3:25-cv-00083•Case Name in Social Security Case - Unavailable
Gesamter Gesetzestext
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO WESTERN DIVISION AT DAYTON DEREK B.1, Case No. 3:25-cv-83 Plaintiff, Newman, J. Litkovitz, MJ. vs. COMMISSIONER OF REPORT AND SOCIAL SECURITY, RECOMMENDATION Defendant. Plaintiff, Derek B. brings this action under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) for judicial review of the final decision of the Commissioner of Social Security (Commissioner) denying plaintiff’s application for Disability Insurance benefits (DIB). This matter is before Court on plaintiff’s Statement of Errors (Doc. 6), the Commissioner’s response in opposition (Doc. 9), and plaintiff’s reply (Doc. 11). I. Procedural Background In October 2023, plaintiff protectively filed an application for DIB alleging disability beginning November 23, 2022, due to post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety, depression, cervico- occipital neuralgia, left shoulder radiculopathy, obstructive sleep apnea, cervical intervertebral degeneration, tight tendons in bilateral knees, low mobility, and high blood pressure. (Tr. 205- 210, Tr. 251). The application was denied initially and on reconsideration. Plaintiff, through counsel, requested and was granted a de novo telephone hearing before administrative law judge (ALJ) Genevieve Adamo. Plaintiff and a vocational expert (VE) appeared telephonically and testified at the hearing on October 23, 2024. (Tr. 41-66). On November 22, 2024, the ALJ issued 1 Pursuant to General Order 22-01, due to significant privacy concerns in social security cases, any opinion, order, judgment or other disposition in social security cases in the Southern District of Ohio shall refer to plaintiffs only by their first names and last initials. Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 1 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
2 a decision denying plaintiff’s application. (Tr. 12-36). The Appeals Council denied plaintiff’s request for review, making the ALJ’s decision the final decision of the Commissioner. (Tr. 1-6). II. Analysis A. Legal Framework for Disability Determinations To qualify for disability benefits, a claimant must suffer from a medically determinable physical or mental impairment that can be expected to result in death or that has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period of not less than 12 months. 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A). The impairment must render a claimant unable to engage in the work previously performed or in any other substantial gainful employment that exists in the national economy. 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(2). Regulations promulgated by the Commissioner establish a five-step sequential evaluation process for disability determinations: 1) If the claimant is doing substantial gainful activity, the claimant is not disabled. 2) If the claimant does not have a severe medically determinable physical or mental impairment – i.e., an impairment that significantly limits his or her physical or mental ability to do basic work activities – the claimant is not disabled. 3) If the claimant has a severe impairment(s) that meets or equals one of the listings in Appendix 1 to Subpart P of the regulations and meets the duration requirement, the claimant is disabled. 4) If the claimant’s impairment does not prevent him or her from doing his or her past relevant work, the claimant is not disabled. 5) If the claimant can make an adjustment to other work, the claimant is not disabled. If the claimant cannot make an adjustment to other work, the claimant is disabled. Rabbers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 582 F.3d 647, 652 (6th Cir. 2009) (citing 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a)(4)(i)-(v), 404.1520(b)-(g)). The claimant has the burden of proof at the first four Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 2 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
3 steps of the sequential evaluation process. Id.; Wilson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 378 F.3d 541, 548 (6th Cir. 2004). Once the claimant establishes a prima facie case by showing an inability to perform the relevant previous employment, the burden shifts to the Commissioner to show that the claimant can perform other substantial gainful employment and that such employment exists in the national economy. Rabbers, 582 F.3d at 652; Harmon v. Apfel, 168 F.3d 289, 291 (6th Cir. 1999). B. The Administrative Law Judge’s Findings The ALJ applied the sequential evaluation process and made the following findings of fact and conclusions of law: 1. [Plaintiff] meets the insured status requirements of the Social Security Act through December 31, 2026. 2. [Plaintiff] has not engaged in substantial gainful activity since November 23, 2022, the alleged onset date (20 CFR 404.1571 et seq.). 