by a number refers to the pages of the administrative transcript. See Dkt. No. 8. Citations to the administrative transcript refer to the pagination in the bottom, right-hand corner of the page. Citations to the parties’ briefs refers to the pagination generated by the Court’s electronic filing and case management program, located at the header of each page. 5 Due to the voluminous nature and separately-docketed portions of the administrative transcript, in addition to the record citation, the undersigned includes the docket citations for factual citations. Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 2 of 19
3 II. Legal Standards A. Standard of Review “In reviewing a final decision of the Commissioner, a district court may not determine de novo whether an individual is disabled.” Joseph J. B. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:23-CV-652 (BKS/CFH), 2024 WL 4217371, at *1 (N.D.N.Y. Aug. 29, 2024), report and recommendation adopted, No. 1:23-CV-652 (BKS/CFH), 2024 WL 4216048 (N.D.N.Y. Sept. 17, 2024) (citing 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g), 1388(c)(3)); see also Wagner v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 906 F.2d 856, 860 (2d Cir. 1990). “Rather, the Commissioner’s determination will only be reversed if the correct legal standards were not applied, or it was not supported by substantial evidence.” Id. (citing Johnson v. Bowen, 817 F.2d 983, 985-86 (2d Cir. 1987)); see also Berry v. Schweiker, 675 F.2d 464, 467 (2d Cir. 1982). “Substantial evidence is ‘more than a mere scintilla,’ meaning that in the record one can find ‘such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Id. (quoting Halloran v. Barnhart, 362 F.3d 28, 31 (2d Cir. 2004) (per curiam) (citing Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971))). “The substantial evidence standard is a very deferential standard of review . . . [This] means once an ALJ finds facts, we can reject [them] only if a reasonable factfinder would have to conclude otherwise.” Id. (quoting Brault v. Soc. Sec. Admin., Comm’r, 683 F.3d 443, 448 (2d Cir. 2012) (per curiam)) (internal quotations marks omitted). “Where there is reasonable doubt as to whether the Commissioner applied the proper legal standards, the decision should not be affirmed even though the ultimate conclusion is arguably supported by substantial evidence.” Id. (citing Martone v. Apfel, 70 F. Supp. 2d 145, 148 (N.D.N.Y. 1999) (citing Johnson, 817 F.2d at 986)). “However, if the correct legal Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 3 of 19
4 standards were applied and the ALJ’s finding is supported by substantial evidence, such finding must be sustained ‘even where substantial evidence may support the plaintiff’s position and despite that the court’s independent analysis of the evidence may differ from the [Commissioner’s].’” Id. (quoting Rosado v. Sullivan, 805 F. Supp. 147, 153 (S.D.N.Y. 1992)). B. Determination of Disability “Every individual who is under a disability shall be entitled to a disability . . . benefit . . . .” 42 U.S.C. § 423(a)(1)(E). Disability is defined as the “inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment . . . which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months[.]” Id. § 423(d)(1)(A). “A medically-determinable impairment is an affliction that is so severe that it renders an individual unable to continue with his or her previous work or any other employment that may be available to him or her based upon age, education, and work experience.” Joseph J. B., 2024 WL 4217371, at *2 (citing 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(2)(A)). “Such an impairment must be supported by ‘medically acceptable clinical and laboratory diagnostic techniques.’” Id. (citing 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(3)). “Additionally, the severity of the impairment is ‘based on objective medical facts, diagnoses[,] or medical opinions inferable from [the] facts, subjective complaints of pain or disability, and educational background, age, and work experience.’” Id. (quoting Ventura v. Barnhart, No. 04-CV-9018 (NRB), 2006 WL 399458, at *3 (S.D.N.Y. Feb. 21, 2006) (citing Mongeur v. Heckler, 722 F.2d 1033, 1037 (2d Cir. 1983))). The Second Circuit employs a five-step analysis, based on 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520, to determine whether an individual is entitled to disability benefits: Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 4 of 19
