0:22-cv-03132•Eide Bailly LLP v. Humphreys
Gesamter Gesetzestext
1 UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA Eide Bailly LLP, Plaintiff and Counterclaim Defendant, vs. Michael Humphreys, Acting Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, in his capacity as the Statutory Rehabilitator of Senior Health Insurance Company of Pennsylvania, Defendant and Counterclaimant. Case No. 22-cv-3132 (MJD/SGE) REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION This matter is before the Court on several motions filed by Plaintiff/Counterclaimant Eide Bailly LLP’s (“Eide Bailly”) and Defendant/Counterclaimant Michael Humphreys (“the Rehabilitator”), Acting Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, in his capacity as the Statutory Rehabilitator of Senior Health Insurance Company of Pennsylvania. Specifically, Eide Bailly has filed a Motion for Summary Judgment (Dkt. 92) and three Motions to Exclude Expert Testimony (Dkts. 97, 102, & 107), and the Rehabilitator has filed a separate Motion to Exclude Expert Testimony (Dkt. 117.) This matter has been referred to the undersigned by United States District Judge Michael J. Davis for report and recommendation under 82 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B). For the reasons set forth below, this Court recommends that the Motions to Exclude Expert Testimony all be denied and the Motion for Summary Judgment be granted. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 1 of 36
2 FACTS Senior Health Insurance Company of Pennsylvania (“SHIP”) is an insurance company domiciled in Pennsylvania. (Ans., Dkt. 30, ¶ 22.) Since 1964, SHIP and its predecessors have administered long-term care insurance policies. (Id. ¶ 24.) SHIP has not sold new policies since 2003. (Id. ¶ 25.) Pennsylvania state law requires an insurer like SHIP to submit financial statements to the Pennsylvania Insurance Department (“PID”) each year. 40 P.S. § 443(a)(1). These statements disclose the company’s assets and liabilities. As it relates to SHIP, this includes SHIP’s policy and actuarial claim reserves—“estimated future payments of claims to policyholders,” which are “determined and maintained subject to estimates, assumptions, and prior years’ statistics.” (Ex. 29 at 10.) 1 These estimates are prepared by professional actuaries. (Ex. 4 at 172.) Pennsylvania law also requires Pennsylvania-domiciled insurers to have an independent certified public accountant audit their financial statements by June 1 each year. 31 Pa. Code § 147.3(a). In that statutorily required audit report, the auditor opines on whether the insurer’s financial statements “present fairly, in all material respects, the financial position of the Company . . . and the results of its operations and cash flows” as of December 31 of the previous year. (Ex. 29 at 2.) Eide Bailly is an accounting firm. (Ans. ¶ 18.) SHIP engaged Eide Bailly as an independent auditor for fiscal years 2013 through 2019 to comply with the Pennsylvania law mandating an annual audit. (Id. ¶ 49.) According to their engagement agreements, 1 “Ex.” refers to exhibits to the Declaration of Mark L. Johnson, Dkt. 112. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 2 of 36
3 Eide Bailly was to “express an opinion about whether [SHIP’s] financial statements [were] fairly presented, in all material respects, in conformity with accounting practices prescribed or permitted by” PID. (Ex. 15 at 1.) For its part in the agreement with Eide Bailly, SHIP was responsible “for the preparation and fair presentation of the financial statements in conformity with accounting practices prescribed or permitted by” PID. (Id. at 2.) Milliman USA (“Milliman”) contracted with SHIP to provide actuarial projections, analysis, and assumptions to reflect SHIP’s financial status from 2008 to 2019. (Ans. ¶ 48.) Actuaries at Milliman “provided the reserve numbers to the company for inclusion in the financial statements. And then [Milliman] would have done the cashflow testing. And other actuarial . . . modeling as required, which also included the production of an actuarial memorandum and then an actuarial opinion that they would have signed off on.” (Ex. 4 at 39-40.) To audit SHIP’s financial statements, Eide Bailly engaged its own actuarial specialists to support its reviews of Milliman’s work and SHIP’s actuarial reserves. (Ans. ¶ 49; see also Ex. 17.) Working with Eide Bailly, Lewis & Ellis (“L&E”) supported the 2013, 2014, and 2015 audits (Ans. ¶ 132); Axene Health Partners supported the 2015 and 2016 audits (Exs. 23, 32); and an in-house Eide Bailly actuary supported subsequent audits. (Ex. 50 at 51.) On April 6, 2016, Milliman issued an actuarial memorandum regarding SHIP’s reserves at the end of 2015. (Ex. 16.) L&E reviewed the memorandum and expressed “difficulty becoming comfortable with a couple of the assumption changes made for CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 3 of 36
4 2015.” (Ex. 17.) Specifically, L&E believed that Milliman’s assumptions regarding policy lapse and mortality rate and the lengthening of the morbidity improvement assumption were unsupported, and that Milliman’s projection that SHIP would see two years of losses followed by substantial period of profitability was unrealistic. (See Ex. 26 at 28.) Eide Bailly continued to facilitate discussions between L&E and Milliman, but the two could not find a middle ground. (Exs. 17, 18, & 20.) SHIP knew of the concerns that L&E raised but represented to Eide Bailly that they “agree[d] with the findings of Milliman (the specialists) in evaluating [SHIP]’s aggregate reserves.” (Ex. 30 at SHIP-EB-009577.) Thereafter, Eide Bailly engaged Axene to review Milliman’s work and offer its view on the issues L&E identified. (Ex. 23.) Axene reviewed Milliman’s work and issued a report. (Ex. 28.) In the report, Axene determined that Milliman’s assumptions were reasonable. (Id. at 2.) After receiving Axene’s report, Eide Bailly issued an unmodified audit opinion of SHIP’s 2015 financial statements in June 2016. (Ex. 29.) In January 2017, PID retained actuarial consultant Oliver Wyman “to review SHIP’s reserves.” (Ans. ¶ 161.) Wyman delivered a draft report to PID in July 2017, and a final report in October 2017. (Exs. 34, 35.) In his report, Wyman noted the same issues with SHIP’s reserves that L&E had identified during its 2015 audit—that SHIP’s reserves were severely deficient and its projected assets were materially short of its expected liabilities. (Ans. ¶ 161.) In November 2017, PID accepted Wyman’s actuarial examination of SHIP (Ex. 36.) PID informed SHIP that it would “continue to closely CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 4 of 36
5 monitor [SHIP’s] financial condition and operating results.” (Ex. 36 at 4.) PID continued monitoring SHIP and eventually placed it under formal supervision in February 2018, appointing Patrick Cantilo as the duly authorized representative for PID. (Ex. 37.) In January 2019, Mr. Cantilo, acting as SHIP’s appointed supervisor, developed a draft rehabilitation plan for SHIP’s LTC business. (Ex. 38.) Jessica K. Altman, Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, eventually petitioned in January 2020 for an order placing SHIP into rehabilitation. (Ex. 39.) A Pennsylvania court ordered SHIP into rehabilitation a week later, naming Ms. Altman as Rehabilitator. (Ex. 40.) Michael Humphreys, Acting Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania succeeded Ms. Altman as Rehabilitator, and SHIP’s rehabilitation remains ongoing. The Rehabilitator filed an initial rehabilitation plan in April 2020. (Ex. 41 at 5.) Multiple parties interested in SHIP’s rehabilitation intervened and provided comments for the Rehabilitator’s consideration. (Ex. 41 at 6; see also Ex. 59.) The Rehabilitator filed an amended rehabilitation plan in October 2020. (Ex. 41 at 6.) Another comment period followed, and then a second amended rehabilitation issued in May 2021. (Ex. 41 at 6.) This second amended rehabilitation plan described a phased approach under which policyholders would choose from a menu of options including increased premiums or reduced insurance benefits. (Ex. 41 at 6-10; see also Ex. 42.) The Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania held a five-day hearing in May 2021. (See Ex. 41 at 69.) Ultimately, the court rejected various intervenors’ objections and approved the second amended rehabilitation plan in August 2021. (Id. at 2, 78-82.) CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 5 of 36