3. [Plaintiff] has the following severe impairments: obesity; osteoarthritis and impingement syndrome of the left shoulder status-post rotator cuff repair; chondromalacia of the left patella; right knee effusion; post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD); generalized anxiety disorder (GAD); panic disorder; and alcohol dependence (20 CFR 404.1520(c)). 4. [Plaintiff] does not have an impairment or combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of one of the listed impairments in 20 CFR Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1 (20 CFR 404.1520(d), 404.1525 and 404.1526). 5. After careful consideration of the entire record, the [ALJ] finds that [plaintiff] has the residual functional capacity to perform light work as defined in 20 CFR 404.1567(b) except he can frequently push or pull with the bilateral upper extremities; cannot reach overhead but can frequently reach in all other directions with the left (non-dominant) upper extremity; never climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; frequently climb ramps or stairs, kneel, crouch, or crawl; he must avoid unprotected heights, heavy machinery, and commercial driving; he is able to understand, remember, and carry out simple and detailed, but not complex, instructions; he cannot perform work requiring a specific production rate pace, such as assembly-line work, or an hourly production quota, but he can meet production requirements that allow a flexible and goal-oriented pace; he can maintain the focus, Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 3 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
4 persistence, concentration, pace, and attention to engage in such tasks for two-hour increments, for eight-hour workdays, within the confines of normal work breaks and lunch periods; he can deal with occasional changes in a routine work setting; and he can tolerate frequent interaction with supervisors, coworkers, and the general public. 6. [Plaintiff] is unable to perform any past relevant work (20 CFR 404.1565).2 7. [Plaintiff] was born [in] . . . 1978, and was 44 years old, which is defined as a younger individual age 18-49, on the alleged disability onset date (20 CFR 404.1563). 8. [Plaintiff] has at least a high school education (20 CFR 404.1564). 9. Transferability of job skills is not material to the determination of disability because using the Medical-Vocational Rules as a framework supports a finding that [plaintiff] is “not disabled,” whether or not [plaintiff] has transferable job skills (See SSR 82-41 and 20 CFR Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 2). 10. Considering [plaintiff]’s age, education, work experience, and residual functional capacity, there are jobs that exist in significant numbers in the national economy that [plaintiff] can perform (20 CFR 404.1569 and 404.1569a).3 11. [Plaintiff] has not been under a disability, as defined in the Social Security Act, from November 23, 2022, through the date of this decision (20 CFR 404.1520(g)). (Tr. 17-36). C. Judicial Standard of Review Judicial review of the Commissioner’s determination is limited in scope by 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) and involves a twofold inquiry: (1) whether the findings of the ALJ are supported by substantial evidence, and (2) whether the ALJ applied the correct legal standards. See Blakley v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 581 F.3d 399, 405 (6th Cir. 2009); see also Bowen v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 478 F.3d 742, 745-46 (6th Cir. 2007). 2 Plaintiff’s past relevant work was as a Combat Crew Member, a very heavy exertion position as actually and as generally performed. (Tr. 34, 62). 3 Relying on the VE’s testimony, the ALJ found plaintiff would be able to perform the requirements of representative light, unskilled occupations such as marker (59,000 jobs in the national economy), garment sorter (23,000 jobs in the national economy), or router (34,000 jobs in the national economy). (Tr. 35, 63). In the ALJ’s decision, she referred to these as “medium exertion,” but in context, other references to light work it clear that this was a scrivener’s error. Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 4 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