5 First, the [Commissioner] considers whether the claimant is currently engaged in substantial gainful activity. If he [or she] is not, the [Commissioner] next considers whether the claimant has a “severe impairment” which significantly limits his [or her] physical or mental ability to do basic work activities. If the claimant suffers such an impairment, the third inquiry is whether, based solely on medical evidence, the claimant has an impairment which is listed in Appendix 1 of the regulations. If the claimant has such an impairment, the [Commissioner] will consider him [or her] disabled without considering vocational factors such as age, education, and work experience; the [Commissioner] presumes that a claimant who is afflicted with a “listed” impairment is unable to perform substantial gainful activity. Assuming the claimant does not have a listed impairment, the fourth inquiry is whether, despite the claimant’s severe impairment, he [or she] has the residual functional capacity to perform his [or her] past work. Finally, if the claimant is unable to perform his [or her] past work, the [Commissioner] then determines whether there is other work which the claimant could perform . . . Berry, 675 F.2d at 467 (spacing added). “If at any step a finding of disability or non- disability can be made, the SSA will not review the claim further.” Joseph J. B., 2024 WL 4217371, at *2 (quoting Barnhart v. Thomas, 540 U.S. 20, 24 (2003)). “The plaintiff bears the initial burden of proof to establish each of the first four steps.” Id. (citing DeChirico v. Callahan, 134 F.3d 1177, 1180 (2d Cir. 1998) (citing Berry, 675 F.2d at 467)). “If the inquiry progresses to the fifth step, the burden shifts to the Commissioner to prove that the plaintiff is still able to engage in gainful employment somewhere.” Id. (citing DeChirico, 134 F.3d at 1180 (citing Berry, 675 F.2d at 467)). III. The ALJ’s Decision Applying the five-step disability sequential evaluation, the ALJ first determined that plaintiff “did not engage in substantial gainful activity during the period from his amended alleged onset date of December 30, 2016[,] through his date last insured of December Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 5 of 19
6 31, 2016.” T. at 19 (Dkt. No. 8-2). At step two, the ALJ noted that “[p]rior to the date last insured, the claimant had the following medically determinable impairments: degenerative disc disease and stenosis of the lumbar spine,” but found that “[t]hrough the date last insured, the claimant did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that significantly limited his ability to perform basic work-related activities for 12 consecutive months; therefore, the claimant did not have a ‘severe’ impairment or combination of impairments.” Id. at 19-20 (Dkt. No. 8-2). The ALJ concluded that plaintiff “was not under a disability, as defined in the Social Security Act, at any time from December 30, 2016, the amended alleged onset date, through December 31, 2016, the date last insured.” Id. at 21 (Dkt. No. 8-2). IV. Discussion A. The Parties’ Arguments Plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred in the “assessment of [his] medically determinable impairments” and by “failing to proceed past step two of the sequential evaluation.” Dkt. No. 12 at 8. Plaintiff claims that his “original onset date was February 4, 2011,” and “he stopped working because of his conditions on February 4, 2011.” Id. at 11. He also claims that his current impairments are consistent with his medical records from 2011 documenting several conditions of the lumbar spine and cervical spine, including degenerative disease and stenosis, for which he received treatment and underwent lumbar spine surgery in March 2011. Id. at 11-12. (citing T. at 296, 298-99, 301-306, 1487-89). Plaintiff acknowledges a September 21, 2011, treatment record noting that he was “receiving good relief from electrical stimulation and that [he] wanted Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 6 of 19
