3:25-cv-00106•Case Name in Social Security Case - Unavailable
Texte intégral
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA EVANSVILLE DIVISION DEANDRA B.,1 ) ) Plaintiff, ) ) v. ) No. 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW ) FRANK BISIGNANO, ) ) Defendant. ) R EPORT AND R ECOMMENDATION ON J UDICIAL R EVIEW OF THE C OMMISSIONER’S DENIAL OF B ENEFITS This matter is before the Honorable Crystal S. Wildeman, United States Magistrate Judge, pursuant to an Entry Referring Matter to Magistrate Judge, to conduct and issue a report and recommendation regarding the appropriate disposition of this matter. (Dkt. 15). Claimant, Deandra B., seeks judicial review of the Social Security Administration’s (“SSA”) decision denying his Title II application for a Period of Disability and Disability Insurance Benefits (“DIB”). (Dkt. 1). He argues the Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) committed reversible error because (1) Claimant informs he has recently been diagnosed with spinal stenosis, limiting his ability “to stand for a period of hours or sit,” and therefore his ability to perform work duties is limited; (2) his conditions amount to disabilities; (3) his magnesium levels impact his ability to concentrate and hear; and (4) Dr. Mahboob’s letter supports finding Claimant cannot perform work duties due to Claimant’s breathing conditions. (Dkt. 12) For the following reasons, the Magistrate Judge recommends the Commissioner’s decision be AFFIRMED. 1 To protect the privacy interests of Claimant’s application for Social Security benefits, consistent with the recommendation of the Court Administration and Case Management Committee of the Administrative Office of United States Courts, the Southern District of Indiana has opted to use only the first name and last initial of non-governmental parties in its Social Security judicial review opinions. Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 1 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-2- I. B ACKGROUND On September 15, 2022, Claimant filed his application for DIB, alleging disability beginning June 17, 2022. (Dkt. 9-3 at 115). Claimant’s application was denied on March 22, 2023, and again on reconsideration on September 25, 2023. (Id.). Claimant requested a hearing, received on October 3, 2023. (Id.). The hearing was held by telephone on May 28, 2024. (Id.). In attendance were Claimant, Claimant’s counsel, a vocational expert, and Administrative Law Judge Stuart Janney (the “ALJ”). (Id.). On June 26, 2024, the ALJ rendered an unfavorable decision. (Id. at 112). In reaching his decision, the ALJ found: • At Step One, “[C]laimant has not engaged in substantial gainful activity since June 17, 2022, the alleged onset date.” (Id. at 117). • At Step Two, “[C]laimant has the following severe impairments: reversal of cervical lordosis; lumbar spine degenerative disc disease with left S1 nerve root contact; hip osteoarthritis; chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and/or emphysema with lung nodules; asthma; nocturnal hypoxemia; grade II diastolic dysfunction; cardiomegaly; cor pulmonale; hypertension; tachycardia; dyslipidemia; type 2 diabetes mellitus; and obesity.” (Id.). • At Step Three, “[C]laimant does not have an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of one of the listed impairments in 20 CFR Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1.” (Id. at 119). • After Step Three but before Step Four, “[C]laimant has the residual functional capacity to perform light work as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(b) except he can walk for four hours total in an eight-hour Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 2 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-3- workday. He can carry less than ten pounds frequently and 20 pounds occasionally. He can tolerate occasional exposure to atmospheric conditions and hazards such as proximity to moving mechanical parts and working in high, exposed places.” (Id. at 121). • At Step Four, “[C]laimant has no past relevant work.” (Id. at 132). • At Step Five, “Considering the claimant’s age, education, work experience, and residual functional capacity, there are jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that