6 A few months later, in January 2022, SHIP sent notices of potential future policy modifications and rate increases to some policy holders. (Ex. 49 at Ex. B, p. 1.) Regulators from other states intervened and appealed the plan’s approval to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. (Ex. 48.) These collateral challenges delayed the Rehabilitator from implementing any policy modifications. (See Ex. 49 at Ex. 1, p. 13.) The Pennsylvania Supreme Court subsequently affirmed the approval of SHIP’s second amended rehabilitation plan in June 2023. (Ex. 48.) In this action, the Rehabilitator claims that Eide Bailly’s negligent audit of SHIP’s actuarial reserves in 2015 directly contributed to SHIP’s financial harm. It states that, in light of L&E’s concerns about Milliman’s actuarial assumptions, Eide Bailly should not have issued an unmodified or “clean” audit opinion on SHIP’s 2015 financial statements in June 2016. The Rehabilitator claims that, but for Eide Bailly’s unmodified audit opinion, SHIP would have been placed in rehabilitation much sooner, its rehabilitation would have proceeded much faster, and it would have received an additional $234 million in premium revenue. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND Eide Bailly filed this action seeking a declaration that the Rehabilitator has no valid claims against Eide Bailly arising from the above events. (Dkt. 1.) The Rehabilitator answered and asserted various counterclaims. (Ans.) The Rehabilitator’s counterclaims that arose before 2016 were dismissed, as were its claims for breach of fiduciary duty and fraudulent concealment. (Dkt. 68 at 44-45.) The Rehabilitator later abandoned its claim that Eide Bailly was professionally negligent in connection with SHIP’s Roebling CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 6 of 36
7 reinsurance transaction. (Ex. 56 at 12-13; Ex. 10 at 9.) This leaves only the Rehabilitator’s claim that Eide Bailly was professionally negligent in connection with “the appointment of Axene” to review L&E’s concerns with Milliman’s actuarial assumptions about SHIP’s reserves. (Dkt. 68 at 44-45.) Eide Bailly now moves to exclude three of the Rehabilitator’s expert witnesses from testifying: James Wrynn, Lisa Kuklinski, and Carl Harris. For his part, the Rehabilitator moves to exclude three of Eide Bailly’s expert witnesses from testifying: Avram Tucker, Timothy Gustafson, and Marc Cohen. Eide Bailly also moves for summary judgment on the Rehabilitator’s sole remaining claim for professional negligence. Judge Davis referred the parties’ motions to the undersigned for a report and recommendation, and this Court heard oral argument on the parties’ motions on September 29, 2025. The motions have been fully briefed, and the issues are now ripe for disposition. Because the parties’ Daubert motions might affect the factual record available for the jury’s consideration, the Court will address the Daubert motions first. ANALYSIS I. Daubert Motions A. Legal Standard The admissibility of expert testimony is governed by Federal Rule of Evidence 702. The proponent of the testimony has the burden to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the testimony is admissible under Rule 702. Lauzon v. Senco Prods., Inc., 270 F.3d 681, 686 (8th Cir. 2001). Under the Rule: CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 7 of 36
8 A witness who is qualified as an expert by knowledge, skill, experience, training, or education may testify in the form of an opinion or otherwise if: (a) The expert’s scientific, technical, or other specialized knowledge will help the trier of fact to understand the evidence or to determine a fact in issue; (b) The testimony is based on sufficient facts or data; (c) The testimony is the product of reliable principles and methods; and (d) The expert has reliably applied the principles and methods to the facts of the case. Fed. R. Evid. 702. “Under the framework developed in Daubert, trial courts must serve as gatekeepers to insure that proffered expert testimony is both relevant and reliable. Trial courts are given broad discretion in fulfilling this gatekeeping role . . . .” Wagner v. Hesston Corp., 450 F.3d 756, 758 (8th Cir. 2006) (citations omitted). The proposed testimony must be useful to the factfinder; the expert witness must be qualified; and the proposed evidence must be reliable. Lauzon, 270 F.3d at 686. Even where an expert may be qualified, the court must continue to perform its gatekeeping role by ensuring that the particular testimony “does not exceed the scope of the expert’s expertise, which if not done can render expert testimony unreliable.” Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel Corp. v. Beelman River Terminals, Inc., 254 F.3d 706, 715 (8th Cir. 2001). “[D]oubts regarding whether an expert’s testimony will be useful should generally be resolved in favor of admissibility.” Miles v. Gen. Motors Corp., 262 F.3d 720, 724 (8th Cir. 2001) (citation omitted). CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 8 of 36
9 In determining the reliability and relevancy of the proffered testimony, the Court examines factors such as Whether the theory or technique is subject to testing, whether it has been tested, whether it has been subjected to peer review and publication, whether there is a high known or potential rate of error associated with it, and whether it is generally accepted within the relevant community. Unrein v. Timesavers, Inc., 394 F.3d 1008, 1011 (8th Cir. 2005) (citation omitted.) Subsequent cases have proposed additional factors, including whether the expertise was developed for litigation or naturally flowed from the expert’s research; whether the proposed expert ruled out other alternative explanations; and whether the proposed expert sufficiently connected the proposed testimony with the facts of the case. Polski v. Quigley Corp., 538 F.3d 836, 839 (8th Cir. 2008) (citation omitted). This evidentiary inquiry, however, “is meant to be flexible and fact specific, and a court should use, adapt, or reject Daubert factors as the particular case demands. There is no single requirement for admissibility as long as the proffer indicates that the expert evidence is reliable and relevant.” Unrein, 394 F.3d at 1011 (citation omitted). If a party believes that an expert opinion has not considered all of the relevant facts, an objection to its admission is appropriate. Even a theory that might meet certain Daubert factors, such as peer review and publication, testing, known or potential error rate, and general acceptance, should not be admitted if it does not apply to the specific facts of the case. Concord Boat Corp. v. Brunswick Corp., 207 F.3d 1039, 1056 (8th Cir. 2000) (citations and footnote omitted). However, [a]s a general rule, the factual basis of an expert opinion goes to the credibility of the testimony, not the admissibility, and it is up to the opposing party to examine the factual basis for the opinion in cross- CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 9 of 36