7 to go back to work soon,” but contends that this treatment record does not reflect that he never returned to work. Id. at 12 (citing T. at 303). Plaintiff also argues that the ALJ failed to consider any evidence generated after the date of last insured in determining his level of impairment. See Dkt. No. 12 at 12-13 (citing Matthew P. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:20-CV-1586 (TWD), 2021 WL 5629070, *3 (N.D.N.Y. Dec. 1, 2021)). Plaintiff acknowledges that there is a gap in his treatment records “from September 2011 to December 2017,” but asserts that his “treatment records from 2017 through 2019 show that [he] continued to have medical findings relating to his medically determinable impairments that existed in 2011” and “[t]he record does not show any injury since December 31, 2016, the alleged onset date, that would have been the cause of [his] symptoms and functional limitations in 2017 and onwards.” Id. at 13. Plaintiff asserts that his conditions are degenerative, not traumatic, in origin; therefore, his “first day of treatment for the impairment after the date last insured is not an accurate onset date.” Id. He claims that the ALJ erred by failing to address the entire record, including any evidence generated after December 31, 2016, and not analyzing whether this evidence related back to his 2011 conditions. See id. at 17-19. Additionally, plaintiff also argues that the ALJ erred by concluding that “Dr. Lorensen’s opinion is inconsistent with the medical evidence from period prior to the expiration of the date last insured” because Dr. Lorensen “based her opinion upon impairments that existed prior to the date last insured, including back pain status post lumbar spine surgery.” Dkt. No. 12 at 15, 19 (citing T. at 21, 61). Similarly, plaintiff argues that the ALJ erred by not obtaining a medical opinion to establish an onset date. See id. at 21. Plaintiff explains that it is unclear how the ALJ was able to render a determination Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 7 of 19
8 on the issue of disability through the date of last insured when the prior administrative medical findings concluded that there was a lack of evidence to reach such a conclusion. See id. at 19-20. He claims the ALJ should have ordered a further medical opinion or obtained additional medical expert testimony to address this discrepancy. See id. at 20- 21. Finally, plaintiff argues that the ALJ “did not evaluate [his] other alleged impairments, including COPD, cervical radiculopathy, and obesity.” Id. at 8. The Commissioner argues that the ALJ’s determination should be affirmed. See generally Dkt. No. 18. The Commissioner argues that plaintiff has failed to meet his burden of demonstrating that he suffered from a severe impairment during the relevant period because there is “no evidence of record that Plaintiff received any medical treatment [in the] five years prior to the start of the relevant period, and not until a year after the close of the relevant period.” Id. at 7-8. The Commissioner claims that plaintiff’s treatment records from 2011 do not establish a severe impairment, and Dr. Lorensen’s August 2022 consultative examination report has “no relevance to Plaintiff’s functioning during the period at issue” because it was rendered six years after the relevant period and does “not refer back to the relevant period, but, even if [it] had, there is no evidence contemporaneous to the relevant period which could validate such an opinion. Id. at 8-9 (citing T. at 611-14). Although Dr. Lorensen’s opinion may refer to conditions that were present prior to the relevant period, the Commissioner argues that Dr. Lorensen’s opinion does not address plaintiff’s functional limitations during the relevant period as step two requires. See id. at 10. Further, the Commissioner argues that plaintiff’s reliance on Matthew P. is misplaced because the evidence relied on in Matthew P. “post-dated the relevant period Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 8 of 19