the claimant can perform.” (Id. at 134). Ultimately, the ALJ concluded Claimant was not disabled as defined in the Social Security Act. (Id. at 133). Claimant sought review by the Appeals Council, which was denied on April 18, 2025. (Dkt. 9-2 at 2). On May 9, 2025, Claimant commenced this action, seeking judicial review of the ALJ’s decision. (Dkt. 1). On September 11, 2025, Claimant filed a document titled Order for Briefing Schedule which included his positions regarding his opposition of the ALJ’s decision. (Dkt. 12). The Court, acknowledging the filing, clarified it would construe the document as Claimant’s brief in support of his Complaint if Claimant did not file a supplemental document. (Dkt. 13). No such supplement was filed and the Court therefore construes Claimant’s filing at (Dkt. 12) as his brief in support. On December 22, 2025, the Commissioner filed his brief in support of the ALJ’s decision. (Dkt. 14). He argues Claimant was not disabled, and the decision was supported by substantial evidence. (Id.). Claimant was permitted until January 19, 2026, to file his reply but has not done so. (Dkt. 11). Therefore, this matter is now ripe for review. Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 3 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-4- II. S TANDARD OF R EVIEW “The Social Security Administration (SSA) provides benefits to individuals who cannot obtain work because of a physical or mental disability.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 98 (2019). Disability is the inability “to engage in any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in death or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than twelve months.” Stephens v. Berryhill, 888 F.3d 323, 327 (7th Cir. 2018) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A)). When an applicant appeals an adverse benefits decision, this Court’s role is limited to ensuring the ALJ applied the correct legal standards and that substantial evidence exists for the ALJ’s decision. Stephens, 888 F.3d at 327. “[S]ubstantial evidence” is such relevant “evidence that ‘a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.’” Zoch v. Saul, 981 F.3d 597, 601 (7th Cir. 2020) (quoting Biestek, 139 S. Ct. at 1154); see also Bakke v. Kijakazi, 62 F.4th 1061, 1068 (7th Cir. 2023). This standard is light and deferential, requiring “only the most minimal of articulation.” Warnell v. O’Malley, 97 F.4th 1050, 1051, 1053 (7th Cir. 2024); Pavlicek v. Saul, 994 F.3d 777, 783 (7th Cir. 2021). “Although this Court reviews the record as a whole, it cannot substitute its own judgment for that of the SSA by reevaluating the facts, or reweighing the evidence to decide whether a claimant is in fact disabled.” Stephens, 888 F.3d at 327. Reviewing courts also “do not decide questions of credibility, deferring instead to the ALJ’s conclusions unless ‘patently wrong.’” Zoch, 981 F.3d at 601 (quoting Summers v. Berryhill, 864 F.3d 523, 528 (7th Cir. 2017)). The Court does “determine whether the ALJ built an ‘accurate and logical bridge’ between the evidence and the conclusion.” Peeters v. Saul, 975 F.3d 639, 641 (7th Cir. 2020) (quoting Beardsley v. Colvin, 758 F.3d 834, 837 (7th Cir. 2014)). The SSA applies a five-step evaluation to determine whether the claimant is disabled. Stephens, 888 F.3d at 327 (citing 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4); 20 C.F.R. § 416.920(a)(4)). The ALJ must evaluate the following, in sequence: Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 4 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-5- (1) whether the claimant is currently [un]employed; (2) whether the claimant has a severe impairment; (3) whether the claimant’s impairment meets or equals one of the impairments listed by the [Commissioner]; (4) whether the claimant can perform her past work; and (5) whether the claimant is capable of performing work in the national economy. Clifford v. Apfel, 227 F.3d 863, 868 (7th Cir. 2000), as amended (Dec. 13, 2000) (citations omitted).2 “If a claimant satisfies steps one, two, and three, he will automatically be found disabled. If a claimant satisfies steps one and two, but not three, then he must satisfy step four. Once step four is satisfied, the burden shifts