10 examination. Only if the expert’s opinion is so fundamentally unsupported that it can offer no assistance to the jury must such testimony be excluded. Bonner v. ISP Techs., Inc., 259 F.3d 924, 929-30 (8th Cir. 2001) (citation omitted). B. Eide Bailly’s Daubert Motions 1. James Wrynn The Rehabilitator offers the expert testimony of James Wrynn, a Senior managing director in the Global Insurance Services practice of FTI Consulting, Inc. (“FTI”) with expertise in insurance matters. (Ex. 57 ¶ 2.) Mr. Wrynn is a licensed attorney with extensive experience litigating insurance issues since 1982. (Id. ¶ 3.) He served in numerous roles in various New York State entities, including as Executive Director of the New York State Insurance Fund in April 2009, and superintendent of the New York State Department of Insurance, and First Deputy Superintendent of the New York State Department of Financial Services. (Id. ¶¶ 4-7, App. 1.) After serving in these capacities, Mr. Wrynn returned to the private sector where he worked in a variety of insurance and reinsurance matters. (Id. ¶¶ 8-14.) Mr. Wrynn opines that audit opinions “are of critical importance [to regulators] in assessing the financial condition of the insurer.” (Ex. 57 ¶¶ 53-61.) He further opines that if Eide Bailly had issued a modified opinion or not signed any audit opinion in June 2016, PID could have taken “prompt regulatory action.” (Id. ¶¶ 62-65.) Mr. Wrynn also opines that PID’s actions after June 2016 would have significantly changed had there been a different audit outcome. (See id. ¶¶ 66-78.) In his deposition testimony, Mr. Wrynn stated that it was “unlikely” that SHIP would have been placed into rehabilitation CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 10 of 36
11 within six months. (Ex. 13 at 34.) He also testified that a different audit outcome might have caused PID to examine SHIP sooner. (Id. at 15, 24-25, 112.) Eide Bailly argues that Mr. Wrynn’s opinions are unreliable because he lacks relevant regulatory experience. This Court disagrees. Mr. Wrynn has extensive experience in the insurance industry, including working in state regulatory agencies and serving as Vice-Chair of the Solvency Modernization Initiative and the Insurance Association of Insurance Commissioners. Although Mr. Wrynn’s experience does not include the experience of seeing a modified audit report or placing a long-term insurance company into rehabilitation, his experience does include serving in a state body that ensured the solvency of insurance carriers and a familiarity with the regulatory landscape, including the importance of statutory audits. Eide Bailly relies on case law where courts have determined that the witness’s expertise did not sufficiently overlap with the area on which they were asked to offer an expert opinion. Waitek v. Dalkon Shield Claimants Tr., 934 F. Supp. 1068, 1085 (N.D. Iowa 1996) (if the proposed expert witness’s experience “does not provide the requisite expertise in the area on which they are asked to offer an expert opinion, the witness’s testimony may be excluded”); Hale County A & M Transport, LLC v. City of Kansas City, 998 F. Supp. 2d 838, 843 (W.D. Mo. 2014) (excluding pilot’s testimony on snow removal because he had “neither managed a snow removal team at an airport nor ha[d] he personally participated in a snow removal process”). Eide Bailly’s argument, however, narrows what courts accept as relevant experience beyond the vanishing point. Mr. Wrynn’s experience in the insurance industry—including his time as a regulator placing CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 11 of 36
12 insurance companies in rehabilitation—is much more akin to a doctor with experience treating patients who have used the medical device in question testifying about whether the device cause the plaintiff’s injuries than it is a pilot testifying about airport snow removal. Compare Waitek, 934 F. Supp. at 1089, with Hale County A & M Transport, 998 F. Supp. 2d at 843. This Court agrees that Mr. Wrynn’s testimony is relevant and will be helpful to the fact-finder. He is qualified to render the opinions included in his report, and Eide Bailly’s challenges to the factual bases of those opinions go to the weight of his testimony rather than its admissibility. Accordingly, this court recommends that Eide Bailly’s motion to exclude Mr. Wrynn’s testimony be denied. 2. Lisa Kuklinski The Rehabilitator also offers the expert testimony of Lisa Kuklinski, a practicing actuary and Managing Director at FTI in the Life and health actuarial team. (Ex. 52 at ¶¶ 5-6.) Ms. Kuklinski is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries. (Id. ¶ 7. She has worked as an actuary since 1990, including as Chief Actuary of MetLife’s U.S. and Latin America region, overseeing, inter alia, individual and group life insurance. (Ex. 52 ¶ 6, Ex. A.) Ms. Kuklinski was retained to provide opinions regarding SHIP’s damages. (Ex. 52 ¶ 1.) As part of her report, Ms. Kuklinski assumed that “[h]ad Eide Bailly conducted their audits in accordance with GAAS, the PID would have sooner become aware of SHIP’s true financial condition,” and “SHIP would have been placed under the control of PID.” (Ex. 52 ¶ 42.) Ms. Kuklinski further assumed that SHIP would have been placed in rehabilitation on January 1, 2017” (referred to as “Six Months to Rehab”), and that “the CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 12 of 36
13 Rehabilitator would have taken similar actions as was done in 2020 to improve SHIP’s financial condition[.]” (Id. ¶ 42.) Ms. Kuklinski further assumed that SHIP’s rehabilitation would have proceeded such that all of SHIP’s insureds would have willingly accepted a 60.8% premium increase rather than opt for reduced insurance benefits. (Id. ¶¶ 45-48.) Ultimately, Ms. Kuklinski offered an opinion setting forth her calculations as to the extent of damages that SHIP and its policyholders suffered. Eide Bailly argues that Ms. Kuklinski is not qualified to offer her damages opinions or underlying timing assumptions, and that her damages opinion lacks support and is based on an unreliable application of her method to the facts. This challenge falls flat. Ms. Kuklinski’s background and qualifications satisfy Rule 702’s standard. She has been an actuary for 30 years focusing on insurance companies, and she worked on other substantial rehabilitation events, including the D.H. Baldwin Company and the PHL Variable Insurance Company. (Kuklinski Aff., Dkt. 134-2, ¶¶ 4-5.) Ms. Kuklinski is qualified to offer her expert opinion as to the extent of damages based on assumptions that she includes in her report. Eide Bailly also challenges Ms. Kuklinski’s opinion for her reliance on Mr. Harris’s rate-increase calculation, arguing that nothing in Ms. Kuklinski’s opinion or testimony suggests that she “verif[ied] Harris’s model, the evidence on which it relies, or even his arithmetic.” (Dkt. 104 at 26.) This is an issue of weight, not admissibility. For one, Eide Bailly’s argument that Ms. Kuklinski’s report merely repeats simple arithmetic is belied by a cursory review of the report itself. (See Ex. 52.) Furthermore, Ms. Kuklinski addressed concerns that she did not independently evaluate Harris’s model CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 13 of 36
14 both in her deposition and in her subsequent affidavit, stating she “fundamentally understood and supported [Mr. Harris’s] assumptions and methodology.” (Dkt. 134-2 ¶ 20; see also Ex. 10 at 204 (stating that she and Mr. Harris had discussions about his model).) This Court determines that Ms. Kuklinski’s expert opinion is based on sufficient facts, is the product of reliable methods reliably applied to the facts of the case, and is relevant to the issues that the jury will face. Accordingly, this Court recommends that Eide Bailly’s motion to exclude Ms. Kuklinski’s evidence be denied. 3. Carl Harris The Rehabilitator offers the expert testimony of Carl Harris, a Consulting Actuary and Principal of Oliver Wyman Actuarial Consulting, Inc. (Ex. 51, App. A.) Mr. Harris has worked as an actuary in the life insurance industry since 1979. (Id.) He is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries, a Member of the American Academy of Actuaries, and a Fellow of the Conference of Consulting Actuaries, among other professional affiliations. (Id.) Mr. Harris was retained as a damages consultant to provide an opinion regarding (1) SHIP’s statutory financial statement reserves for fiscal year 2015; (2) the actuarial assumptions SHIP used to calculate and evaluate SHIP’s year-end 2015 statutory reserve adequacy; and (3) the dollar value of forgone reasonable rate increases on SHIP insurance premiums that would have been obtained if SHIP’s reserves had been properly valued. (Ex. 52 ¶ 1.1.1.) In his expert report, Mr. Harris opined that SHIP’s statutory reserves were insufficient based on his actuarial evaluation. (Ex. 51 ¶ 2.1.) He further opined that CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 14 of 36
