1:25-cv-00615•McDaniel v. Commissioner of Social Security
Gesamter Gesetzestext
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT WESTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN SOUTHERN DIVISION MICHELLE L. MCDANIEL, Plaintiff, Hon. Robert J. Jonker v. Case No. 1:25-cv-00615 COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, Defendant. _________________________________/ REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION This is an action pursuant to Section 205(g) of the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), to review a final decision of the Commissioner of Social Security denying Plaintiff’s claim for Disability Insurance Benefits (DIB) under Title II of the Social Security Act. Section 405(g) limits the Court to a review of the administrative record and provides that if the Commissioner’s decision is supported by substantial evidence, it shall be conclusive. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B), authorizing United States Magistrate Judges to submit proposed findings of fact and recommendations for disposition of Social Security appeals, the undersigned recommends that the Commissioner’s decision be affirmed. STANDARD OF REVIEW The Court’s jurisdiction is limited to a review of the Commissioner’s decision and of the record made in the administrative hearing process. Tucker v. Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 1 of 13
-2- Commissioner of Social Security, 775 Fed. Appx. 220, 225 (6th Cir., June 10, 2019). The scope of judicial review in a social security case is limited to determining whether the Commissioner applied the proper legal standards in making her decision and whether there exists in the record substantial evidence supporting that decision. Id. at 224-25. Substantial evidence is more than a scintilla, but less than a preponderance, and constitutes such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion. Livingston v. Commissioner of Social Security, 776 Fed. Appx. 897, 898 (6th Cir., June 19, 2019). The Court may not conduct a de novo review of the case, resolve evidentiary conflicts, or decide questions of credibility. Biestek v. Commissioner of Social Security, 880 F.3d 778, 783 (6th Cir. 2017). The substantial-evidence standard presupposes the existence of a zone within which the decision maker can properly rule either way, without judicial interference. Moruzzi v. Commissioner of Social Security, 759 Fed. Appx. 396, 402 (6th Cir., Dec. 21, 2018). This standard affords the administrative decision maker considerable latitude and indicates that a decision supported by substantial evidence will not be reversed simply because the evidence would have supported a contrary decision. Luukkonen v. Commissioner of Social Security, 653 Fed. Appx. 393, 398 (6th Cir., June 22, 2016). BACKGROUND Plaintiff was 53 years of age on her date last insured. (ECF No. 5-2, 40, 50). She successfully completed high school and worked previously as a certified nurse Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 2 of 13
-3- assistant. Plaintiff applied for DIB benefits on May 26, 2022, alleging that she had been disabled since February 27, 2021, due to degenerative disk disease of the lower spine, total knee replacements of each knee, ACL replacement in left knee, ulcerative colitis, obesity, aortic aneurysm, arthritis in left shoulder, neuropathy in bilateral feet, and Graves disease. (ECF No. 5-7, PageID.288). Plaintiff’s application was denied and denied again upon reconsideration, after which time she requested a hearing before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). (ECF No. 5-3, PageID.108, 133; ECF No. 5-4, PageID.169-70). Following an administrative hearing, ALJ Manh Nguyen, in an opinion dated June 10, 2024, determined that Plaintiff did not qualify for disability benefits. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.37-52). The Appeals Council declined to review the ALJ’s determination, rendering it the Commissioner’s final decision in the matter. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.21-26). Plaintiff subsequently initiated this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), seeking judicial review of the ALJ’s decision. (ECF No. 5-5, PageID.222- 23). Plaintiff’s insured status expired on December 31, 2024. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.40); see also 42 U.S.C. § 423(c)(1). Accordingly, to be eligible for Disability Insurance Benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act, Plaintiff must establish that she became disabled prior to the expiration of her insured status. See 42 U.S.C. § 423; Moon v. Sullivan, 923 F.2d 1175, 1182 (6th Cir. 1990). Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 3 of 13
-4- ANALYSIS I. Disability Framework The social security regulations articulate a five-step sequential process for evaluating disability. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a-f), 416.920(a-f). If the Commissioner can make a dispositive finding at any point in the review, no further finding is required. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1520(a), 416.920(a). The regulations also provide that if a claimant suffers from both non-exertional and exertional impairments, both are considered in determining her residual functional capacity. See 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1545, 416.945. Plaintiff bears the burden to demonstrate that she is entitled to disability benefits and that she satisfies her burden by demonstrating that her impairments are so severe that she is unable to perform her previous work, and cannot, considering her age, education, and work experience, perform any other substantial gainful employment existing in significant numbers in the national economy. See 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(2)(A). While the burden of proof shifts to the Commissioner at step five of the sequential evaluation process, Plaintiff bears the burden of proof through step four of the procedure—the point at which his residual functioning capacity (RFC) is determined. O’Neal v. Commissioner of Social Security, 799 Fed. Appx. 313, 315 (6th Cir., Jan. 7, 2020). The ALJ determined that Plaintiff suffers from degenerative disc disease of the lumbar spine with spondylosis, cervicalgia, type II diabetes mellitus, ascending aortic aneurysm, status post-left shoulder rotator cuff tear, bilateral carpal tunnel release, Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 4 of 13