9 by only a few months” whereas “the evidence cited by Plaintiff post-dates the close of the relevant period by almost two years.” Dkt. No. 18. at 10 (first quoting Matthew P., 2021 WL 5629070, *4, then citing Morgan v. Saul, No. 19-CV-5915 (AYS), 2021 WL 4551937, at *10 (E.D.N.Y. Oct. 5, 2021) and Dale A. M. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 19-CV-1150 (FJS), 2021 WL 1175160, at *13 (N.D.N.Y. March 29, 2021)). Additionally, the Commissioner argues that it is unnecessary to obtain additional medical expert testimony because (1) the decision to obtain a medical expert opinion is at the discretion of the ALJ, and (2) “the record contains no evidence from the relevant period which would allow a medical expert to form an opinion on his functioning during that time.” Dkt. No. 18 at 11. Similarly, the Commissioner states that it is unnecessary to obtain additional medical opinions because plaintiff’s counsel affirmed at the hearing that no further development of the record was needed and “it is entirely unclear how an opinion proffered years after the close of a relevant period during which no medical treatment was sought or received would be of any use.” Id. at 12. Finally, the Commissioner asserts that there is no evidence to support a claim that plaintiff’s chronic obstructive pulmonary disorder (COPD) constituted a severe impairment because the first mention of upper respiratory issues in plaintiff’s treatment records is from December 16, 2017. See id. B. ALJ’s Step Two Determination 1. Severe Impairment “To qualify for benefits, [a plaintiff] must have been disabled within the meaning of the Social Security Act between the alleged onset date . . . through the date of last insured.” McKinstry v. Astrue, 511 F. App’x 110, 111 (2d Cir. 2013) (summary order) (citing Kohler v. Astrue, 546 F.3d 260, 265 (2d Cir. 2008)); Ashley E. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 9 of 19
10 6:22-CV-299 (GTS/CFH), 2023 WL 6217792, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Aug. 21, 2023), report and recommendation adopted, No. 6:22-CV-299 (GTS/CFH), 2023 WL 6215829 (N.D.N.Y. Sept. 25, 2023) (citing Jaquish v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 8:16-CV-0399 (GTS), 2017 WL 3917019, at *6 (N.D.N.Y. Sept. 6, 2017) (“The relevant period for the Title II claim spans between the . . . alleged onset date to the date last insured . . . .”)). “[A]t the second step of [the] sequential evaluation it must be determined whether medical evidence establishes an impairment or combination of impairments ‘of such severity’ as to be the basis of a finding of inability to engage in any [substantial gainful employment].” Loni S. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:22-CV-805 (CFH), 2023 WL 4195887, at *10 (N.D.N.Y. June 27, 2023) (quoting SSR 85-28, Titles II & Xvi: Med. Impairments That Are Not Severe, 1985 WL 56856, at *3 (S.S.A. 1985); see also 20 C.F.R. §§ 416.920(c), 416.921. “An impairment or combination of impairments is found ‘not severe’ and a finding of ‘not disabled’ is made . . . when medical evidence establishes only a slight abnormality or a combination of slight abnormalities which would have no more than a minimal effect on an individual's ability to work . . . .” Id. (quoting SSR 85- 28, 1985 WL 56856, at *3). “Although an impairment is not severe if it has no more than a minimal effect on an individual's physical or mental ability(ies) to do basic work activities, the possibility of several such impairments combining to produce a severe impairment must be considered.” Id. (quoting SSR 85-28, 1985 WL 56856, at *3). “If such a finding is not clearly established by medical evidence, however, adjudication must continue through the sequential evaluation process.” Id. (quoting SSR 85-28, 1985 WL 56856, at *3). “SSR 85-28 instructs that ‘[g]reat care should be exercised in applying the not severe impairment concept.” Id. (quoting SSR 85-28, 1985 WL 56856, at *4). “If an adjudicator Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 10 of 19