15 Milliman’s actuarial assumptions were not reflective of what experience would indicate, which resulted in SHIP’s reserves being inadequate. (Id. ¶ 2.2.) Mr. Harris also determined that an average 60.8% rate increase was actuarially justified at the time based on his actuarial evaluation of SHIP’s historical and projected premium and claims experience that would have been used as of December 31, 2016. (Id. ¶ 2.3) Eide Bailly challenges Mr. Harris’s testimony, arguing that his independent reserves estimate and assumptions are irrelevant to the claim that Eide Bailly improperly responded to L&E’s concerns, and Mr. Harris’s foregone premium increase calculation is not based on evidentiary reality or sound methodology. (Dkt. 99.) As to Mr. Harris’s first opinion, Eide Bailly argues that Mr. Harris’s independent evaluation is not at all connected to the concerns L&E raised with Milliman’s work, and therefore not relevant to SHIP’s existing claim against Eide Bailly. The Court disagrees. Mr. Harris’s reserves estimates and independent evaluation address not only concerns raised by L&E, but also “those that should otherwise have been considered by Eide Bailly[.]” (Dkt. 133 at 8.) Certainly, testimony as to the accuracy and reasonability of Milliman’s calculations is relevant to whether Eide Bailly’s reaction to L&E’s concerns with Milliman’s work was reasonable. Mr. Harris’s testimony regarding his first and second opinions could aid the jury in resolving whether Eide Bailly’s actions were reasonable. As to Mr. Harris’s third opinion—that SHIP’s foregone premium increase was actuarially justified at the time—Eide Bailly argues the opinion lacks evidentiary support and does not employ sound methodology. Again, the Court disagrees. Eide Bailly focuses its argument on the real-life results of SHIP’s actual rehabilitation. Mr. Harris’s expert CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 15 of 36
16 opinion, though, relies on actuarial methodology set forth in his report to project what could have happened if SHIP’s rehabilitation occurred earlier in time. (See Ex. 51.) The factual basis of Mr. Harris’s opinion goes not to its admissibility, but to the weight the jury will give it, and this Court cannot say that Mr. Harris’s opinion is “so fundamentally unsupported that it can offer no assistance to the jury.” Lancaster v. BNSF Railway Co., 75 F.4th 967, 970 (8th Cir. 2023). Mr. Harris’s report sets out the methodology that he used to reach the opinions expressed in his report, and those opinions could be helpful to the jury in determining both the issue of Eide Bailly’s liability and the potential extent of damages. Accordingly, this Court recommends that the motion to exclude Mr. Harris’s expert testimony be denied. C. The Rehabilitator’s Daubert Motion For its part, the Rehabilitator moves to exclude the testimony of three of Eide Bailly’s rebuttal experts: Avram Tucker, Timothy Gustafson, and Marc Cohen. The Court addresses each witness in turn. 1. Avram Tucker Eide Bailly offers Avram Tucker as a rebuttal expert to address Ms. Kuklinski’s report supporting the Rehabilitator’s claims of economic damages. (Ex 54 ¶ 5.) Mr. Tucker is the CEO and founder of TM Financial Forensics, a consulting firm specializing in accounting, economics, finance, engineering, and information technology. (Id. ¶ 9.) He has almost 50 years of experience in accounting and economic analyses, is a licensed CPA, and holds certificates in Financial Forensics and Global Management Accounting from the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. (Id. ¶ 13.) Mr. Tucker has CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 16 of 36
17 consulted on more than 500 forensic accounting matters, including disputes involving insurance claims and coverage, professional negligence, regulated industries, and commercial damages. (Id. ¶ 14-15.) Mr. Tucker’s opinion rebuts Ms. Kuklinski’s damages opinion. Mr. Tucker’s report analyzes evidence regarding SHIP’s rehabilitation and policy modifications and opines that Ms. Kuklinski’s damages model is unsupported. (Id. ¶¶ 50-70.) Mr. Tucker relied on evidence of the amount of time it took SHIP to enter rehabilitation and modify its policies to challenge Ms. Kuklinski’s damages model. (Id. ¶¶ 60-63.) He also relied on actual rate-increase acceptance rates to challenge Ms. Kuklinski’s assumption that 100% of insureds would have chosen a 60.8% rate increase. (Id. ¶¶ 64-66.) Relying on the above, Mr. Tucker develops an alternative damages model to counter Ms. Kuklinski’s. (Id. ¶¶ 67-70.) The Rehabilitator challenges Mr. Tucker’s testimony because he is not an actuary and therefore, he cannot offer expert opinion testimony as to Ms. Kuklinski’s damages model, which relies on actuarial analysis, and because Mr. Tucker is not an expert in the insurance field. This Court disagrees. “The function of rebuttal testimony is to explain, repel, counteract, or disprove evidence of the adverse party.” Marmo v. Tyson Fresh Meats, Inc., 457 F.3d 748, 759 (8th Cir. 2006) (citations omitted). The fact that Mr. Tucker is not an actuary is a reason to challenge the weight his testimony deserves, not its admissibility. See Holbrook v. Lykes Bros. S.S. Co., Inc., 80 F.3d 777, 782 (3d Cir. 1996) (exclusion is not warranted on the sole grounds that “the proposed expert does not have the specialization that the court considers the most appropriate”). The courts’ liberal CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 17 of 36
18 approach to admitting expert testimony argues in favor of admitting Mr. Tucker’s testimony and allowing the jurors to evaluate it next to Ms. Kuklinski’s testimony and determine how much weigh each deserves. 2. Timothy Gustafson Eide Bailly also offers the expert testimony of Timothy Gustafson in rebuttal to the Rehabilitator’s experts. (See Ex. 53.) Mr. Gustafson is an actuary with 40 years of experience in long-term insurance, including 30 years as a Principal at Deloitte Consulting LLP and 8 years as its Chief Actuary for healthcare. (Ex. 53 ¶¶ 1-4.) He is a Fellow of the Society of Actuaries and a Member of the American Academy of Actuaries. (Ex. 53 ¶ 5.) He has been deposed as an expert multiple times in matters involving long-erm care insurance companies. (Ex. 62 at 26.) Mr. Gustafson’s opinion addresses the actuarial opinions expressed by SHIP’s experts, Vance Burke, Lisa Kuklinski and Carl Harris. (Ex. 53 ¶ 8.) Mr. Gustafson’s report explains actuarial standards, including regulations and norms that govern an actuarial audit. (Id. ¶¶ 21-65.) Mr. Gustafson’s report then analyzes the actuarial aspects of SHIP’s 2015 audit (id. ¶¶ 66-97), SHIP’s financial challenges (¶¶ 98-129), and Carl Harris’s actuarial analyses (¶¶ 130-205). Mr. Gustafson’s report also rebuts the actuarial bases of the expert opinions of SHIP expert witness Vance Burke (¶¶ 206-249) and Lisa Kuklinski (¶¶ 210-263). Mr. Gustafson’s report identifies over 350 documents that he considered in performing his analysis and writing his report. (Ex. 53 at 3, Ex. B.) Mr. Gustafson also testified that his analysis complies with the Actuarial Standard of Practice on credibility (Ex. 62 at 54, 61-63). CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 18 of 36