-5- hernia, trochanteric bursitis of the left hip, osteoarthritis of the left knee status post- knee replacement, polyarthralgia, headaches, insomnia/sleep apnea, obesity, major depressive disorder, and generalized anxiety disorder, severe impairments that whether considered alone or in combination with other impairments, failed to satisfy the requirements of any impairment identified in the Listing of Impairments detailed in 20 C.F.R., Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix 1. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.40-41). With respect to Plaintiff’s residual functional capacity, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff, through her date last insured, retained the ability to perform light work subject to the following limitations: the claimant (1) can occasionally climb ladders, ropes, or scaffolds and kneel and crawl; (2) can frequently climb ramps and stairs, stoop, crouch, balance, reach, handle, and finger; (3) cannot perform any commercial driving or operation of moving machinery or work at a production rate pace such as assembly line work; (4) can never work around hazards such as unprotected heights or uncovered/unguarded moving machinery; (5) can understand, remember, and carry out simple instructions and tolerate occasional changes in a routine work setting. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.44-45). The ALJ found that Plaintiff was unable to perform her past relevant work at which point the burden of proof shifted to the Commissioner to establish by substantial evidence that there exists in the national economy a significant number of specific jobs that Plaintiff can perform notwithstanding her limitations. O’Neal, 799 Fed. Appx. at 316. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.50). In satisfying this burden, the ALJ may rely on a vocational expert’s testimony. Id. Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 5 of 13
-6- In this case, a vocational expert testified that there existed approximately 168,900 jobs in the national economy which an individual with Plaintiff’s RFC could perform. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.51). This represents a significant number of jobs. See, e.g., Taskila v. Commissioner of Social Security, 819 F.3d 902, 905 (6th Cir. 2016) (“[s]ix thousand jobs in the United States fits comfortably within what this court and others have deemed ‘significant’”). Accordingly, the ALJ concluded that Plaintiff was not entitled to benefits. II. Analysis As part of her disability application, Plaintiff submitted a form filled out by Andria Carter, PA-C, who opined that Plaintiff experienced greater functional limitations than the ALJ recognized. (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2913-16). The ALJ, however, found that PA Carter’s observations were “not persuasive.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.49-50). Plaintiff argues that she is entitled to relief because the ALJ failed to properly evaluate PA Carter’s opinion. (ECF No. 12, PageID.3094). The undersigned disagrees. Because Plaintiff filed her application after March 27, 2017, the ALJ evaluated the opinions in question pursuant to 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c. This regulation provides that the ALJ “will not defer or give any specific evidentiary weight, including controlling weight, to any medical opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s),” even an opinion from a treating source. 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(a). Instead, the ALJ is required to articulate his determination of the persuasiveness of a medical opinion “in a single analysis using the factors Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 6 of 13
-7- listed in paragraphs (c)(1) through (c)(5) of this section, as appropriate.” 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(b)(1). These factors include: (1) supportability; (2) consistency; (3) relationship with the claimant; (4) specialization; and (5) other factors which tend to support or contradict the opinion. 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(1)-(5). The ALJ must explain his consideration of the supportability and consistency factors, but absent circumstances not present here, the ALJ is not required to explain how the remaining factors were considered. 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(b)(2), (3). The regulations define “supportability” and “consistency” as follows: (1) Supportability. The more relevant the objective medical evidence and supporting explanations presented by a medical source are to support his or her medical opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s), the more persuasive the medical opinions or prior administrative medical finding(s) will be. (2) Consistency. The more consistent a medical opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s) is with the evidence from other medical sources and nonmedical sources in the claim, the more persuasive the medical opinion(s) or prior administrative medical finding(s) will be. 20 C.F.R. § 416.920c(c)(1)-(2). PA Carter provided a medical source statement regarding Plaintiff’s physical capacity from January 11, 2024. (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2913-16). The statement is in checkbox and short fill-in-the-blank format. PA Carter reported the following. Plaintiff can occasionally lift and carry up to twenty pounds occasionally and less than ten pounds frequently; could sit less than two hours total in an eight-hour workday; could stand or walk for about four hours during an eight-hour workday; Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 7 of 13