11 is unable to determine clearly the effect of an impairment or combination of impairments on the individual's ability to do basic work activities, the sequential evaluation process should not end with the not severe evaluation step. Rather, it should be continued.” Id. (quoting SSR 85-28, 1985 WL 56856, at *4) “The claimant bears the burden of presenting evidence establishing severity.” Loni S., 2023 WL 4195887, at *11 (quoting Taylor v. Astrue, 32 F. Supp. 3d 253, 265 (N.D.N.Y. 2012)). “[T]he standard for a finding of severity under Step Two of the sequential analysis is de minimis and is intended only to screen out the very weakest cases.” Id. (quoting McIntyre v. Colvin, 758 F.3d 146, 151 (2d Cir. 2014) (citing Dixon v. Shalala, 54 F.3d 1019, 1030 (2d Cir. 1995))). “However, the mere presence of a disease or impairment, or establishing that a person has been diagnosed or treated for a disease or impairment’ is not, by itself, sufficient to render a condition ‘severe.” Id. (quoting Taylor, 32 F. Supp. 3d at 265 (quoting Coleman v. Shalala, 895 F. Supp. 50, 54 (S.D.N.Y. 1995))) (internal quotation marks omitted). “The Second Circuit ‘has observed, repeatedly, that evidence bearing upon an applicant’s condition subsequent to the date up to which the earning requirement . . . was last met is pertinent evidence in that it may disclose the severity and continuity of impairments existing before the earning requirement date.’” Brian C. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:22-CV-1292 (LEK/TWD), 2024 WL 1468869, at *7 (N.D.N.Y. Feb. 20, 2024), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Brian C. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:22- CV-1292 (LEK/TWD), 2024 WL 1069877 (N.D.N.Y. Mar. 12, 2024) (quoting Tari L. E. v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:21-CV-1283 (DEP), 2023 WL 395189, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Jan. 24, 2023) (quoting Guarino v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 7:07-CV-1252 (GLS/VEB), 2010 Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 11 of 19
12 WL 199721, at *7 (N.D.N.Y. Jan. 14, 2010))); see Lisa v. Sec’y of Dep’t of Health & Human Servs., 940 F.2d 40, 44 (2d Cir. 1991) (same); Karen S. v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 20- CV-0960 (CFH), 2022 WL 462086, at *9 (N.D.N.Y. Feb. 15, 2022) (quoting Carter v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 5:14-CV-1315 (GTS/WBC), 2015 WL 8029511, at *4 (N.D.N.Y. Nov. 12, 2015), report and recommendation adopted sub nom. Carter v. Colvin, No. 5:14- CV-1315 (GTS/WBC), 2015 WL 8180368 (N.D.N.Y. Dec. 7, 2015) (“[M]edical evidence obtained after a plaintiff's [date last insured] can be used to show that a plaintiff was disabled prior to that date as long as it pertains to already-existing impairments”); Zaida B. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:20-CV-9748, 2022 WL 3867523, at *5 (S.D.N.Y. June 1, 2022), report and recommendation adopted, 2022 WL 3867903 (S.D.N.Y. Aug. 30, 2022) (quoting Martinez v. Massanari, 242 F. Supp. 2d 372, 378 (S.D.N.Y. 2003)) (noting that opinion evidence “rendered after the date last insured, can nevertheless be indicative of ‘some enduring, preexisting, or even progressive condition, the permanent or variable nature of [the] diagnoses and ailments, and, perhaps, any potential intervening aggravating factors possibly accounting for some worsening of her condition.’”). 2. Analysis As stated, the ALJ determined at step-two that, “[t]hrough the date last insured,” December 31, 2016, “the claimant did not have an impairment or combination of impairments that significantly limited his ability to perform basic work-related activities for 12 consecutive months; therefore, the claimant did not have a ‘severe’ impairment or combination of impairments.” T. at 19-20 (Dkt. No. 8-2). The undersigned concludes that the ALJ’s step-two determination failed to apply the appropriate standard by not considering evidence generated after December 31, 2016, and is, therefore, unsupported Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 12 of 19