19 The Rehabilitator argues that Mr. Gustafson’s testimony should be excluded because he admits he is not qualified as an expert in numerous fields, he offers impermissible expert opinions on topics for which he is not qualified, his opinion fails to meet Rule 702’s reliability requirement because it lacks a methodology, and the basis for his opinions were not included in his report. This court cannot agree. The issues that the Rehabilitator identifies as points of concern with Mr. Gustafson’s report and testimony— the fact that he has not testified “in court” about long-term care insurance, that his expertise is “actuarial auditing” rather than “auditing standards,” that he could not immediately recall certain documents on which his report relied, that his report “lacks calculations or analytical data of any kind”—are issues of credibility. None of the case law that the Rehabilitator cites holds that a rebuttal expert whose report includes the actuarial standards and practices Mr. Gustafson relied on should be excluded. See, e.g., Sylla-Sawdon v. Uniroyal Goodrich Tire Co., 47 F.3d 277, 284 (8th Cir. 1995) (excluding expert for, in part, “sketchy and vague” nature of the expert’s affidavit); Werth v. Hill-Rom, Inc., 856 F. Supp. 2d 1051, 1059-60 (D. Minn. 2012) (excluding expert testimony for failing to disclose reliance on national fire-protection standard protocol). Mr. Gustafson’s report and testimony establish both “how” and “why” he reached his opinions. See Salgado v. Gen. Motors Corp., 150 F.3d 735, 742 n.6 (7th Cir. 1998). The Rehabilitator’s challenges go not to the admissibility of Mr. Gustafson’s testimony, but to the weight the jury should give it. Accordingly, this Court will recommend that the Rehabilitator’s motion to exclude Mr. Gustafson’s expert testimony be denied. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 19 of 36
20 3. Marc Cohen Finally, the Rehabilitator challenges the expert testimony of Marc Cohen. Mr. Cohen is a Professor of Gerontology at University of Massachusetts, Boston who has worked in and studied long-term care insurance for over 25 years and published extensively on the topic of long-term care insurance. (Ex. F at 1 & App. 1.) Eide Bailly offers Mr. Cohen as a rebuttal expert to provide an overview of the long-term care insurance industry and key concepts and an overview of regulation of the industry, as well as to rebut certain assumptions in the Rehabilitator’s experts’ opinions by explaining the behavior of insureds and the timeline of rate-increase implementation. (Dkt. 128 at 39-41.) The Rehabilitator challenges Mr. Cohen’s testimony, arguing that he lacks any actuarial, auditing or accounting expertise, is not an expert in the receivership process, and does little more than add and subtract to interpret a spreadsheet. The Rehabilitator cites to United States v. Felak, 831 F.2d 794, 797 (8th Cir. 1987), and Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Grp., 343 F. Supp. 2d 989, 1015 (D. Kan. 2004), arguing that Mr. Cohen’s expert testimony is not admissible where the jury could review the record and perform the same analysis. Eide Bailly argues that Mr. Cohen is highly qualified to offer expert testimony on topics he has spent decades studying, and that his testimony “will advance the jury’s understanding of (1) the long-term care insurance industry; (2) regulation of the long-term care insurance industry; (3) the behavior of SHIP insureds when faced with rate increase options; (4) how insureds’ behavior may vary over time when faced with rate increase options; and (5) the timing of CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 20 of 36
21 SHIP’s rehabilitation rate increase implementation.” (Dkt. 128 at 44.) Eide Bailly also argues that Mr. Cohen’s testimony would assist the jury in evaluating the Rehabilitator’s “unwieldy, 27,000-row, 118-column spreadsheet[.]” (Id. at 45.) This case involves long-term care insurance regulation and actuarial analyses, a subject that is not within the knowledge or expertise of lay people. As such, this Court takes guidance from In re ResCap Liquidating Trust Litig., 432 F. Supp. 3d 902 (D. Minn. 2020). There, ResCap moved to exclude the proffered expert testimony of one Mr. Burnaman on grounds that it constituted inadmissible fact testimony. Id. at 931. Mr. Burnaman was to testify about the bankrupt entity’s role in the mortgage-backed securities industry, including “how [the bankrupt entity] was designed to allow access to expanding financing alternatives, was poised to take advantage of the mortgage-market disruptions, and that a significant component of [the entity]’s growth was in new, non- standard mortgage products.” Id. The court denied ResCap’s motion to exclude the testimony, noting that the general background and history of the industry was necessary “to educate the factfinder.” Id. Similarly here, the regulatory framework of long-term care insurance and the behavior of the industry over time are not within the knowledge or expertise of lay people. To the extent the Rehabilitator disagrees with the factual basis of Mr. Cohen’s testimony or wants to contradict his assertions and conclusions, he can do so through cross-examination or a similarly situated witness. Id.; see also Marvin Lumber & Cedar Co. v. PPG Indus., Inc., 401 F.3d 901, 916 (8th Cir. 2005) (“Generally, even post Daubert, ‘the factual basis of an expert opinion goes to the credibility of the testimony, CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 21 of 36
22 not the admissibility.’” (citation omitted)). Further, to the extent Mr. Cohen can provide industry-relevant context to help the jury make sense of the Rehabilitator’s spreadsheet, context is helpful. See Mahaska Bottling Co. v. PepsiCo, Inc., 441 F. Supp. 3d 745, 754 (S.D. Iowa 2019). Accordingly, this Court recommends that the Rehabilitator’s motion to exclude Mr. Cohen’s testimony be denied. II. Motion for Summary Judgment Eide Bailly also moves for summary judgment, arguing that the Rehabilitator has failed to demonstrate that there is a genuine issue of material fact on the issues of causation and damages, and that the Rehabilitator’s recovery is barred by the doctrine of in pari delicto. The Rehabilitator argues that the doctrine of in pari delicto does not apply and that genuine issues of material fact require resolution by a fact finder. A. Legal Standard Summary judgment is appropriate if “the movant shows that there is no genuine dispute as to any material fact and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(a). “A fact is ‘material’” only if it may affect the outcome of the lawsuit. TCF Nat’l Bank v. Mkt. Intelligence, Inc., 812 F.3d 701, 707 (8th Cir. 2016). Likewise, an issue of material fact is “genuine” only if “the evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). The moving party bears the burden of establishing a lack of genuine issue of fact, Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986), and the Court must view the evidence and any reasonable inferences in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 22 of 36
23 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). In responding to a motion for summary judgment, however, the nonmoving party may not “‘rest on mere allegations or denials,’ but must demonstrate on the record the existence of specific facts which create a genuine issue for trial.” Krenik v. Cnty. of Le Sueur, 47 F.3d 953, 957 (8th Cir. 1995). B. In Pari Delicto Eide Bailly argues first that the Rehabilitator’s claims against it are barred by the equitable doctrine of in pari delicto.2 “The equitable defense of in pari delicto embodies the principle that a plaintiff who has participated in wrongdoing may not recover damages resulting from the wrongdoing.” Kelly v. BMO Harris Bank Nat’l Ass’n, 115 F.4th 901, 904 (8th Cir. 2024) (citing Grassmueck v. Am. Shorthorn Ass’n, 402 F.3d 833, 837 (8th Cir. 2005). This defense bars recovery in Minnesota “when the plaintiff’s ‘fraud was no less than that of’ the defendant.” Id. (quoting State ex rel. Head v. AAMCO Automatic Transmissions, Inc., 199 N.W.2d 444, 448 (Minn. 1972)). Where it is applicable, the in pari delicto defense “operates to prevent wrongdoers at equal fault from recovering against one another and ‘is based upon judicial reluctance to intervene in disputes between [wrongdoing] parties.’” Christians v. Grant Thornton, LLP, 733 N.W.2d 803, 814 (Minn. Ct. App. 2007) (quoting AAMCO, 499 N.W.2d at 448). Eide Bailly relies on Christians to argue the Rehabilitator’s claims must be barred. In 2 It is indisputable that the Rehabilitator has brought parallel litigation against SHIP’s former managers and directors, alleging that they were engaged in a fraudulent effort to hide SHIP’s actual financial condition from its regulators. The Rehabilitator’s Fed. R. Civ. P. 30(b)(6) designee Patrick Cantilo also testified that SHIP’s managers were trying to mislead regulators and wanted a clean audit opinion, even if the numbers were faulty. (See, e.g., Ex. 3 at 24-26.) CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 23 of 36