5 The Commissioner’s findings must stand if they are supported by “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 103 (2019) (quoting Consolidated Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 305 U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). Substantial evidence consists of “more than a scintilla of evidence but less than a preponderance. . . .” Rogers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 486 F.3d 234, 241 (6th Cir. 2007). In deciding whether the Commissioner’s findings are supported by substantial evidence, the Court considers the record as a whole. Hephner v. Mathews, 574 F.2d 359 (6th Cir. 1978). The Court must also determine whether the ALJ applied the correct legal standards in the disability determination. Even if substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s conclusion that the plaintiff is not disabled, “a decision of the Commissioner will not be upheld where the SSA fails to follow its own regulations and where that error prejudices a claimant on the merits or deprives the claimant of a substantial right.” Rabbers, 582 F.3d at 651 (quoting Bowen, 478 F.3d at 746). D. Specific Errors4 Plaintiff argues that “the ALJ’s mental RFC assessment is unsupported by any creditable medical opinion evidence whatsoever and, thus, the ALJ implicitly found that the evidence was insufficient and should have further developed the record.” (Doc. 6 at PAGEID 1358). Plaintiff also argues that the ALJ improperly relied on plaintiff’s demeanor and presentation during the administrative hearing, which he refers to as “sit and squirm” jurisprudence. (Id.). A. Duty to develop the record 1. Mental RFC 4 Plaintiff does not raise any arguments related to his physical impairments, and any such arguments are therefore deemed waived. See Watts v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 1:16-cv-319, 2017 WL 430733, at *11 (S.D. Ohio Jan. 31, 2017) (argument waived where plaintiff did not “develop it either legally or factually in the Statement of Errors”) (report and recommendation), adopted, 2017 WL 680538 (S.D. Ohio Feb. 21, 2017). Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 5 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
6 Two state agency psychological consultants reviewed plaintiff’s file, and these were the only medical sources to opine on plaintiff’s mental limitations. Audrey Todd, Ph.D., determined that there was insufficient evidence to render an opinion on plaintiff’s mental RFC (see Tr. 70), and the ALJ therefore did not rely on her opinion. (Tr. 32). Vicki Warren, Ph.D., reviewed the file on reconsideration, noted that she had reviewed additional medical records, and opined that plaintiff had no more than mild limitation in any of the paragraph “B” mental functioning areas. (Tr. 75-76). The ALJ did not find Dr. Warren’s opinion persuasive because it was not supported by the more recent record evidence, and it was inconsistent with other medical evidence detailed in the ALJ’s decision. (Tr. 33). The ALJ concluded that more recent medical evidence demonstrated that plaintiff had moderate limitations in three of the four paragraph “B” mental functioning areas. (Id.). As a result, the ALJ rejected the state agency medical consultant opinions related to plaintiff’s mental impairments. (Tr. 32-33). 2. Arguments While plaintiff acknowledges that the ALJ was not required to adopt any particular medical opinion, he argues that an ALJ may not substitute her lay judgment where an expert opinion is required. He argues that the ALJ’s duty to develop the record includes a duty to complete an incomplete record, and the record here is incomplete because no accepted medical source “meaningfully opined” on plaintiffs mental impairments. (Doc. 6 at PAGEID 1367). The Commissioner argues in response that the ALJ extensively discussed and based her RFC determination on substantial non-opinion evidence. The Commissioner points to the ALJ’s discussion of plaintiff’s subjective symptom reports, reported activities of daily living, medical records related to mental impairments, and their consistency with one another. The Commissioner notes that the ALJ explained why she did not rely on a letter from plaintiff’s Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 6 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
7 counselor or plaintiff’s Department of Veterans Affairs disability rating. The Commissioner emphasizes that it is precisely the province of the ALJ to determine a claimant’s RFC based on the evidence of record. In reply, plaintiff maintains that while the ALJ need not adopt a particular medical opinion in her RFC determination, the failure to do so here was tantamount to not fully developing the record as required under the regulations. 3. Analysis The ALJ is charged with the final responsibility in determining a claimant’s RFC. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1546(c). A claimant’s RFC is an assessment of “the most [a claimant] can still do despite [his] limitations.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(1). A claimant’s RFC assessment must be based on all the relevant medical and other evidence in his case file. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(3). The governing regulations5 describe five different categories of evidence: (1) objective medical evidence, (2) medical opinions, (3) other medical evidence, (4) evidence from nonmedical sources, and (5) prior administrative medical findings. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1513(a)(1)-(5). With regard to two of these categories—medical opinions and prior administrative findings—an ALJ is not required to “defer or give any specific evidentiary weight, including controlling weight, to any medical opinion(s) or prior administrative finding(s) including those from [the claimant’s] medical sources.