13 by substantial evidence. Brian C., 2024 WL 1468869, at *7; Karen S., 2022 WL 462086, at *9; Martinez, 242 F. Supp. 2d at 378; Joseph J. B., 2024 WL 4217371, at *1 (first citing Johnson, 817 F.2d at 985-86, then quoting Halloran, 362 F.3d at 31). In reaching the step-two determination, the ALJ considered plaintiff’s testimony that he was unable to work since 2011 due to back pain, his back surgery did not help alleviate his back pain, and he continues to have difficulty bending and standing for long periods of time. See T. at 20 (Dkt. No. 8-2). The ALJ also considered plaintiff’s 2011 medical records documenting (1) diagnoses of DDD and stenosis of the lumbar spine, (2) that plaintiff underwent back surgery in March 2011, and (3) physical therapy notes from September 2011 noting that plaintiff “was getting good relief from an electrical stimulation unit and that [he] wanted to go back to work soon.” Id. at 20-21 (Dkt. No. 8- 2) (citing T. at 303). The ALJ concluded: Given the lack of longitudinal evidence establishing a 12-month period of functional limitation prior to the expiration of the date last insured, as well as the indications in September 2011 that the claimant was experiencing relief from his pain and wanted to go back to work, I find that the evidence does not support the claimant’s allegations regarding the extent of the functional limitations caused by his symptoms, as those allegations relate to the period prior to the expiration of the date last insured. Id. at 21 (Dkt. No. 8-2). Yet, the ALJ’s analysis does not consider any of plaintiff’s medical and treatment records generated after December 31, 2016. See T. at 17-22 (Dkt. No. 8-2). The ALJ stated that he considered all of plaintiff’s medical and treatment records following the date of last insured, but the hearing decision does not list or discuss these records or provide any meaningful analysis thereof. See id. at 17-27 (Dkt. No. 8-2). More specifically, plaintiff’s records note that on December 16, 2017, plaintiff was documented as suffering Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 13 of 19
14 from “Spinal DJD.” Id. at 373 (Dkt. No. 8-7). On January 8, 2018, a chest x-ray revealed “mild degenerative changes” of the “mid lower thoracic spine.” Id. at 364 (Dkt. No. 8-7). On August 21, 2018, plaintiff was treated for right leg pain that radiated down the back of his leg to his right foot. See id. at 921 (Dkt. No. 8-9). The treatment record states that plaintiff had been suffering from leg pain for the prior “45 weeks” and “some low back pain for the past several months.” Id. (Dkt. No. 8-9). During a physical examination, the right leg straight leg raise test was positive, with the treatment provider noting “sacroiliac joint tenderness.” Id. at 922 (Dkt. No. 8-9). Plaintiff was diagnosed with “Lumbago with sciatica, right side” and prescribed an oral steroid and physical therapy. Id. at 924 (Dkt. No. 8-9). On January 28, 2019, plaintiff was treated for “ongoing [right] low back pain that radiates down mid buttocks and around the right side of his right thigh.” Id. at 904 (Dkt. No. 8-9). Plaintiff reported the pain was “constant, throbbing, [and] stabbing”; was not relieved by pain medication; and that his back pain prevented him from “cutting and carrying his own firewood.” Id. (Dkt. No. 8-9). Plaintiff’s treatment records between February 2019 and August 2019 document degenerative changes to his lumbar and cervical spine, treatment for various forms of back pain that radiated to his right leg, and that plaintiff was “able to ambulate with difficulty.” T. at 358; see T. at 358-61, 515, 633- 37, 898-904 (Dkt. Nos. 8-7, 8-9). Most of the conditions described in the 2017 to 2019 medical and treatment records appear to be the same or similar conditions to those plaintiff was treated for in 2011. As such, it appears these records may demonstrate at least di minimis evidence that plaintiff suffered from a severe impairment during the relevant period that precluded him from performing “basic work activities.” Loni S., 2023 WL 4195887, at *10-11. Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 14 of 19