24 Christians, a company’s CEO entered into transaction that was contrary to the company’s best interest and later concealed that transaction from the company’s auditor, Grant Thornton LLP. Id. at 806-07. Grant Thornton’s subsequent audit overstated the company’s equity, the company went bankrupt, and its trustee brought an auditor malpractice action against Grant Thornton. Id. 807-08. The Minnesota Court of Appeals determined that in pari delicto barred recovery because the CEO’s inequitable conduct to deceive outsiders was imputed to the company, and therefore the company bore “at least substantially equal responsibility for the injury it s[ought] to remedy [in the action].” Id. at 810, 814-15. Michael Humphreys has been appointed as Rehabilitator of SHIP under Pennsylvania statute. The parties disagree as to how this should apply under Minnesota law, and thus whether the in pari delicto defense should bar the Rehabilitator’s claims. Humphreys argues that his appointment as Rehabilitator is most analogous to a court- appointed receiver, and “when a receiver has been appointed for a corporation, [the corporation] is removed from the picture and, hence, in pari delicto does not apply.” Kelley v. College of St. Benedict, 901 F. Supp. 2d 1123, 1129 (D. Minn. 2012). (See Mem. in Opp’n, Dkt. 132, at 20-22.) If that is the case, then the actions of SHIP’s former officers are irrelevant and in pari delicto would not bar any claims. Eide Bailly argues that rather than a court-appointed receiver, the Rehabilitator should be treated like a bankruptcy trustee who “steps into the shoes of the debtor and is subject to any defenses that could be raised against the debtor, including the defense of in pari delicto.” Kelley v. BMO Harris Bank, 115 F.4th at 905. (See Reply Mem., Dkt. 140, at 16-19.) If this is CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 24 of 36
25 correct, then the actions of SHIP’s former officers are relevant and could bar the Rehabilitator from asserting any claims against Eide Bailly. The difference between the two is critical. This Court’s research has not uncovered a Minnesota court directly addressing whether the doctrine of in pari delicto is available against insurance companies in rehabilitation. And even presuming that in pari delicto could bar claims brought by the Rehabilitator—which is far from certain—it is possible that genuine issues of material fact might make application of the doctrine improper. See Miksic v. Boekermann Grafstrom Mayer, LLC, No. 15-cv-539 (JRT/BRT), 2017 WL 1169528, at *6-7 (D. Minn. Mar. 28, 2017) (determining material factual dispute makes it “improper for the Court to apply the in pari delicto doctrine at this time”). This Court need not dive into this particular thicket, however, because as set forth below, it determines that summary judgment is appropriate on separate grounds. C. Causation For purposes of its summary judgment motion, Eide Bailly does not contest whether genuine issues of material fact exist as to the existence of a duty arising from its engagement agreements with SHIP or its breach of that duty. (See Mem. in Supp., Dkt. 94, at 22 (“[E]ven if Eide Bailly had been negligent, it would still be entitled to summary judgment . . . .”).) Instead, it argues that no genuine issues of material fact exist with respect to causation or damages. Specifically, Eide Bailly argues that the Rehabilitator has failed to present competent evidence that Eide Bailly’s unmodified 2015 audit caused SHIP injury and that the Rehabilitator has failed to provide non-speculative evidence of SHIP’s damages. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 25 of 36
26 To prevail in an action for auditor malpractice or breach of contract, the plaintiff must prove the existence of a duty or contract, breach of that duty or contract, factual and proximate causation, and damages. Christians, 733 N.W.2d at 808 (citing Vernon J. Rockler & Co. v. Glickman, Isenberg, Lurie & Co., 273 N.W.2d 647, 650 (Minn. 1978), and Rubbelke v. Mabley, 410 N.W.2d 880, 883 (Minn. Ct. App. 1987)). In Christians, the Minnesota Court of Appeals addressed what is necessary for a claimant to establish a genuine issue of material fact on the issue of causation: When applying the “but for” test, we must envision what would have occurred but for the negligent conduct . . . . In the professional- malpractice case, . . . the inquiry is more complex. In Blue Water [v. O’Toole], the plaintiff alleged that an attorney’s failure to file an application in time constituted malpractice, and the supreme court held that the plaintiff had to show that the application would have been accepted. [336 N.W.2d 279,] 282 [(Minn. 1983)]. And in Jerry’s Enterprises, Inc. v. Larkin, Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren, Ltd., the supreme court required another legal-malpractice plaintiff to show that it would have cleared title to a land in a flawed real-estate transaction. 711 N.W.2d 811, 819-20 (Minn. 2006). Christians, 733 N.W.2d at 812-13. Thus, the plaintiff must introduce “concrete evidence” of what another interested entity would have done but for the attorney’s negligence and what those actions would reasonably have produced. Id. Showing that many positive things could have occurred but for the negligent conduct is not enough; instead, the plaintiff must introduce concrete evidence of what the plaintiff would have done but for the defendant’s negligence and what those actions would have reasonably produced. Schmitz v. Rinke, Noonan, Smoley, Deter, Colombo, Wiant, Von Korff and Hobbs, Ltd., 783 N.W.2d 733, 741 (Minn. Ct. App. 2010) (quoting Christians). CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 26 of 36
27 The court in Krasne v. Mayo Clinic set forth what claims of professional negligence require to establish causation explaining: a plaintiff must submit “an opinion with proper foundation and enough information about the specific case to reassure the court that the jury will have sufficient information to draw a reasonable inference—without speculating—that the provider’s conduct caused the plaintiff’s injury.” Rygwall v. ACR Homes, Inc., 6 N.W.3d 416, 434-35 (Minn. 2024). In other words, the expert affidavit must set forth a specific and nonspeculative theory as to how the allegedly negligent actions caused the injury. See id. Krasne v. Mayo Clinic, No. 21-cv-746 (JMB/ECW), 2025 WL 1886040, at *2 (D. Minn. July 8, 2025). The expert opinion supporting causation must contain “sufficient foundation and factual specificity to illustrate ‘how’ and ‘why’” the asserted negligence caused the complained-of damages. Id. (citing Teffeteller v. Univ. of Minn., 645 N.W.2d 420, 429 n.4 (Minn. 2002)). Both Christians and Krasne demonstrate what parties must do to carry their causation burden. In Christians, the court rejected the plaintiff’s “but for” causation evidence, finding “no concrete evidence that the outcome would have been any better” if the defendant had not negligently concealed the corporation’s financial status. 733 N.W.2d at 813. Specifically, the court wrote: The trustee was not able to produce sufficient causation evidence. Instead, the trustee broadly asserts that “action” would have been taken and problems would have been “rectified,” while resting on the presumption that those efforts would have resulted in a more beneficial outcome. Even when taken in a light most favorable to the trustee, and drawing every interest in favor of the trustee, these statements cannot defeat a motion for summary judgment. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 27 of 36