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520c(a). As for development of the record, “[t]he ALJ has discretion to determine whether additional evidence is necessary.” Ferguson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 628 F.3d 269, 275 (6th Cir. 2010). The responsibility for record development in the disability context is subject to some 5 Plaintiff’s application was filed after March 27, 2017. Therefore, it is governed by the revised regulations redefining how evidence is categorized and evaluated when an RFC is assessed. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1513(a), 404.1520c. Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 7 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
8 tension in relevant law and regulations. On one hand, under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545(a)(3), “before [the Social Security Administration] make[s] a determination that you are not disabled, [it is] responsible for developing your complete medical history, including arranging for a consultative examination(s) if necessary, and making every reasonable effort to help you get medical reports from your own medical sources.” See also id. at § 404.1512(b)(1) (“Before [the Social Security Administration] make[s] a determination that you are not disabled, we will develop your complete medical history. . . . We will make every reasonable effort to help you get medical evidence. . . .”). The Sixth Circuit has noted that “develop[ing] a full and fair record” is a “basic obligation” of the ALJ. Kidd v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 283 F. App’x 336, 344 (6th Cir. 2008) (quoting Lashley v. Sec’y of Health and Human Servs., 708 F.2d 1048, 1051 (6th Cir. 1983)). On the other hand, under 20 C.F.R. § 404.1512(a)(1), “[i]n general, you have to prove to us that you are . . . disabled.” A plaintiff has the burden of proof on the first four steps of the disability evaluation process. Rabbers, 582 F.3d at 652; Wilson v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 280 F. App’x 456, 459 (6th Cir. 2008) (“[T]his court repeatedly affirms that the claimant bears the ultimate burden of proving disability.”). Balancing these competing principles, the Sixth Circuit has held that the duty to conduct a full inquiry “does not require [record development] at government expense unless the record establishes that such [record development] is necessary to enable the [ALJ] to make the disability decision.” Landsaw v. Sec’y of Health & Human Servs., 803 F.2d 211, 214 (6th Cir. 1986) (quoting Turner v. Califano, 563 F.2d 669, 671 (5th Cir. 1977)). In this case, the ALJ’s RFC determination is based on substantial evidence, and the ALJ was under no obligation to further develop the record. The ALJ’s decision reflects a thorough review of the evidence of record, beginning with her discussion of the paragraph “B” criteria. Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 8 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
9 The ALJ considered the first functional area of the paragraph “B” criteria—understanding, remembering, or applying information. The ALJ contrasted plaintiff’s statements in his function report suggesting difficulty in understanding, remembering, or applying information with plaintiff’s testimony and other parts of that report that showed plaintiff prepared simple meals, contributed to household chores, ordered food online, paid bills, counted change, and handled a savings account. (Tr. 20-21, referring to Tr. 257-64 and Tr. 51-59). The ALJ also considered plaintiff’s report that he could manage his own funds, which requires significant cognitive facilities. (Tr. 21). The ALJ further reviewed plaintiff’s mental status examinations and noted that “all” showed intact memory and average or appropriate fund of knowledge (see Tr. 21, referring to Tr. 494, 496, 1051-52, 1120-21, 1303) and none showed reported memory issues (see id., referring to Tr. 392, 425, 461, 494, 539, 1233, 1253, 1282, 1301). The ALJ reasonably found no limitation in this mental functioning area. (Tr. 21). Next, the ALJ addressed the functional area of interacting with others. (Id.). The ALJ considered plaintiff’s function report and testimony with respect to his reported difficulties in interacting with others. (Id., referring to Tr. 257-64 and Tr. 51-59). The ALJ contrasted plaintiff’s reported difficulties, however, with the fact that he reported interacting with friends at least once per week and seeing a counselor weekly. (Id., referring to Tr. 53, 56). While acknowledging certain records that showed plaintiff’s presentation on examination as tired, depressed, or frustrated, the ALJ noted that most medical records reflected plaintiff’s unremarkable mood. (Id., referring to Tr. 341-42, 394, 426, 462, 475, 478, 480-81, 484-85, 496, 504-05, 507, 509, 514, 529, 541 (mood okay/pleasant/good/euthymic)). The ALJ then summarized records from medication management and primary care visits between March of 2023 and September of 2024. (Tr. 21-22). While acknowledging certain remarkable findings Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 9 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