-8- required the ability to walk around every ten to fifteen minutes for five minutes each time throughout an eight-hour workday; needed to shift positions at will; could sit for twenty to thirty minutes at a time; could stand for ten to fifteen minutes at a time; would be off task 25% of the workday; required unscheduled breaks every ten to fifteen minutes; must elevate her legs 45 to 90 degrees as needed due to swelling; could occasionally twist, stoop, climb stairs; and could never crouch or climb ladders. (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2913-16). PA Carter also noted that, “per pt[,] [her] back issues became unbearable 2 years ago.” (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2913). As stated above, the ALJ found PA Carter’s opinion “not persuasive.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.50). In his analysis, the ALJ noted that PA Carter’s “per patient” statement “suggests [PA Carter’s] findings are based, at least in part, on the claimant’s subjective reports.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.49). The ALJ continued, “Regardless, the medical evidence is not consistent with the degree of limitations included in this opinion.” (Id.). The ALJ pointed to the following medical evidence in support of his evaluation. In 2021 and early 2022, Plaintiff walked with a normal gait and displayed normal coordination and range of motion of the hips, knees, and shoulders. (ECF No. 5-17, PageID.702, 745; ECF No. 5-18, PageID.995). Following her total left knee replacement, Plaintiff was doing “exceptionally well.” (ECF No. 5-25, PageID.1242). She ultimately underwent revision surgery on the left knee to repair inner kneecap tissue but showed improvement. (ECF No. 5-30, PageID.1636; ECF No. 5-33, PageID.1681, 1688; ECF No. 6-3, PageID.1909). Despite reports of Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 8 of 13
-9- ongoing back pain, Plaintiff’s gait was only “mildly” antalgic, strength in all muscle groups was normal, and straight leg raising was negative. (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2119). In late 2023, Plaintiff reported 90% relief following a left trochanteric bursa injection. (ECF No. 6-30, PageID.3063). Examination indicated 4/4 strength of the lower extremities. (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2113). In addition, she ambulated without difficulty. (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2115). In January 2024, Plaintiff walked with a non-limping gait. (ECF No. 6-16, PageID.2604). Upon examination in 2024, her gait was only “mildly” antalgic. (ECF No. 6-30, PageID.3056). Finally, the ALJ noted, “The evidence does not show the claimant had ongoing swelling or edema to warrant a finding that she needs to elevate her legs.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.50). Plaintiff contends that the ALJ failed to properly evaluate PA Carter’s opinion, but the Court finds no reversible error in this regard. First, as to supportability, the ALJ noted that PA Carter’s remark that some information was “per” Plaintiff on the form “suggests” that PA Carter’s findings are “at least in part” based on Plaintiff’s self-reports. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.49). Plaintiff asserts that the ALJ’s statement “insinuate[d] that the opinion was solely based on [Plaintiff’s] subjective reports.” (ECF No. 12, PageID.3096). Plaintiff’s argument mischaracterizes the ALJ’s evaluation. Most notably, the ALJ stated that PA Carter’s remark “suggest[ed]” that her findings are “at least in part” based on Plaintiff’s self-reports, not solely based on her self-reports, as Plaintiff argues. (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.49). Plaintiff’s own statements are considered a nonmedical Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 9 of 13
-10- source. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1502(e). The form called for PA Carter to estimate the earliest date that Plaintiff’s limitations applied, not Plaintiff. (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2913). Therefore, the ALJ appropriately discounted PA Carter’s opinion.1 Second, as to consistency, the ALJ stated that “the medical evidence is not consistent with the degree of limitations included in this opinion.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.49). In July 2022, Plaintiff underwent a left knee replacement (ECF No. 5- 23, PageID.1211), and despite undergoing a medial retinaculum repair in November 2022 (ECF No. 5-30, PageID.1636), and having boggy swelling in the knee in January 2023 (ECF No. 5-33, PageID.1688), by February 2023, she was doing well overall and was advised to follow up in one year (ECF No. 6-3, PageID.1909). In December 2023, a straight leg test was negative with referred pain, and Plaintiff’s lower extremity strength was equal bilaterally at 4/4. (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2113). At the same appointment, Plaintiff received a left trochanteric bursa injection, after which she reported “90% relief.” (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2114-15). Later that month, Plaintiff reported lower back pain, but upon examination, her gait was “mildly antalgic,” and the straight leg test was negative bilaterally. (ECF No. 6-8, PageID.2119). In January 2024, Plaintiff’s gait was “not limping.” (ECF No. 6-16, PageID2604). In March 2024, Plaintiff received a lumbar epidural steroid 1 While the ALJ did not directly articulate “supportability” in the opinion of the undersigned, substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s evaluation of the medical opinion. See Hardy v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., No. 2:20-cv-4097, 2021 WL 4059310 at *4 (S.D. Ohio Sept. 7, 2021) (“The ALJ’s decision substantially complied with the requirements of § 404.1520c, and her failure to specifically use the terms “supportability” and “consistency” in her analysis, even if error, was harmless.”) Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 10 of 13