28 Id. In Krasne, District Court Judge Jeffrey M. Bryan determined that the expert report from Krasne’s treating physician established causation sufficient to send the issue to the jury because (1) the doctor’s CV reflected extensive professional and academic experience and he had formed his opinion based on Krasne’s records and his own professional assessments in treating Krasne; (2) the doctor “set forth a coherent and fact- based theory as to how the incident caused Krasne’s ongoing pain;” and (3) the doctor provided “additional specificity” and “bolster[ed] his theory by ruling out other possible sources of Krasne’s ongoing pain, including theories offered by [the defendants’] experts[.]” 2025 WL 1886040 at *3-4. Another Minnesota case that explored causation based on expert testimony is Schmitz v. Rinke, Noonan, Smoley, Deter, Colombo, Wiant, Von Korff and Hobbs, Ltd., 783 N.W.2d 733 (Minn. Ct. App. 2010). There, the plaintiff failed to offer expert testimony on but-for causation and the Court held, Schmitz’s evidence on but-for causation is limited to his testimony that he would have been more motivated to negotiate and that he would have attempted to negotiate a deal or settlement. This is similar to Christians, in which we held that broad assertions that “action” would have been taken and problems “rectified” failed to produce sufficient evidence of factual causation. 733 N.W.2d at 813. A jury would not be entitled to presume that those efforts would have resulted in a more beneficial outcome. Id. As a matter of law, but-for causation is not shown by “speculative potential outcomes.” Id. Schmitz, 783 N.W.2d at 742-43. Finally, Jerry’s Enterprises v. Larkin, Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren, 711 N.W.2d 811 (Minn. 2006), bears some examination. In that case, defendant Larkin Hoffman CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 28 of 36
29 represented Jerry’s Enterprises in the purchase of some undeveloped land in Woodbury, MN. Id. at 815. Part of the agreement included a buy-back option, where the seller could repurchase the entire property if Jerry’s Enterprises had not begun construction of improvements within two years of the purchase. Id. Larkin Hoffman did not discuss the provision with Jerry’s Enterprises, and the closing documents did not include the buy- back option. Id. Just over two years after Jerry’s Enterprises purchased the land, the seller acted to exercise his buy-back option. Id. Jerry’s Enterprises had to defend against a suit brought by the seller, and when it lost, paid the seller $4.2m to retain ownership of the property. Id. at 815-16. Jerry’s Enterprises then sued Larkin Hoffman for malpractice. The Minnesota Supreme Court determined that Jerry’s Enterprises had provided enough evidence to create a fact question as to whether, but for Larkin Hoffman’s alleged negligence, Jerry’s Enterprises would have obtained a more favorable result in the transaction. Jerry’s Enterprises argued “that if Larkin had informed Jerry’s of the possible cloud on its title to the property, it would have begun construction within the two-year time period and prevented [the seller] from exercising his buy-back option.” Id. at 820. The president of Jerry’s Enterprises testified at trial “that had he known of the possible survival of the buy-back option, Jerry’s would have ensured that the option was extinguished, either by beginning construction or otherwise.” Id. Thus, a plaintiff in a professional malpractice case must demonstrate but-for causation with sufficient fact-based information that allows a jury to draw a reasonable inference based on more than just speculation. Oftentimes, that will require expert testimony—for example, an expert opinion with proper foundation and enough CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 29 of 36
30 information about the case to offer reasonable, non-speculative testimony about what would have happened, based on facts and recognized processes. See, e.g., Krasne, 2025 WL 1886040 at *3-4. Similarly, sufficient evidence of an actual, concrete decision not to act in a way that would have prevented the damages can create a fact question for trial. See Jerry’s Enters., 711 N.W.2d at 820. But there must be enough evidence to establish causation beyond mere speculation, beyond a claim that “action would have been taken,” or beyond a claim that the plaintiff would have been “motivated” to act. See Christians, 733 N.W.2d at 812-13; Schmitz, 783 N.W.2d at 742-43. The evidence in the record before this Court is insufficient to clear that hurdle. Here, the Rehabilitator argues that the Commissioner of Insurance, who was running the Pennsylvania Insurance Department in 2016, would have promptly taken steps to investigate SHIP’s financial condition, would have appointed a rehabilitator, and would have started the court process to rehabilitate SHIP within six months – if Eide Bailly would have issued a modified audit report or no audit report at all. But this is speculation and argument. When Mr. Cantilo was first working with SHIP and PID’s authorized representative in 2018, PID had already “started believing there could be deficiencies in the projection of [SHIP’s] liabilities” and had ”engaged other consultants to try to drill down on that.” (Ex. 3 at 42.) And “when the department came to believe that there were substantial financial problems with the company,” it spent “additional time” preparing and submitting plans to remedy those conditions” (Id. at 42-43.) But the record contains no concrete evidence as to what actually would have happened but for Eide Bailly’s alleged negligence. The Rehabilitator relies on testimony and opinions of possible CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 30 of 36
31 outcomes, not definite ones. Mr. Cantilo, for example, testified that if Eide Bailly had informed regulators of SHIP’s true financial condition in mid-2016, “then corrective action would have been followed either by management or the regulators at that time” and “management could have felt compelled to take corrective action.” (Id. at 37.) When asked what that corrective action would look like, Mr. Cantilo stated that “call[ed] for speculation.” (Id. at 38.) He further testified that he believes that it was probable that SHIP would have been placed in rehabilitation in 2017, and that what would have happened in 2017 “is materially different from what happened in 2020 when there were still clean audit opinions . . . .” (Ex. 3 at 48.) These opinions and conjectures, though, are not concrete evidence. Unlike the owner in Jerry’s Enterprises who testified as to what his specific course of action would have been, there is no concrete evidence of how PID would have exercised its discretion had Eide Bailly issued a different audit opinion. Indeed, Mr. Wrynn’s testimony provides that the PID was not required to place SHIP in rehabilitation in 2016; it could have exercised its discretion to begin an investigation instead. (Ex. 13 at 24-25, 34.) Ms. Kuklinski similarly testified that PID could have exercised its discretion by taking action other than immediately placing SHIP in rehabilitation. (Ex. 10 at 108-09.) Thus, the testimony and opinion evidence the Rehabilitator provides does not state what PID would have done. It shows that PID could have taken one of a few different options available to it. Ultimately, there is no concrete evidence that the outcome would have been better for SHIP if Eide Bailly had not issued an unmodified audit report in 2016. As the Rehabilitator’s own experts and witnesses agree, PID had a range of options available to CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 31 of 36