10 (plaintiff reporting an altercation with his fiancé, difficulty sleeping, and a PTSD flare up), the ALJ explained that most records reflected improvement with medication (see Tr. 22, referring to Tr. 388, 1229), unremarkable mental status examination findings (id., referring to Tr. 392-95, 408, 461-63, 494-97, 1233-35, 1254-55), and that plaintiff’s panic disorder was eventually assessed as in “partial remission” (id., referring to Tr. 1238, 1258). This is substantial evidence supporting the ALJ’s assessment of moderate limitation in this mental functioning area. (Tr. 22). The ALJ also considered plaintiff’s function report and testimony with respect to his reported difficulties in the third functional area of the paragraph “B” criteria—concentrating, persisting, or maintaining pace. (Tr. 22, referring to Tr. 257-64 and Tr. 51-59). Plaintiff alleged difficulty with competing tasks and concentration. The ALJ contrasted this, however, with plaintiff’s reported abilities to prepare meals, order food online, do the dishes, do yard work, and care for pets. (Id., referring to Tr. 257-64 and Tr. 54). The ALJ also noted that examination findings do not demonstrate a marked or serious limitation of functioning, referencing a series of records showing that plaintiff’s attention and concentration abilities were within normal limits. (Tr. 22-23, referring to Tr. 395, 427, 463, 496, 541, 605, 740, 809-10, 854, 873, 943, 1051, 1095, 1235, 1255, 1284, 1303). The ALJ also compared plaintiff’s testimony that he experiences three to four panic attacks each week with the medical record. Notably, at a medication management appointment in March 2023, plaintiff reported only two panic attacks since December 2022, lasting 20 minutes each. (Tr. 23, referring to Tr. 490). The provider assessed his panic disorder as well controlled. (Id., referring to Tr. 500). In May 2024, plaintiff’s panic disorder was assessed as being in partial remission. (Id., referring to Tr. 1258). In September 2024, plaintiff’s panic attacks were reduced with a change in medication, and his provider again assessed his panic disorder as being in partial remission. (Id., referring to Tr. 1229, 1238). The ALJ repeated her Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 10 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
11 summary of plaintiff’s medication and primary care visit records between March of 2023 and September 2024 as mostly unremarkable with respect to reported mental health symptoms or findings on examination. (Tr. 23). Based on that summary and the other records discussed, the ALJ reasonably assessed a moderate limitation in this mental functioning area. As for the fourth functional area of the paragraph “B” criteria—adapting or managing oneself—the ALJ again considered reported difficulties reflected in plaintiff’s function report and testimony. (Tr. 23, referring to Tr. 257-64 and Tr. 51-59). The ALJ contrasted this, however, with plaintiff’s ability to care for pets, prepare simple meals, do household chores, pay bills, count change, handle a savings account, manage his medications and counseling appointments, and remain sober. (Id.). The ALJ noted that plaintiff’s mental status examinations generally showed fair, good, or unremarkable insight and normal grooming. (Tr. 23-24, referring to Tr. 496-97, 1051-52, 1120-21, 1283-84, 1302-03). The ALJ reasonably determined that while the record as a whole demonstrated some degree of impairment, plaintiff has no worse than moderate limitations in this area of functioning. This conclusion supported by substantial evidence. The ALJ also acknowledged the medical records reflecting remarkable symptom reports or objective findings beginning in June 2022—namely, those describing alcohol abuse, nightmares, flashbacks, and panic attacks. (See Tr. 28). The ALJ explained that plaintiff underwent inpatient treatment for alcohol use, aftercare treatment, and group therapy. (Tr. 28- 29). The ALJ reiterated a summary of plaintiff’s medication management and primary care visits between March of 2023 and September of 2024. (Id.). On this basis, the ALJ concluded that “[a]side from some findings related to mood and reports of difficulty sleeping, the claimant’s mental status examination and psychological exam findings demonstrated generally that the claimant’s impairments are well controlled with medication and with counseling/therapy. The Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 11 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