15 Therefore, the ALJ’s step-two determination is not supported by substantial evidence and remand is necessary to consider the evidence dated after December 31, 2016. See Cedric B. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 22-CV-558 (MJR), 2024 WL 4834223, at *5 (W.D.N.Y. Nov. 20, 2024) (citing Ruth H-Z. v. Comm'r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:20-CV- 1859 (EAW), 2022 WL 2586533, at *7 (W.D.N.Y. July 8, 2022)) (concluding that the ALJ committed error and remand was required because, although “the ALJ's step two determination is entitled to deference if it is free from error and supported by substantial evidence, . . . the ALJ's step two finding here, that Plaintiff's [conditions] were so clearly insubstantial so as to not meet the de minimis standard, is not supported by substantial evidence.”); Ruth H-Z., 2022 WL 2586533, at *7 (citing Dawn Lyn C, v. Acting Comm’r of Soc. Sec., Defendant., No. 3:20-CV-545 (TOF), 2021 WL 4398372, at *8 (D. Conn. Sept. 27, 2021) (“Viewing the record in its entirety, and considering the ‘low,’ ‘de minimis’ standard that applies here, the Court concludes that the ALJ’s decision to reject the Plaintiff’s claim at Step Two is not supported by substantial evidence.”). Although the Commissioner argues that plaintiff’s reliance on Matthew P. is misplaced because “the evidence cited by Plaintiff post-dates the close of the relevant period by almost two years,” the undersigned disagrees. Dkt. No. 14 at 10. In Matthew P., the ALJ concluded that the plaintiff “did not have a medical determinable impairment prior to his date last insured of December 31, 2018.” Matthew P., 2021 WL 5629070, at *2. There, the plaintiff “first obtained medical treatment for his heart condition in 2011,” continued to receive medical treatment until 2012 when he lost his health insurance, and began receiving medical treatment again in April 2019, when he was admitted to the emergency room for “chest pain, shortness of breath, and numbness in both of his legs” Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 15 of 19
16 that he “reported experiencing . . . intermittently for the previous six months.” Id. at *4. The record in Matthew P. contains medical and treatment records from 2019 following plaintiff’s hospitalization. See id. at *4-6. Matthew P. concluded that the ALJ’s determination “is at odds with the governing legal standard for analyzing claims at step two, and it is unsupported by substantial evidence” because the ALJ failed to consider medical evidence post-dating the relevant period by four to six months. Id. at *6. The Court explained that “[a]lthough it would be easier for Plaintiff to satisfy this standard with contemporary medical records, he can do so with evidence from before or after the relevant time period. He has done so here, and substantial evidence does not support the ALJ's conclusion to the contrary.” Id. (internal citations omitted). Here, plaintiff’s August 21, 2018, treatment record noted that he was suffering from back pain for “the past several months” and had associated pain that radiated down his right leg for “45 weeks” prior. T. at 921 (Dkt. No. 8-9). Forty-five weeks before to August 21, 2018, is October 10, 2017, approximately ten months after the date of last insured. The undersigned concludes that the ALJ erred in reaching his step-two determination by failing to consider the evidence post-dating December 31, 2016. See T. at 20-21 (Dkt. No. 8-2). Accordingly, the ALJ’s decision is not supported by substantial evidence. The undersigned recommends remand to address this deficiency because the evidence generated after the date of last insured could change the ALJ’s step 2 analysis and overall conclusion. See Brian C., 2024 WL 1468869, at *7; Karen S., 2022 WL 462086, at *9; Martinez, 242 F. Supp. 2d at 378; Cedric B., 2024 WL 4834223, at *5; Johnson v. Bowen, 817 F.2d 983, 986 (2d Cir. 1987) (“Where there is a reasonable basis for doubt whether the ALJ applied correct legal principles, application of the substantial evidence standard Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 16 of 19