to the SSA to establish that the claimant is capable of performing work in the national economy.” Knight v. Chater, 55 F.3d 309, 313 (7th Cir. 1995). After Step Three, but before Step Four, the ALJ must determine a claimant’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”) by evaluating “all limitations that arise from medically determinable impairments, even those that are not severe.” Villano v. Astrue, 556 F.3d 558, 563 (7th Cir. 2009). In doing so, the ALJ “may not dismiss a line of evidence contrary to the ruling.” Id. The ALJ uses the RFC at Step Four to determine whether the claimant can perform her past relevant work and, if not, at Step Five to determine whether the claimant can perform other work. See 20 C.F.R. § 416.920. If the ALJ committed no legal error and substantial evidence exists to support the ALJ’s decision, the Court must affirm the denial of benefits. Stephens, 888 F.3d at 327. When an ALJ’s decision does not apply the correct legal standard, a remand for further proceedings is usually the appropriate remedy. Karr v. Saul, 989 F.3d 508, 513 (7th Cir. 2021). Typically, a remand is also appropriate when the decision is not supported by substantial evidence. Briscoe ex rel. Taylor v. 2 The Code of Federal Regulations contains separate, parallel sections concerning SSI and disability insurance benefits (“DIB”), which are identical in most respects. Cases may reference the section pertaining to DIB, such as in Clifford, which cites 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. 227 F.3d at 868. Generally, a verbatim section exists establishing the same legal point with both types of benefits. See, e.g., 20 C.F.R. § 416.920. The Court will usually not reference the parallel section but will take care to detail any substantive differences applicable to the case. Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 5 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-6- Barnhart, 425 F.3d 345, 355 (7th Cir. 2005). “An award of benefits is appropriate only where all factual issues have been resolved and the ‘record can yield but one supportable conclusion.’” Id. (quoting Campbell v. Shalala, 988 F.2d 741, 744 (7th Cir. 1993)). III. DISCUSSION As a preliminary matter, the Court must ascertain Claimant’s arguments from the Motion at (Dkt. 12). “A document filed pro se is to be liberally construed.” Erickson v. Pardus, 551 U.S. 89, 94 (2007) (internal quotations and citations omitted).3 Therefore, the Court discerns that Claimant’s arguments are as follows: First, Claimant informs he has recently been diagnosed with spinal stenosis, limiting his ability “to stand for a period of hours or sit,” and therefore limiting his ability to perform work duties. (Dkt. 12). Second, Claimant argues his conditions amount to disabilities. (Id.). Third, Claimant informs his abilities to concentrate and hear are limited at times due to low magnesium levels. (Id.). Fourth, Claimant contends Dr. Mahboob’s letter supports finding Claimant cannot perform work duties due to Claimant’s breathing conditions. The Commissioner disagrees, arguing the ALJ properly concluded Claimant was not disabled and that the decision was supported by substantial evidence. (Dkt. 14). The Court takes up each of Claimant’s contentions in turn. a. R ECENT S PINAL S TENOSIS DIAGNOSIS Claimant first challenges the ALJ’s decision for failing to account for his recent diagnosis of spinal stenosis requiring emergency surgery. (Dkt. 12). Claimant’s brief appears to suggest that this condition has recently developed. See 3 While Claimant proceeds pro se in this action, Claimant was represented by counsel at the administrative level. (Dkt. 9-3 at 115). Therefore, the ALJ was “entitled to assume” Claimant “ma[de] his strongest case for benefits,” and was not under a heightened obligation to assist Claimant in developing the record. See (id.); Glenn v. Sec’y of Health & Hum. Servs., 814 F.2d 387, 391 (7th Cir. 1987); Bertaud v. O’Malley, 88 F.4th 1242, 1245 (7th Cir. 2023). Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 6 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-7- (id.). To the extent Claimant argues that a new diagnosis or symptoms arising since his application for benefits should be addressed, the appropriate course of action is not judicial review of the ALJ’s decision but instead to submit a new application. See Getch v. Astrue, 539 F.3d 473, 484 (7th Cir. 2008) (citing Kapusta v. Sullivan, 900 F.2d 94, 97 (7th Cir. 1989). To the extent Claimant challenges the ALJ’s decision relating to then- existing evidence regarding Claimant’s spinal stenosis, the Undersigned finds the ALJ did not fail to consider the condition. In formulating the RFC, the ALJ noted “magnetic resonance imaging of the lumbar spine . . . showed . . . left neural foraminal stenosis.” (Dkt. 9-3 at 125). More broadly, the ALJ considered Claimant’s “lumbar spine impairments” with the medical evidence showing Claimant “has generally been noted to have a normal gait, to ambulate without an assistive device, and to generally have normal strength and muscle bulk and tone.” (Id. at 129). Nevertheless, the ALJ found “a reduction to light work with a further limitation to walking for four hours in and eight-hour workday is supported.” (Id. at 130). Therefore, the Undersigned concludes the ALJ’s decision regarding Claimant’s spinal stenosis was not legally erroneous and was supported by substantial evidence. b. WHETHER C LAIMANT IS DISABLED Next, Claimant disagrees with the ALJ’s determination Claimant was not under a disability during the relevant period. (Dkt. 12). The appropriate inquiry is whether the ALJ’s finding was supported by substantial evidence and without legal error. Schmitz v. Colvin, 124 F.4th 1029 (7th Cir. 2024) (affirming the ALJ’s decision finding a claimant was not disabled under the substantial evidence standard). Morales is instructive: It is not enough to nitpick the ALJ’s order. To warrant reversal, [a claimant] must show that the ALJ’s determination was not supported by substantial evidence. See Gedatus v. Saul, 994 F.3d 893, 900 (7th Cir. 2021). And there is no way to satisfy that burden without grappling with the evidence: [a Claimant] must demonstrate with Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 7 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-8- references to evidence why the ALJ’s determinations lack substantial support in the administrative record. We cannot do that work for her. Indeed, time and again we have underscored that our role as a court of review is not to “reweigh the evidence, resolve debatable evidentiary conflicts, determine credibility, or substitute our judgment for the ALJ’s determination.” Id. Morales v. O’Malley, 103 F.4th 469, 471 (7th Cir. 2024). Claimant contends “I believe I have such disabilit[ies],” but offers little to develop this argument beyond those claims the Court has addressed in Subparts III(a), (c), and (d). Thus, to the extent Claimant makes a distinct challenge to the ALJ’s determination that he is not disabled under the regulations, the Undersigned does not find Claimant offered sufficient evidence to show the decision was unsupported. c. C ONCENTRATION AND HEARING Third, Claimant challenges the ALJ’s decision based on his limitations in concentration and hearing which he describes is attributable to low magnesium. (Dkt. 14). In his decision, the ALJ does not discuss either limitation. (Dkt. 9-3 at 115–34). An ALJ must evaluate all relevant evidence when determining an applicant’s RFC, including evidence of impairments that are not severe . . . . Although an ALJ need not mention every snippet of evidence in the record, the ALJ must connect the evidence to the conclusion; in so doing, he may not ignore entire lines of contrary evidence. Arnett v. Astrue, 676 F.3d 586, 591–92 (7th Cir. 2012). “[A]n ALJ . . . ‘need not provide a complete written evaluation of every piece of testimony and evidence.’” Pepper v. Colvin, 712 F.3d 351, 362 (7th Cir. 2013) (quoting Schmidt v. Barnhart, 395 F.3d 737, 744 (7th Cir. 2005). Claimant was represented by counsel at the hearing and thus, “is presumed to have made his best case before the ALJ.” See (Dkt. 9-4 at 56–89); Skinner v. Astrue, 478 F.3d 836, 842 (7th Cir. 2007). Yet, neither the pre-hearing brief nor the hearing transcript raise any limitations on Claimant’s concentration or hearing. Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 8 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-9- (Dkts. 9-4 at 56–89; 9-11 at 145–49). Further, in the Function Report, Claimant indicated the following: (Dkt. 9-11 at 92). Claimant selected several limitations in the Function Report but notably, did not select “hearing” or “concentration.” (Id.). Only occasional instances of concentration challenges in the record were indicated; see e.g., (Dkt. 9-7 at 179 (self- reporting concentration difficulties)); but see, (Dkts. 9-6 at 162, 9-12 at 2823 (self- reporting no concentration difficulties); and Claimant consistently presented with no hearing impairments; see e.g., (Dkts. 9-14 at 77 and 9-16 at 5591 (self-reporting no hearing impairments to his provider); Dkts. 9-12 at 2653 and 9-16 at 5592 (provider reporting no hearing impairments). As such, Claimant does not present “entire lines of . . . evidence” to support his contentions. See (Dkt. 12); Arnett, 676 F.3d at 591–92. Thus, the Undersigned finds Claimant failed to satisfy his burden of showing the ALJ erred in failing to address any limitations in concentration and hearing. d. B REATHING LIMITATIONS S UPPORTED BY DR. MAHBOOB’S LETTER Lastly, Claimant contends Dr. Mahboob’s letter supports finding Claimant cannot perform work due to his breathing conditions. (Dkt. 12). Upon review, Dr. Mahboob’s letter provides the following substantive information: “[Claimant] is going through multiple respiratory problems and is not able to work at this point.” (Dkt. 9-16 at 649–650). Dr. Mahboob’s letter does not provide any additional Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 9 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-10- information regarding Claimant’s breathing conditions. The ALJ considered this statement and specifically found “[t]hese statements regarding the claimant’s ability to work are on issues reserved to the Commissioner and are inherently neither valuable nor persuasive (20 CFR 404. 1520b(c)).” (Dkt. 9-3 at 130). The regulations clarify “[s]tatements that [Claimants] are or are not disabled, . . . able to work, or able to perform regular or continuing work” is considered “evidence [that] is neither valuable nor persuasive to the issue of whether [Claimants] are disabled.” Therefore, the ALJ was not required to provide any analysis about how he considered such evidence in our determination or decision. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520b(c)(3)(i). The Seventh Circuit has applied this regulation and found “a medical opinion that offered a judgment on the ultimate question of whether [the claimant] is disabled” need not be evaluated. Jones v. Dudek, 134 F.4th 991, 998 (7th Cir. 2025) (affirming an ALJ’s decision challenged for failing to rely on a doctor’s statement that claimant could not work more than 20 hours per week due to weight bearing difficulties). In the Decision, the ALJ addressed Dr. Mahboob’s letter and found it fit squarely within 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520b(c). (Dkt. 9-3 at 130). The Undersigned finds this determination supported by substantial evidence, authority, and analysis. IV. C ONCLUSION For the foregoing reasons, the Magistrate Judge RECOMMENDS the ALJ’s decision be AFFIRMED. Claimant failed to show reversible error in the ALJ’s findings. The parties are hereby notified the District Judge may reconsider any pretrial matter assigned to a United States Magistrate Judge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B). Any party shall have fourteen (14) days from the date of service to // // Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 10 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
-11- file written objections to this Report and Recommendation. IT IS SO RECOMMENDED this 4 th day of February 2026. Distribution: All ECF-registered counsel of record via email DEANDRA BRYANT 717 Cherry Street Apt. 412 Evansville, IN 47713 PRO SE Case 3:25-cv-00106-RLY-CSW Document 16 Filed 02/04/26 Page 11 of 11 PageID #: <pageID>
Vous vous demandez comment ce texte s’applique à votre situation ?
Consultation gratuite, sans engagement
Décrivez votre situation. Notre équipe vous recontactera par e-mail pour votre consultation.
Poursuivez vos recherches dans ChatGPT ou Claude
Connectez Omnilex pour rechercher dans le corpus juridique depuis votre assistant IA.