-11- injection, after which she “ambulate[d] without difficulty” and had “100% relief.” (ECF No.6-30, PageID.3058). The record is consistent with the ALJ’s conclusion that “[t]he evidence does not show the claimant had ongoing swelling or edema to warrant a finding that she needs to elevate her legs.” (ECF No. 5-2, PageID.50; see ECF No. 6-29, PageID.3048 (provider noted in January 2023 that “swelling in front of the knee is smaller than it has been” and that “she will likely gradually have the swelling diminished over the period of several months”); ECF No. 6-20, PageID.2824 (provider noted no lower leg edema in March 2023); ECF No. 6-28, PageID.3033 (Plaintiff denied lower extremity swelling in July 2023); ECF No. 6-7, PageID.2087 (Plaintiff did not report any leg swelling in October 2023); ECF No. 6-30,PageID.3062 (provider noted no edema in legs in December 2023)). Although there may be some evidence that is consistent with PA Carter’s opinion, substantial evidence of Plaintiff’s examinations supports the ALJ’s conclusion that PA Carter’s opined physical limitations are not consistent with the record. Plaintiff then recites a litany of evidence in support of his conclusion that PA Carter’s opinion was supported by and consistent with the record (ECF No. 12, PageID.3095-97), arguing that the ALJ did “not provide a logical bridge for the rejection of all of PA Carter’s opined limitations” (ECF No. 12, PageID.3095) and that that the ALJ cherry-picked evidence (ECF No. 12, PageID.3097). But the Court’s role is not to re-weigh the evidence. The ALJ was not required to directly address every piece of evidence to show his consideration of it. Kornecky v. Commr Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 11 of 13
-12- of Soc. Sec., 167 F. App’x 496, 508 (6th Cir. 2006). Additionally, the law is clear that, if the Commissioner’s decision is supported by substantial evidence, “it must be affirmed even if the reviewing court would decide the matter differently and even if substantial evidence also supports the opposite conclusion.” Cutlip v. Sec’y of Health & Hum. Servs., 25 F.3d 284, 286 (6th Cir. 1994). In other words, the question is not whether substantial evidence could support PA Carter’s opined limitations but whether substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s evaluated limitations. Shepard v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 705 F. App’x 435, 442 (6th Cir. 2017). And even if substantial evidence could support the limitations that Plaintiff alleges are necessary, substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s determinations. Finally, contrary to Plaintiff’s argument otherwise (ECF No. 12, PageID.3099), the ALJ cannot be faulted for not giving more consideration to Plaintiff’s January 22, 2024 lumbar MRI because there are no medical records or provider opinions explaining what the MRI means in terms of Plaintiff’s functional limitations (ECF No. 30, PageID.3066-67).2 See Flowers v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 14-CV12449, 2015 WL 4274961, at *4 (E.D. Mich. July 14, 2015) (“[T]he MRI and the CT scan reports provide no insight into what additional limitations Plaintiff may suffer from based on the diagnoses therein.”). The ALJ is not a doctor and is unable to assess functional limitations based merely upon MRI findings; however, these MRI findings do not constitute raw medical data that the ALJ is prohibited from 2 PA Carter’s statement was dated January 11, 2024, before the MRI occurred. (ECF No. 6-21, PageID.2916). Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 12 of 13
-13- interpreting either. See Rudd v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 531 F. App’x 719, 726 (6th Cir. 2013). The major findings were transcribed by a reviewing medical professional, such that the ALJ’s use of those records does not constitute his interpreting the raw medical data. (ECF No. 30, PageID.3066-67). See id. at 727. CONCLUSION For the reasons stated herein, the undersigned recommends that the Commissioner’s decision be affirmed. OBJECTIONS to this report and recommendation must be filed with the Clerk of Court within fourteen days of the date of service of this notice. 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(C). Failure to file objections within such time waives the right to appeal the District Court’s order. See Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140 (1985); United States v. Walters, 638 F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1981). Respectfully submitted, Date: June 18, 2026 /s/ Phillip J. Green PHILLIP J. GREEN United States Magistrate Judge Case 1:25-cv-00615-RJJ-PJG ECF No. 22, PageID.<pageID> Filed 06/18/26 Page 13 of 13
Was bedeutet dieser Text für Ihre Situation?
Kostenlose und unverbindliche Beratung
Schildern Sie uns Ihre Situation. Unser Team meldet sich per E-Mail bei Ihnen für Ihre Beratung.
Setzen Sie Ihre Recherche in ChatGPT oder Claude fort
Verbinden Sie Omnilex, um den Rechtskorpus über Ihren KI-Assistenten zu durchsuchen.