17 to uphold a finding of no disability creates an unacceptable risk that a claimant will be deprived of the right to have her disability determination made according to the correct legal principles.”). Plaintiff also argues that the ALJ erred by (1) not considering whether his COPD is a severe impairment; and (2) finding Dr. Lorensen’s opinion and the prior administrative medical findings unpersuasive because they were not supported by, and inconsistent with, the evidence of record. See Dkt. No. at 2, 19-20. On remand, the undersigned also recommends that the ALJ be instructed to consider whether COPD constitutes a severe impairment because this condition was not analyzed in the hearing decision on appeal. Similarly, the undersigned recommends that the ALJ be instructed to reevaluate his conclusions regarding the supportability and consistency factors of state consultative examiner Dr. Elke Lorensen, M.D.’s opinion and the prior administrative medical findings, as the ALJ’s analysis may change after considering the evidence generated after December 31, 2016. See T. at 21 (Dkt. No. 8-2); see also Lena Nicole H. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:23-CV-826 (MAD/TWD), 2024 WL 4133819, at *5 (N.D.N.Y. July 30, 2024) (quoting 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520c(b)(2), 416.920c(b)(2) (“An ALJ is specifically required to explain how [he or she] considered the supportability and consistency factors for a medical opinion.”) (internal quotation marks omitted)). Plaintiff further argues that the ALJ erred by not ordering additional medical opinions and additional medical expert testimony to reach his step-two determination. See Dkt. No. 12 at 19-23. It is not necessary to address these arguments at this time because, as stated above, the ALJ’s analysis may change after considering the evidence generated after the date of last insured. Until the ALJ reviews the additional evidence, it Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 17 of 19
18 is unclear whether additional medical expert testimony or an additional medical opinion is necessary for the ALJ to reach the step-two determination. It would be improper for the undersigned to pre-adjudicate the ALJ’s determination on remand. See Devra B. B. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 6:20-CV-643 (BKS), 2021 WL 4168529, at *8 (N.D.N.Y. Sept. 14, 2021) (“Because the Court has determined that remand is required, the Court does not reach Plaintiff's remaining arguments.”); Shields v. Astrue, No. 11-CV-2088 (FB), 2012 WL 1865505, at *3 (E.D.N.Y. May 22, 2012) (“In light of the decision to remand this case with instructions to consider new evidence on Shields's cardiac condition, it is not necessary to address this argument.”); Savo v. Astrue, No. 3:10-CV-1612 (CFD/TPS), 2011 WL 5025488, at *1 (D. Conn. Oct. 21, 2011) (“Because the Court has ordered the case remanded for further proceedings based on the ALJ’s evidentiary error, it is not necessary to address the plaintiff’s remaining contentions.”). V. Conclusion WHEREFORE, for the reasons set forth herein, it is hereby: RECOMMENDED, that plaintiff’s cross-motion (Dkt. No. 12) be GRANTED; and it is further RECOMMENDED, that the Commissioner’s cross-motion (Dkt. No. 14) be DENIED, and the Commissioner’s decision be reversed and remanded for further proceedings consistent with this Report-Recommendation and Order; and it is ORDERED, that the Clerk serve a copy of this Report-Recommendation and Order on all parties in accordance with Local Rules. IT IS SO ORDERED. Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 18 of 19
19 Pursuant to U.S.C. §636(b)(1) and Local Rule 72.1(c), the parties have fourteen days within which to file written objections to the foregoing report. Such objections shall be filed with the Clerk of the Court. FAILURE TO OBJECT TO THIS REPORT WITHIN FOURTEEN (14) DAYS WILL PRECLUDE APPELLATE REVIEW. Roldan v. Racette, 984 F.2d 85, 89 (2d Cir. 1993) (citing Small v. Secretary of Health and Human Servs., 892 F.2d 15 (2d Cir. 1989)); 28 U.S.C. §636(b)(1); FED. R. CIV P. 6(a), 6(e), 72. Dated: December 17, 2025 Albany, New York Case 8:24-cv-01084-AMN-PJE Document 16 Filed 12/18/25 Page 19 of 19
Vous vous demandez comment ce texte s’applique à votre situation ?
Consultation gratuite, sans engagement
Décrivez votre situation. Notre équipe vous recontactera par e-mail pour votre consultation.
Poursuivez vos recherches dans ChatGPT ou Claude
Connectez Omnilex pour rechercher dans le corpus juridique depuis votre assistant IA.