32 pursue in addition to sending SHIP into rehabilitation. The Rehabilitator’s experts do not provide concrete facts to support a finding of causation. In her report, Ms. Kuklinski calculated damages “on the premise that, but for Eide Bailly’s failure to perform a proper audit, . . . management and the PID would have sooner become aware of SHIP’s true financial condition . . . and would have sooner been placed under PID control or taken other remedial measures.” (Ex. 52 at 9.) An opinion based on the premise that SHIP would have drawn PID’s attention sooner is not itself evidence of how PID would have acted. As the testimony on the record establishes, PID had multiple options available to address SHIP’s financial woes. The Rehabilitator relies on the testimony of Mr. Cantilo to create a genuine issue of material fact, but Mr. Cantilo admits that he cannot say with certainty what would have happened “without speculating.” (See Ex. 3 at 37:21-38:15.) The Rehabilitator also argues that, had Eide Bailly not issued an unmodified audit report, SHIP would have reported that its Risk Based Capital (“RBC”) level was below 70%, which would have required PID “to take immediate control over the company by operation of law.” (Dkt. 132 at 28.) But the Rehabilitator’s own expert Mr. Wrynn testified that the Commissioner can choose a different tool to use when a company’s RBC goes below 70% (Ex. 13 at 71-73) and opined that PID would not have immediately placed SHIP into rehabilitation. (Id. at 24-25.) Given these various options, it is up to the Rehabilitator to “untangle the multiple decisions that result in a single net-loss figure and explain how that figure would have changed ‘but for’ some alleged negligence.” Christians, 733 N.W.2d at 813. And unlike CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 32 of 36
33 Jerry’s Enterprises, there is nothing in the record establishing that PID would have exercised its discretion to place SHIP in rehabilitation immediately if Eide Bailly had issued a different audit report. See Jerry’s Enters., 711 N.W.2d at 820. Ultimately, even taking the Rehabilitator’s experts’ statements in a light most favoring the Rehabilitator and drawing every inference in his favor, these statements fail to create a genuine issue of material fact that SHIP would have been immediately put into rehabilitation but for Eide Bailly’s unmodified audit report. The record lacks evidence of an actual, concrete decision not to act in a way that would have prevented SHIP from suffering damages. Instead, the evidence the Rehabilitator relies on is speculative on what action could have been taken or that PID might have been motivated to act sooner. This is not sufficient to establish a genuine issue of material fact. D. Damages Eide Bailly also argues that SHIP’s alleged damages are entirely speculative and inconsistent with the evidence. Speculative, remote, or conjectural damages are not recoverable at law. Lassen v. First Bank, 514 N.W.2d 831, 839 (Minn. Ct. App. 1994), review denied (Minn. June 29, 1994). A claimant must present competent evidence sufficient to permit a jury to conclude not only that the defendant’s negligence caused damages, but evidence “tending to show what would have been the outcome” had the negligence not taken place. Schmitz, 783 N.W.2d at 743. Claimants must prove the fact of loss to a reasonable, although not absolute, certainty. Leoni v. Bemis Co., 255 N.W.2d 824, 826 (Minn. 1977). There is no general test for determining whether damages are remote or speculative, so these matters are generally left to the judgment of the district CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 33 of 36
34 court. Olson v. Aretz, 346 N.W.2d 178, 183 (Minn. Ct. App. 1984) (choosing not to reverse to order a new trial “because damages were speculative”), review denied (Minn. Oct. 30, 1984). “The law does not require mathematical precision in proof of loss, but only proof to a reasonable, although not necessarily absolute, certainty.” Speed RMG Partners, LLC v. Arctic Cat Inc., No. 20-cv-609 (NEB/LIB), 2023 WL 11960176, at *10 (D. Minn. July 25, 2023) (quoting Leoni, 255 N.W.2d at 826)). Courts apply this as best they can under the circumstances of each case. “[W]hen a plaintiff improperly attributes all losses to a defendant’s illegal acts, despite the presence of significant other factors, the evidence does not permit a jury to make a reasonable and principled estimate of the amount of damage.” Christians, 733 N.W.2d at 812 (cleaned up). The claimant must produce evidence that would permit reasonable jurors to reach a nonspeculative conclusion about damages[.]” Id. Damages claims based on “sheer speculation” and an “unsubstantiated, self-serving prediction” of foregone profits are not recoverable. Sievert v. First National Bank in Lakefield, 358 N.W.2d 409, 411, 415-16 (Minn. Ct. App. 1984). Additionally, Minnesota law does not recognize deepening insolvency as a theory of damages. Christians, 733 N.W.2d. at 809. Like Eide Bailly, the defendant in Krasne moved for summary judgment on damages on the grounds that the plaintiff failed to provide the required expert opinions to establish his damages. 2025 WL 1886040 at *4. The court determined that the plaintiff had provided sufficient evidence for a jury to find damages, citing to both the plaintiff’s testimony and the expert report, which included “specific descriptions of the damages [the expert] believes Krasne has incurred as a result of the Incident.” Id. The court also CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 34 of 36
35 noted that Krasne’s claimed damages did not arise from a failure to diagnose a condition, loss of chance, or failure to prevent the worsening of a preexisting condition. Id. at *5. Thus, to establish a genuine issue of material fact in this case, the Rehabilitator must produce evidence that would permit reasonable jurors to reach a nonspeculative conclusion about what damages Eide Bailly’s conduct caused. This is a close call. In this Court’s view, the Rehabilitator’s proffered damages evidence amounts to speculation. The Rehabilitator and its experts speculate how quickly SHIP would have entered rehabilitation, how quickly the rehabilitation would have progressed, and how quickly its newly calculated premium increases could have been approved, and how quickly those new premiums would have generated revenue. Nevertheless, the Rehabilitator has produced expert testimony and analysis that gives a basis from which a jury could determine damages. And “[t]he law does not require mathematical precision in the proof of loss but only proof to a reasonable, although not necessarily absolute, certainty.” Unique Systems, Inc. v. Zotos Int’l, Inc., 622 F.2d 373, 378 (8th Cir. 1980) (quoting Leoni, 255 N.W.2d at 826). As such, the Rehabilitator has demonstrated that a genuine issue would exist for a trier of fact to conclude what damages SHIP has suffered. Nevertheless, as determined above, there exists no genuine issue of material fact that Eide Bailly’s conduct is the “but for” cause of any damages that SHIP suffered. Accordingly, based on the foregoing, this Court recommends that Eide Bailly’s motion for summary judgment be granted. CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 35 of 36
36 RECOMMENDATION Based on the foregoing, and all the files, records, and proceedings herein, IT IS HEREBY RECOMMENDED THAT: 1. Plaintiff Eide Bailly’s Motion to Exclude the Expert Testimony of Carl Harris (Dkt. 97) be DENIED; 2. Plaintiff Eide Bailly’s Motion to Exclude the Expert Testimony of Lisa Kuklinski (Dkt. 102) be DENIED; 3. Plaintiff Eide Bailly’s Motion to Exclude the Expert Testimony of James Wrynn (Dkt. 107) be DENIED; 4. Defendant Michael Humphreys’ Motion to Exclude the Expert Testimony of Avram Tucker, Timothy Gustafson, and Marc Cohen (Dkt. 117) be DENIED; and 5. Plaintiff Eide Bailly’s Motion for Summary Judgment (Dkt. 92) be GRANTED. Dated: January 31, 2026 s/Shannon G. Elkins SHANNON G. ELKINS United States Magistrate Judge NOTICE Filing Objections: This Report and Recommendation is not an order of judgment of the District Court and is therefore not appealable directly to the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. Under Local Rule 72.2(b)(1), “a party may file and serve specific written objections to a magistrate judge’s proposed finding and recommendations within 14 days after being served a copy” of the Report and Recommendation. A party may respond to those objections within 14 days after being served a copy of the objections. See Local Rule 72.2(b)(2). All objections and responses must comply with the word or line limits set forth in Local Rule 72.2(c). CASE 0:22-cv-03132-MJD-SGE Doc. 175 Filed 01/31/26 Page 36 of 36
Was bedeutet dieser Text für Ihre Situation?
Kostenlose und unverbindliche Beratung
Schildern Sie uns Ihre Situation. Unser Team meldet sich per E-Mail bei Ihnen für Ihre Beratung.
Setzen Sie Ihre Recherche in ChatGPT oder Claude fort
Verbinden Sie Omnilex, um den Rechtskorpus über Ihren KI-Assistenten zu durchsuchen.