12 evidence supports mental functional limitations, but not to the extent alleged.” (Tr. 29). Based on the record as a whole, the ALJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence. Critically, plaintiff fails to argue that the ALJ erred in any part of this analysis, such as by cherry picking records or not properly evaluating plaintiff’s symptoms under applicable regulations. Plaintiff’s core argument is simply that this analysis was incomplete. Plaintiff relies heavily on the following passage from: Anita Lynn H.-J. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 3:21-cv-025, 2022 WL 10686665 (S.D. Ohio June 23, 2022): [W]hile there is ‘no bright line test’ for determining whether the ALJ has failed to fully develop the record, [Lashley v. Sec’y of Health and Human Servs., 708 F.2d 1048, 1052 (6th Cir. 1983)], matters are subject to remand if the ‘ALJ makes a finding of work-related limitations based on no medical source opinion or an outdated source opinion that did not include consideration of a critical body of objective medical evidence.’ Kizys v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:10-cv-25, 2011 WL 5024866, at *1-3 (N.D. Ohio Oct. 21, 2011). Id. at *3 (emphasis added). In that case, however, the ALJ had adopted the opinion of two non- examining state agency physicians despite the fact that those physicians had not reviewed “numerous examinations with abnormal findings” that included several x-rays of different parts of the body reflecting impairments. Id. at *4. The Court concluded that further development was necessary given this “critical body of objective medical evidence,” which had not been accounted for by adopting the state agency opinions. Id. (quoting Kizys v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:10- cv-25, 2011 WL 5024866, at *13 (N.D. Ohio Oct. 21, 2011)). This case is readily distinguishable from the case at bar, where plaintiff appears to concede that the ALJ properly considered all of the evidence in the record. Plaintiff also relies on Susan T. v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 3:22-cv-41, 2023 WL 2594989 (S.D. Ohio Mar. 22, 2023), where the Court remanded the case for further development of the record. In that case, the ALJ did not rely on any medical opinions because the state agency Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 12 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
13 consultants had found that there was “insufficient evidence” on which to form an opinion. In addition, the ALJ acknowledged that “there was not a ‘plethora of information’” otherwise regarding plaintiff’s mental or physical impairments, which were “significant[,] . . . complex[,]” and “overlapping. . . .” Id. at *8. The Court concluded that “no medical evidence” at all supported the ALJ’s RFC determination. Id. at *7. By contrast, in the case at bar, the ALJ considered substantial non-opinion medical and other evidence. Moreover, the Sixth Circuit has rejected the contention that an RFC determination must be based on a medical opinion. See Rudd v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 531 F. App’x 719, 728 (6th Cir. 2013) (“[T]he ALJ was not required to base her determination on a medical opinion, and substantial evidence, including objective medical evidence, supported her decision.”); Shepard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 705 F. App’x 435, 442 (6th Cir. 2017) (quoting Rudd, 531 F. App’x at 728) (“Shepard also argues that the ALJ’s RFC lacks substantial evidence because no physician opined that Shepard was capable of light work. But ‘the ALJ is charged with the responsibility of determining the RFC based on her evaluation of the medical and non-medical evidence.’”); Mokbel-Aljahmi v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 732 F. App’x 395, 402 (6th Cir. 2018) (citing Rudd and Shepard and finding no error by the ALJ in giving virtually no weight to the medical opinions in the record, and finding that substantial evidence supported the RFC determination where “[t]he ALJ undertook a laborious evaluation of the medical record”); Tucker v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 775 F. App’x 220, 226 (6th Cir. 2019) (“No bright-line rule exists in our circuit directing that medical opinions must be the building blocks of the residual functional capacity finding, but the administrative law judge must make a connection between the evidence relied on and the conclusion reached. The administrative law judge made that connection here.”). The ALJ here Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 13 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
14 undertook a comprehensive and detailed examination of the medical record, and the Court finds no error in the ALJ’s lack of reliance on medical opinion evidence. The plaintiff in Davis v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 2:18-cv-10228, 2019 WL 2051899 (E.D. Mich. Feb. 19, 2019) (report and recommendation), adopted, 2019 WL 1324239 (E.D. Mich. Mar. 25, 2019), made a very similar argument to plaintiff here—asserting the sole error was the fact that the ALJ failed to rely on a medical opinion in formulating the RFC. Id. at *5. The court concluded that substantial evidence supported the ALJ’s decision because, the lack of reliance on a medical opinion notwithstanding, he had clearly articulated the evidence he considered and explained inconsistencies in the evidence. Id. at *6. The court also noted that, like here, the plaintiff “fail[ed] to suggest what additional limitations the ALJ should have included in the RFC assessment, or identify any evidence that would compel greater limitations.” Id. Plaintiff here asserts that he has been “diagnosed with psychiatric impairments, been treated significantly for those impairments, and has endorsed symptoms related to his mental health” but fails to identify any further limitations warranted by those generic observations. (Doc. 6 at PAGEID 1367). The ALJ carefully considered the evidence of record regarding plaintiff’s mental impairments, including plaintiff’s testimony and function report, medical records related to his mental impairments, and state agency opinions. Plaintiff does not challenge the ALJ’s assessment of this evidence; the ALJ was not required to secure a medical opinion before determining a plaintiff’s RFC where substantial evidence otherwise supports the ALJ’s RFC determination; and there is no unresolved conflict in the record evidence. There was sufficient evidence in the record for the ALJ to make a disability determination, and that decision is substantially supported by the record. This assignment of error should be overruled. Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 14 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
15 B. “Sit and Squirm” In this narrow assignment of error, plaintiff faults the ALJ for her several references to plaintiff’s normal/appropriate demeanor at the hearing as evidence supporting her RFC determination (see Tr. 21-24). The Commissioner argues in response that while such references might have amounted to error if the ALJ had assigned them inordinate weight or otherwise ignored relevant medical evidence, the ALJ’s RFC determination here is supported by substantial evidence. The Commissioner also argues that it is not “categorically inappropriate for an ALJ to make personal observations from the hearing. . . .” (Doc. 9 at PAGEID 1384). As explained above, the ALJ’s decision is based on substantial evidence. It was therefore not error for the ALJ to remark on plaintiff’s hearing demeanor. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1529 (“We will consider all of the evidence presented, including . . . observations by our employees. . . .”). This assignment of error should be overruled. IT IS THEREFORE RECOMMENDED THAT: 1. Plaintiff’s statement of errors (Doc. 6) be OVERRULED and the Commissioner’s non-disability finding be AFFIRMED. 2. Judgment be entered in favor of the Commissioner and this case be closed on the docket of the Court. Date: _________________________ __________________________________ Karen L. Litkovitz United States Magistrate Judge 12/23/2025 Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 15 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
16 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO EASTERN DIVISION DEREK B., Case No. 3:25-cv-83 Plaintiff, Newman, J. Litkovitz, MJ. vs. COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, Defendant. NOTICE Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 72(b), WITHIN 14 DAYS after being served with a copy of the recommended disposition, a party may serve and file specific written objections to the proposed findings and recommendations. This period may be extended further by the Court on timely motion for an extension. Such objections shall specify the portions of the Report objected to and shall be accompanied by a memorandum of law in support of the objections. If the Report and Recommendation is based in whole or in part upon matters occurring on the record at an oral hearing, the objecting party shall promptly arrange for the transcription of the record, or such portions of it as all parties may agree upon, or the Magistrate Judge deems sufficient, unless the assigned District Judge otherwise directs. A party may respond to another party's objections WITHIN 14 DAYS after being served with a copy thereof. Failure to make objections in accordance with this procedure may forfeit rights on appeal. See Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140 (1985); United States v. Walters, 638 F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1981). Case: 3:25-cv-00083-MJN-KLL Doc #: 12 Filed: 12/23/25 Page: 16 of 16 PAGEID #: <pageID>
Was bedeutet dieser Text für Ihre Situation?
Kostenlose und unverbindliche Beratung
Schildern Sie uns Ihre Situation. Unser Team meldet sich per E-Mail bei Ihnen für Ihre Beratung.
Setzen Sie Ihre Recherche in ChatGPT oder Claude fort
Verbinden Sie Omnilex, um den Rechtskorpus über Ihren KI-Assistenten zu durchsuchen.